We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice to support the RNLI” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of RNLI College

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
RNLI College
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice to support the RNLI”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Not sure where the average price of around £50 comes from, we paid £105 per night! For an extra £65 you can add Pack A - flowers, chocolates, champagne and an RNLI Bear. Flowers were beautiful and the rest of the pack very good - well worth the money paid!

The accommodation was clean and rooms typical of any good standard hotel. Breakfast was good and a decent choice available. The Slipway Bar was pleasant enough but staff were very very slow to clear and wipe down tables. Receptionists did what they had to do but there was no sparkle - the book you in and point you to your room and no more!

Overall good to support the RNLI but really not sure where the top Trip Advisor status comes from unless the other hotels in Poole are sub standard or RNLI course attendees are boosting ratings - at best this place is good.

Would we return again - yes as we'd be happy to support the RNLI.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Hi Claire N

Thank you for taking the time to review RNLI College with tripadvisor. We are a working College who's main purpose is training for our volunteer Lifeboat Crews, Lifeguards and Flood rescue teams. I'm sorry to read that your reception on arrival was not as welcoming or warm as we strive to offer all our volunteers and supporters.

We do not generate the average price mentioned. We sell our spare capacity at rates we believe offer great value to our supporters. Poole has very high demand in August with rates often over £180 - £200. We also include breakfast.

Our number 1 tripadvisor rating reflects how our supporters feel about us. We do not claim to be the best hotel in Poole - others offer higher levels of luxury. We are not an hotel brand or claim to offer 4 / 5 star accommodation. We do provide world class training to equip our volunteers.

We are unique in our offer and every £ spent helps save lives at sea. Our volunteers offer an insight into the history, work and purpose of RNLI College, including our Sea Survival centre.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope you like your RNLI bear!

Kind Regards

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    576
    136
    25
    2
    3
See reviews for
125
367
28
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed here on the strength of the reviews. The room was quite spacious although but functional. Eg small tv on the desk near the window not fixed to the wall. Bathroom was clean bu again little more than functional. We turned up at 1.30 pm and was asked to return at 2when we could check in. Never had this happen before, usually if we turn up a bit early and the room is ready we can check in. Coffee machine was broken when we went to spend the time in the cafe.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank flossy-t-cake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Hi Flossy-t-cake

Thank you for taking the time to write a review with tripadvisor.

We are a working college and home to RNLI training. We offer our spare capacity to supporters and our rates ofer great value locally.

I am sorry the coffee machine was not working in the cafe bar, this was due to a broken part and filter coffee was available as an alternative.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and supporting the RNLI saving lives at sea.

Kind Regards

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We spent a week in this wonderful college/hotel and were very impressed. We made a last minute booking(didn't know anything about the place until I looked on TripAdvisor for places to stay in Poole!). The staff were always happy to help and always greeted us with a smile and a chat. The food was great, bed very comfortable, everywhere was spotless ( except perhaps some of the windows/ portholes) and from our viewpoint - a vista to die for. Our room was on the third floor overlooking Holes Bay, but then all the bedrooms have a similar view. It is a working college where our lifeboat crews train for their often very difficult voluntary jobs, and we had the privilege of being able to see them manning the training lifeboats which are moored immediately outside! There was always something going on to watch on the bay, not least the strange "sail bridge" raising and lowering to accommodate both the yachts and traffic. This was a different experience for us and a most enjoyable one. We will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms have a good view but obviously the higher the floor, the further you can see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Hi Lyn C

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review with tripadvisor. We are delighted that you found out about us via tripadvisor and completed your stay by sharing your experience with other. @ 100,000+ people look at us a year on tripadvisor and good review ensure we fill our spare capacity, generating addiotnal funds to help RNLI save lives at sea.

Thank you, and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards

Richard Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Adequate accomodation, if you need to stay in the middle of Poole.
A view of Poole harbour. Stay amongst a working college, with a slightly institutionalised feel.
As a whole, the place can be described as 'Functional'.
Friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Hi Ed B

Thank you for your review with tripadvisor.

We are a working College and i hope you had the opportunity to enjoy our volunteer guided tour of the College, Sea Survival Centre and lifeboat simulator. RNLI College is unique and we strive to ensure all of our supporters enjoy their stay at some great value rates.

Thank you for supporting RNLI.

Kind Regards

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

I've lost count of the number of times my wife has used the word 'amazing' to describe our stay. It's faultless, but even that doesn't do it justice. I don't think we've been more impressed by a hotel; certainly, neither of us can remember staying anywhere that comes close to matching the RNLI College's standards of cleanliness. It's easy to find (you simply cannot miss it because it is such a distinctive building - almost iconic), it's located within easy walking distance of most of Poole's major attractions (including the speedway), and the views are so good that you won't even bother with the TV. As internet bargain hunters we're usually looking at paying less than this cost us, however, in future, whenever I visit Poole, I am going to be treating myself to this amazing hotel. Also, you can't put a price on knowing that every penny you spend here helps to support the Royal National Lifeboat Institution.

Room Tip: How to choose a good room? Stay here. End of story!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Hi bill R

Thank you for such a generous review with tripadvisor. We are very grateful for your kind feedback and hope you choose to stay with us again soon!

Thank you for supporting the RNLI saving lives at sea.

Kind Regards

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed for two nights with my elderly mother and the RNLI College was perfect. We had booked a 90 minute tour of the College for our arrival (free to guests, approx £7 for non residents) It was fascinating and Judith, our Volunteer Guide, immediately realised that my 88 year old mother might have trouble with the stairs. She enlisted the help of a colleague, Gerald, who arranged to meet us after the first hour and he showed my mother a video of how they train the lifeboat crew and generally made her feel special. It meant that my husband and I didn't feel guilty continuing the tour. The rooms were spacious and spotless with amazing views. Breakfast was very satisfying and there was plenty of choice at the evening meal which was delicious on both nights. It is within easy walking distance of the town for the able bodied but Reception were able to book a taxi for us so that we could take a boat trip to Brownsea Island and round the harbour. If you are travelling with an elderly relative, it is worth noting that free guided electric buggy trips are available on Brownsea Island but you need to book - we did it from Poole Quay by ringing the number given when we booked the boat.
There is always something to see from the RNLI College and we will definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Hi Margaret E

Thank you for taking thge time to review RNLI College on tripadvisor.

We appreciate your kind support, helping RNLI saving lives at sea.

We hope to welcome you back....soon!

Kind Regards

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex,England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Decided to try the RNLI College after reading some glowing reports on Tripadvisor and comparing the location with those of the other hotels in the area.In our opinion, of the rated hotels, only Hotel du Vin or the Thistle can match it for easy access to the Quay and shops. But then the RNLI College is less expensive and has easy parking. The College also has made the most of its position by the water.The bar,cafe and dining room are all by the water with excellent views of the setting sun across Holes Bay (see photo). Our 4th floor bedroom overlooked the water with direct view of the Twin Sails bridge and the several RNLI craft moored at their quay.We found the staff helpful and friendly and the rooms and public areas clean and orderly.Our room was well equipped with a large comfy bed, armchairs and flat screen tv. The bathroom was clean, modern and practical with shower over bath and the basin set within a large shelf to hold toiletries etc.
The modern,circular dining room served a selection of starters,mains and desserts at reasonable prices.All served by a friendly team of staff.
Breakfast provided a good range of cereals,pastries and cooked food on a self service basis.
Our only criticism is that the air conditioning was a little too enthusiastic in the bar and the tables in the dining room needed table cloths or a good wash down as some were sticky.
The college is a short walk to the main Dolphin shopping centre, railway station or the quay. Easy to find and to exit to main roads.
The rooms here are similar but better than Premier Inn, the catering is far superior though. The main reason to stay here is to enjoy the easy parking and the proximity to the waterside, the quay and the main shops.It is also good to know you are making a contribution to a worthwhile charity.

Room Tip: I think all rooms face the water but best check. There is also a family room available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Londoner3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Hi Londoner3

Thank you for your kind review with tripadvisor. We really appreciate your kind comments and hope to welcome you back soon.

Thank you for supporting RNLI saving lives at sea.

Kind Regards

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
2.9 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 14 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#7 of 14 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 14 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RNLI College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RNLI College

Property: RNLI College
Address: West Quay Road, Poole BH15 1HZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poole
#2 Family Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The home of RNLI training, RNLI College is a fine modern conference and training venue in a stunning waterside setting in Poole, Dorset, and now also offers hotel facilities in the 60 en-suite rooms. RNLI College also makes a stunning wedding venue with views over the harbour. Every £ Spent at RNLI College saves lives at sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your RNLI College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rnli College Hotel Poole
RNLI College Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing