We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value & supporting a charity”
Review of RNLI College

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
RNLI College
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good value & supporting a charity”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I would really recommend staying here if you are visiting Poole. The room was a nice size and really adequate to stay in. A great view with a hearty breakfast served. It was great to support the RNLI as well by staying here. Make sure that you take the tour round that is offered.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonsMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Hi Bostonsmum

Thank you for your kind review with tripadvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and our RNLI College Tour. The Sea Survival Centre, Simulator and Pool are certainly unique and hosted by our fantastic volunteer guides.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for supporting the RNLI saving lives at sea.

Kind Regards

Richard Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    630
    151
    25
    2
    3
See reviews for
130
415
30
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed two nights one before and on returning to Jersey on the Condor. This proved to be an excellent choice as the staff were very friendly,the rooms were large and clean and very good value for money. The view over Poole Harbour was wonderful.The bed was large and comfy,and the breakfast was great would recomed the collage to anyone staying in the area.
Will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynn_David2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Hi Lynn_David2013

Thank you for taking the time to review RNLI College with tripadvisor. We really appreciate your kind comments and are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank your for supporting the RNLI saving lives at sea.

Kind Regards

Richard Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,084 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This is by far the most enjoyable place we've stayed and we'll certainly be finding excuses (however weak) to come back. We stayed for a Sunday night in September.

Plenty of parking when we turned up as it was Sunday afternoon and nobody was really about much but the car park seemed quite empty when we left on Monday afternoon as well. As it's for users of the College only, it's onsite and doesn't have others passing through.

The room was brilliant and can't be faulted. They're very well laid out and are relaxing to sit and work while looking out across the harbour. We took the opportunity to sleep with the curtains open as well and the lights of the harbour were quite tranquil.

As it was a birthday trip, we upgraded to one of the packages that they do (chocolates, champagne etc.) which, although expensive, is quite good value.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Hi Richard F

Thank you for your very kind review with tripadvisor. We are delighted that you chose to stay with us, especially for birthday celebrations. We hope you RNLI bear is safe in it's new home!

Thank you for supporting the RNLI. You do not need an excuse to come back!

Kind Regards

Richard Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, England
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed for one night over the bank holiday weekend in August. This was an excellent choice and excellent value. The room was well equiped and super clean. We had a great view of the habour and it is wonderful seeing the life boats from your room.

My only issue was the bed was very very soft for me, but I guess this is personal. The breakfast was excellent, the staff the same. The bar is super and really enjoyable to sit and watch the habour. We managed to get a parking space which was very secure.

There is a wonderful fish and chip shop within walking distance called Lakeside Fish and Chips (eat in or take away).

Regret we didn't get to do the RNLI tour but would 100% like to do it if we are lucky enough to have reason to stay in Poole again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boo1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Hi Boo 1000

Thank you for your kind review with tripadvisor. We really appreciate you comments.

We do have some firmer mattresses should you wish next time you stay.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for supporting the RNLI saving lives at sea.

Kind Regards

Richard Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamsphire
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I facilitated a training session here (second time, did a Board away day here a few months ago), and I can highly recommend it. Very helpful staff - I had to ask for help a couple of times and they were extremely quick to respond and very positive and smiling all the time. Lunch was fantastic - this time we had it in our room with the delegates - mini fish and chips, mini pasta dishes, wraps, fruit and cold meat platters, creamy white-choc puddings... really excellent choice and quality. Last time we used the restaurant which was equally a great experience. All rooms I have been in have a wonderful view of Poole harbour. Great facilities, new building, all very professional with nice touches.

Room Tip: I did not sleep here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank auki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Hi auki

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review for RNLI College with tripadvisor. We really appreciate your kind comments.

We have extensive conference and meeting space, purose built to deliver world class training for our volunteer crew. Selling our spare capacity help raise additonal funds, supporting the RNLI saving lives at sea.

Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards

Richard Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We booked the RNLI College at Poole to celebrate my birthday and it could not have been a better holiday. We have stayed here previously and the standards are still as high.

It is impossible to find any criticism. The service of the Receptionists was excellent, the Restaurant and Bar staff service was excellent and the standard of the Housekeeping was excellent. There was a good selection on the Riggers Restaurant Menu and it was always cooked and served to perfection.

I had a lovely surprise when the Restaurant Staff Presented me with my birthday cake (and candle!) and everyone sang "Happy Birthday"!

All money spent at the RNLI College goes towards the funds, and when you see the men and women taking the courses, many in their own time, you have to appreciate just what the RNLI means to us all.

.

Room Tip: All bedrooms have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinR464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Hi Colin R

Thank you for your kind review with tripadvisor. We really appreciate your kind comments and delighted you enjoyed your birthday celebrations with us.

Thank you for choosing RNLI College and supporting the RNLI saving lives at sea. We hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards

Richard Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Visiting friends in Poole this week and we booked in on the Discovery Tour of the RNLI college building overlooking Poole harbour.
This tour is thoroughly recommended to anyone visiting Poole and highlights the fantastic training facilities available for all the volunteers who take up the work of this wonderful charity. Of particular interest was the hands on experience of the rescue simulator used in the training process.This brings home to the visitor (in extremely lifelike terms!!) the drama and risks that these fantastic volunteer crews undertake at sea in dangerous and demanding conditions.An excellent tour of a brilliant facility conducted with loads of interesting information by tour guides Paul and David.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GEOFF R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin9, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Hi GEOFF R

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to RNLI College. We appreciateyour kind fedback.

Thank you for supporting RNLI saving lives at sea.

Kind Regards

Richard Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
0.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
2.9 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
3.0 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RNLI College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RNLI College

Property: RNLI College
Address: West Quay Road, Poole BH15 1HZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poole
#2 Family Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The home of RNLI training, RNLI College is a fine modern conference and training venue in a stunning waterside setting in Poole, Dorset, and now also offers hotel facilities in the 60 en-suite rooms. RNLI College also makes a stunning wedding venue with views over the harbour. Every £ Spent at RNLI College saves lives at sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your RNLI College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rnli College Hotel Poole
RNLI College Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing