We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful!”
Review of RNLI College

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
RNLI College
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My husband and I have just spent 3 nights at the college in a lovely room overlooking the sea. The college has a wonderful atmosphere, the staff, food and tour of the college are all brilliant. I thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewan S, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Hi Valerie

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review with tripadvisor and I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for supporting RNLI saving lives at sea.

Kind Regards
Ewan Steele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (836)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

485 - 491 of 836 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

It really was a no brainer for us - shall we pay a big multi national chain or give our hard earned cash to the real 4th emergency service. The staff are the big plus here as all very friendly and nothing to much trouble. Rooms spotless, all with harbour views and all the normal facilities (tea and coffee, hairdryer,iron) only minus is lack of hanging space if you bring your clothes on hangers like us.
Food very good - noticeable that a lot of none residents appeared to eat here .We had Saturday dinner which offered good choice and excellent value wine list, food very attractively served - restaurant not in the silver service category but great views and just remember that every pound you spend is going to a great cause. Bar prices, as with the restaurant prices, very reasonable.
Clientele changes dramatically from weekend to weekdays as it turns into a college with the guys and gals from the RNLI turning up for training. If you are there during the week don't forget to sign up for the college tour - free for residents and very informative.
To sum up - don't come expecting a 5 star - it is first and foremost a working college for training but if you need a place to lay your head you won't go far wrong and you can sleep with a clear conscience that your pennies are being well spent!

Room Tip: Go high for a better view although all have harbour views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank westcountryyokel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewan S, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Hi westcountryyokel,

Thank you for taking the time to review RNLI College with tripadvisor folloiwng your recent stay with us.

You mentioned the RNLI College tours which provide a wonderful insight into the history, working and training of our Lifeboat Crews, Lifeguards and Flood Rescue Teams and are included as part of your stay and hosted by our fantastic volunteer tour guides.

Thank you for supporting the RNLI saving lives at sea and we look forward to welcoming you back to the RNLI College again in the future.

Kind regards
Ewan Steele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My husband who is Margate crew and I stayed again at the college ,the weekend of the 20th of April ,everything is lovely ,the rooms are so clean and fresh,and the bar is well stocked,all the staff are warm and friendly,and as for the breakfast there is everything you could wish for all cooked to perfection, and a great selection of non cooked food, well done to the college for another great stay.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank amanda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewan S, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Hi Amanda,

Thank you for reviewing RNLI College with Tripadvisor. As our primary purpose is to provide training facilities for RNLI Lifeboat Crew & Volunteers, I'm very happy to hear that both yourself and your husband (being Margate Crew) found your recent weekend stay with us to be most relaxing and enjoyable.

Thank you for supporting RNLI saving lives at sea.

Kind Regards
Ewan Steele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Visited for a big family get together to celebrate an anniversary recently. Hotel is obviously owned by the RNLI and is the main training college for the RNLI so overlooks part of Poole harbour and the views from rooms are great. The hotel can be a little tricky to get to going around the one way system a couple of times before finding a way in. The hotel is very large and nicely fitted out.

The rooms are clean, modern and well equipped, very similar to a Holiday Inn type of room, but with lovely views over the harbour. Had asked if we could upgrade our room to a king size bed or suite, but only offer standard doubles, which was fine.

The bar is well laid out with sofas, tables and comfy seating and has a lovely circular balcony overlooking the harbour. The bar itself has a reasonable selections of beers and a couple of ales and also sells snacks, sweats, tea, coffees and cakes. However the main issue is the time it takes to get served and how long food takes to arrive. Part of this problem is that the kitchen where all food is prepared is downstairs, so the waiters/waitresses have to go up and down a large spiral staircase to get food in between trying to serve people at the bar. The bar was busy and some people waited over half an hour for a basket of chips to arrive as well as 15 minutes to get served t the bar. Needs a re-think.

We dined in the restaurant and had obviously pre-booked our party of 21. However there was no urgency to serve us and we sat for over 20 minutes without being offered a drink and in fact receiving any real attention. We were allocated one waitress, who to be fair tried hard to serve us as best she could, but come on (Management) 1 waitress to 21 people was never going to work! By the time I received my main course everyone else had finished theirs and got fed up asking for a drink in the end so went to the bar (upstairs) to get one. After making a complaint we were given our drinks free of charge, which was appreciated.

Breakfast was really good, nice selection of cooked, cereals and some pastries and as the sun was shining, was lovely to stand outside afterward and watch the road bridge go up.

I would definitely go back as aside from the slow service everything else was good and is in a good location close to Poole, Bournemouth and Sand Banks.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheJarvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewan S, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear TheJarvs,

Thank you for providing feedback following your recent stay with us at the RNLI College in Poole.

As many of our guests are RNLI Lifeboat volunteers and crew who stay with us as part of their training, we are accustomed to serving larger groups such as yours, so I'm obviously disappointed to hear that on this occasion, we were unable to provide the quality of service for which we strive.

All of our 60 bedrooms overlook Holes Bay so I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the view as well as our convenient location for sightseeing purposes.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for supporting the RNLI saving lives at sea.

Kind regards

Ewan Steele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Spent two nights at the RNLI College in Poole. Good rooms, good restaurant, great breakfast and good sea view from room. Five minutes walk from Poole Quay for boat rides round Poole Harbour and to Brownsea Island and for walks, five minutes to Sandbanks beach. On our last morning had a college tour of lifeboat crew training facilities - including having a go on the lifeboat simulator. Well recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms have harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MadJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewan S, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Hi MadJanet,

Thank you for your kind comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us at the RNLI College in Poole.

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed all the facilities on offer at the College during your two night stay and that you found our great location overlooking Holes Bay to your advantage when exploring the surrounding areas.

The tours are offered to all our supporters staying at the RNLI College and our volunteer tour guides are able to provide a fantastic insight into the history, training and work carried out by the RNLI.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for supporting RNLI saving lives at sea.

Kind Regards

Ewan Steele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

For my birthday my friends treated my wife and I to a two night stay at the RNLI College in Poole. We arrived on the Sunday to a warm and helpful welcome at reception and then a great view overlooking the habour when we went up to our room. The room was very clean and tidy and made you feel at home straight away. Although using the College as a hotel, there is a feeling that you are part of one of the great British organisations, "the people with the big orange boats" and walking around the College there are many reminders about heroic episodes in the RNLI's near 200 year history and of course the fleet of all weather and inshore lifeboats outside on the water. We used the restaurant and upstairs bar on both nights of our stay with its stunning panoramic view over the harbour and the impressive two sails bridge. The service was very good and friendly and the food was excellent. Whilst there we did the Discovery Tour which was a well worthwhile 2hr experience with our excellent guide Judith, highly recommended that you do this as part of your stay but best to book before your stay. We had a nice walk around the quay at Poole and also a boat trip to and around Brownsea Island. Our stay was a wonderful experience, for which we thank everyone at the RNLI College, and something that we will definitely do again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gareth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewan S, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Hi Gareth,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your gracious comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us at the RNLI College.

I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your birthday treat with us and that our friendly staff went out of their way to make your stay with us so special.

Our volunteer tour guides provide a fantastic insight into the history, training and work of RNLI and as you found out, the tours are offered to all our supporters staying at RNLI College which are both highly recommended and insightful.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for supporting RNLI saving lives at sea.

Kind Regards

Ewan Steele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Don't be put off by the name college,this is an excellent good value quality hotel . Very clean rooms which apparently all look out over the Solent so it doesn't mater which room you are in.

Very helpful and friendly staff, especially at reception . The self service breakfast has a good choice with the restaurant having lovely views watching the boats go by.
Its an easy 5/10 min stroll into the high street and shopping centre and plenty of good places to eat within walking distance. I would recommend the Old Quay side for pubs and restaurants rather than the high street. In all highly recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms are similar and have the same great view so it doesn't mater which room you are i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewan S, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Hi Keston,

Thank you for taking the time to review the RNLI College with tripadvisor.

We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and for supporting RNLI saving lives at sea and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Ewan Steele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
0.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
2.9 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
3.0 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RNLI College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RNLI College

Address: West Quay Road, Poole BH15 1HZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poole
#2 Family Hotel in Poole
Price Range: £87 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The home of RNLI training, RNLI College is a fine modern conference and training venue in a stunning waterside setting in Poole, Dorset, and now also offers hotel facilities in the 60 en-suite rooms. RNLI College also makes a stunning wedding venue with views over the harbour. Every £ Spent at RNLI College saves lives at sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your RNLI College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rnli College Hotel Poole
RNLI College Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing