We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back after a couple of years abscence. Our pros and cons”
Review of RNLI College

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
RNLI College
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014

A professionally run and functional establishment. Clean, comfortable and as always, a relaxing place to be.....But.....we remember the old days when dinner was a pleasure and also breakfast.
We had dinner out both nights after looking at the menu but breakfast was Im afraid not as we expected. I have to say it was very average canteen quality food, quantity maybe but there was not one item remotely enjoyable to eat. Dull toast. Fried eggs looking like they came from a joke shop and as hard as plastic. The toughest fried bacon ever. Cool tomatoes a very small selection of everything else.....Ok for the collage students, plenty of calories for a tough days physical and mental work, but for paying guests, sorry but not good at all. Our table was sticky from something the night before. So we paid for the location, the great architecture and a comfortable functional room.....come on RNLI, lets have some quality control and thought for the food side of things. I cant believe some of the rave comments I have read about the eating side of your establishment! Trip adviser has done you well and so have we by writing favourable reviews. You do an amazing job for the UK......lets have some improvement in the kitchen.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DandA25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewan S, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear DandA25,

Thank you for providing feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us at the RNLI Training College in Poole.

I'm sorry to hear that your experience with us on this occasion hasn't lived up to your previous visits. We do value feedback and the opportunity to put things right. We're always looking at ways to refresh and better our offering and our breakfast is an area that we've recently made some changes with a view to eradicating the issues that you raised.

I do hope to be able to welcome you back once again to the College and would like to thank you for your continued support for the RNLI saving lives at sea.

Kind regards
Ewan Steele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (828)
There are newer reviews for RNLI College
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

449 - 455 of 828 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

Spacious room. Spotless. Bath with shower over. Comfortable bed. Fluffy towels. Fantastic views from rooms, restaurant and bar. Everyone working at RNLI seems to love being there. I can see why- College was opened in 2004 but design and quality of build and fit-out makes it look like brand new. Busy, dynamic yet relaxed environment for work, training and for those of us simply staying for the weekend!
Restaurant offers quality food, expertly cooked and presented, at great value. All RNLI staff and volunteers made us very welcome. If I lived locally, I would volunteer...

We will return.

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms recommended (they might all have views of the Bay, actually)
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank andyshepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewan S, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear andyshepherd,

Thank you for your kind review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us at the RNLI College in Poole.

It sounds like you've had a fantastic weekend stay with us and that we've been able to exceed your expectations. I'm pleased to hear that our friendly staff and volunteers made you feel very welcome and that you would yourself volunteer had you lived closer!

Thank you for supporting the RNLI saving lives at sea and we do look forward to welcoming you back next year when I understand you might be bringing your walking group with you next time!

Kind regards
Ewan Steele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Had a party at the htel to celebrate my wife;s 70 birthday in their ground floor function room.A number of relations and friends stayed the night.This is a first class function venue with views over part of the harbour.The buffet was great,and the staff very helpful and friendly.The party was on the evening of 5 July which was a sunny evening enabling the children to play outside on a large patio area.The hotel rooms are spacious and well equipped.All with views of the harbour.Well decorated and spotlessly clean.The breakfast buffet is certainly a full English and one of the best we have had.A big benefit is that it has a very large car park.

Room Tip: All rooms have a harbour view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewan S, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear David C,

Thank you for providing your kind feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent stay and function here at the RNLI College in Poole.

I'm so pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your party held here for your wife's 70th birthday party. Although we can never guarantee the weather, it certainly adds to the occasion when you can open the doors to the Waterfront Suite, thus allowing children (and adults) to enjoy the patio area directly outside.

Thank you for choosing us as your venue for your special celebration and for supporting the RNLI saving lives at sea.

Kind regards
Ewan Steele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We had booked to stay at the college and were very excited at the prospect of staying as we had our first weekend away as a couple in ten years.. We did the excellent tour, and had a delicious lunch in the Riggers Bar. Having checked in we got to our room on the third floor - which we had requested following the room tips on here. It was a really bright, spacious room with a fantastic view. All the staff were cheerful and helpful.

Sadly, we ended up having to come home as one of our children was ill, so we never got to experience the breakfast, although the receptionist offered to deduct it from our bill. We will definitely come back and actually stay as it is a great place, fantastic view and the tour is well worth experiencing.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annie512014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewan S, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear annie512014,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us at the RNLI College in Poole.

I'm glad to hear that you experienced the tour as it provides a wonderful insight into the working of the College and of the RNLI in general. I'm sorry to hear that you had to leave at short notice and we do hope that you're able to return to fully enjoy the facilities.

Thank you for supporting the RNLI saving lives at sea.

Kind regards
Ewan Steele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I have just returned from a 1 night stay at RNLI College and have to agree with all the positive comments on here. In brief, the stay was very pleasant. All staff were polite and curteous. The room was very clean (although quite basic) had all the amenities you could ask for and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on. The rooms overlook the quayside which was a great view. I did not have an evening meal although the menu looked very apetising. The breakfast was amazing, a lot of hot and cold food available. In conclusion, I would definately stay here again on my return to Poole.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilipCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewan S, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear PhilipCooper,

Thank you for taking the time to review the RNLI Training College following your recent stay.

I'm pleased to hear that you had a most enjoyable stay with us, that the staff were friendly, the view was appreciated and that our plentiful breakfast set you up for the day ahead.

We look forward to welcoming you back again and thank you for supporting the RNLI saving lives at sea.

Kind regards
Ewan Steele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

I would just like to endorse all the other reviews in saying how pleased all 4 couples were with our recent weekend.
Service was excellent as was the cleanliness of the hotel. All though we did have evening meals the breakfast was excellent with entry of choice.
The location was also good in that it was only 5 mins from the harbour and the same distance from the shops .

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertNigel33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewan S, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear RobertNigel33,

Thank you for your kind comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us at the RNLI College in Poole.

I'm so glad to hear that you and your guests thoroughly enjoyed your weekend stay with us and that our fantastic location enabled you to explore they key sights of Poole without having to walk or travel far.

Thank you for supporting the RNLI saving lives at sea.

Kind regards
Ewan Steele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We loved our stay at RNLI HQ. The reception, bar, catering and tour staff were all very friendly and helpful. There is a lovely atmosphere and it is a genuinely interesting experience especially if you are interested in the work of the RNLI. Accomodation and catering are of a high standard.
We intend to go back very soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewan S, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear DARREN O,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.

I'm so glad to hear that you loved your stay with us here at the designated training facility for RNLI Lifeboat Crew, Lifeguards and Flood Rescue Teams to learn the skills they need to help save lives at sea. I'm glad to hear that you took advantage of the tour which provides a fantastic insight into the working of the organisation.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for supporting the RNLI saving lives at sea.

Kind regards
Ewan Steele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
0.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
2.9 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
3.0 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RNLI College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RNLI College

Address: West Quay Road, Poole BH15 1HZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poole
#2 Family Hotel in Poole
Price Range: £104 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The home of RNLI training, RNLI College is a fine modern conference and training venue in a stunning waterside setting in Poole, Dorset, and now also offers hotel facilities in the 60 en-suite rooms. RNLI College also makes a stunning wedding venue with views over the harbour. Every £ Spent at RNLI College saves lives at sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your RNLI College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rnli College Hotel Poole
RNLI College Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing