We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely view over the harbour” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of RNLI College

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
RNLI College
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Lovely view over the harbour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed just one night here but the hotel was very pleasant and, as far as I can see, all the rooms have wonderful views over the harbour. Room was very comfortable, clean etc - my only issue is that the they only provide a Dove multi-purpose wash liquid rather than separate shampoo and body wash products.

Breakfast was self-service but very tasty and lots of variety, including porridge. Breakfast room also looked over the harbour.

In the hotel lobby they had a nice gift shop - it is good to buy a little something (in my case, Christmas cards for next Christmas!) and feel that you are supporting a very worthy cause.

Hotel is very convenient for Poole centre and all the restaurants, activities there.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmfcambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewan S, Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear jmfcambridge,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review with tripadvisor and I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and visiting our gift shop.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the RNLI College again in the future

Kind regards,
Detlef Turk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    136
    25
    2
    3
See reviews for
125
367
28
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This is a gem. Comfortable room, very friendly staff, great views. The restaurant is canteen style and quite simple fare, but perfectly adequate. Do go on the College tour if you have time -its really interesting.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewan S, Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Nicola P,

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review following your recent stay with us at the RNLI Training College.

We are a working college where our Lifeboat Crew, Lifeguards and Flood Recue Team members come to participate in periodic training. Any spare capacity is then made available for our supporters and members of the public to use and enjoy. I'm glad to hear that you experienced the tour as it provides a wonderful insight into the working of the College and of the RNLI in general.

We appreciate your kind comments regarding our friendly staff and thank you for supporting the RNLI saving lives at sea.

Kind regards,
Detlef Turk

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Well appointed rooms with good beds and fabulous views over harbour. Breakfast a little dry on Sunday probably as we dined as near to 10 as possible... But the freshly cooked to order kippers and poached eggs the previous day were lovely!!
Plenty of parking and a short walk to poole quay made this a convenient location.
Unfortunately the behaviour of guest in room 311 on both nights disturbed our sleep and resulted on both occasions in us having to call concierge to sort him out. Not the hotels fault but just our luck to have two nights of them.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SBristol234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewan S, Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear SBristol234,

Thank you for taking the time to review the RNLI Training College following your recent stay.

I just wanted to take the time and apologise for the disturbance you experienced during the night and hope that this did not turn you off from visiting us in the near future.

Thank you for supporting the RNLI saving lives at sea.

Kind regards,
Detlef Turk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We went to a party in the Habour View room in the RNLI and stayed the night. The rooms are decorated very nicely with a sea theme. The beds are very comfy, unfortunately they don't have twin rooms or large doubles which is better suited to our needs but we still had a good nights sleep.

The breakfast was very nice and a really good standard in a lovely setting overlooking the harbour. Good selection of cereals, toast, full English and yoghurt/fruit/seeds. It is all self service. We might have missed them but it would be good to have milk jugs as we had to put our milk into a cup to pour in to our tea.

I would definitely stay there again if I was ever in Poole. The rate is on the expensive side and price seems to vary which seems slightly unfair but still relatively good value.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CrosbyFieldsS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewan S, Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear CrosbyFieldsS,

Thank you for you kind review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us at the RNLI Training College in Poole.

We are the designated training facility for our RNLI Lifeboat Crew, Volunteers, Lifeguards and Flood Rescue Teams with any spare capacity made available for our supporters and members of the public to use enjoy.
Thank you for supporting the RNLI saving lives at sea and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Poole.

Kind regards,
Detlef Turk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Fantastic place to stay.great freshly cooked food lots of it very friendly helpful staff clean tidy and an amazing view with a beautiful sunset.a must visit.all proceeds go to help an amazing cause too.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 999randy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewan S, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear 999randy,

Thank you for your kind review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us at the RNLI College in Poole.

I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and I'll be sure to pass your kind comments onto the team. Every £1 spent at the College goes towards the RNLI and the fantastic work that they do so we very much appreciate your custom.

Thank you for supporting the RNLI saving lives at sea and we look forward to welcoming you back to the College in the foreseeable future.

Kind regards
Ewan Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

A fantastic place to stay if you find yourself in Poole. The accommodation provides rooms with a views over the bay. The 1st floor bar also has a panoramic view of the bay whilst the restaurant on the ground floor allows you alfresco dining as well as spacious indoor seating with sea views. The staff are friendly and the rooms are very clean and spacious. As it is not officially a Hotel it is burdened of being associated with stars. It also a short walk from the marina. A stay here will not disappoint and just think that you are also supporting the RNLI. What a win win situation.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrooveExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewan S, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear freestylefunker,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us at the RNLI Training College in Poole.

We're first and foremost the training facility for our RNLI Lifeboat Crew, Volunteers, Lifeguards and Flood Rescue Teams to train and develop the skills required to continue the excellent work they do in saving lives. Our facilities such as the lifeboat simulator, engine workshop and sea survival centre are tailored to their training requirements. Any spare bedroom capacity is then made available for our supporters and members of the public to use and enjoy.

I'm very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, found our location close to the local quayside beneficial and recognised our staff to be as friendly as we believe they are.

Thank you for supporting the RNLI saving lives at sea and we look forward to welcoming you back again to stay with us on your next visit to Poole.

Kind regards
Ewan Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul's Bay, Malta
Level Contributor
210 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed two nights over a weekend. Rooms,clean,seaview, 8 power sockets on a work desk,bed very comfy ,excellent bathroom, Breakfast was spoiled as the sausages,bacon,blackpudding were dry having probably been left out for hours but there was plenty variety. Sunday dinner on the other hand was let down by the roast potatoes which looked like old boiled potatoes deep fried with a yellow colour. The roast vegetables were overcooked and to be honest if you were given that at home you would have said something. Beef and pork were fine and Yorkshire pudding acceptable.
Apart from the food it was a very pleasant and interesting stay and we would certainly recommend the hotel. Staff were young and excellent attitude!

Room Tip: Fourth floor offers the best harbour views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheikmilc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewan S, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear sheikmilc,

Thank you for taking the time following your recent stay with us at the RNLI College to post your comments on Tripadvisor.

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the bedroom amenities and the fabulous view of Holes Bay from which each of our bedrooms overlook. We'll certainly take note and action the points raised regarding the quality of food you received during your stay as we're keen to ensure that each of our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay and leave feeling like they've received good quality food and service at a reasonable price.

Thank you again for choosing to stay at the College and for supporting the RNLI saving lives at sea and we do look forward to welcoming you back again in the foreseeable future.

Kind regards
Ewan Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
2.9 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 14 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 14 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 14 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RNLI College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RNLI College

Property: RNLI College
Address: West Quay Road, Poole BH15 1HZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Poole
#2 Family Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The home of RNLI training, RNLI College is a fine modern conference and training venue in a stunning waterside setting in Poole, Dorset, and now also offers hotel facilities in the 60 en-suite rooms. RNLI College also makes a stunning wedding venue with views over the harbour. Every £ Spent at RNLI College saves lives at sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your RNLI College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rnli College Hotel Poole
RNLI College Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing