We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous breakfast, warm welcome cosy but too small”
Review of The Merchant House

The Merchant House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Merchant House
Ranked #13 of 48 Poole B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This was a lovely stop over and we enjoyed a charming welcome. Local recommendations for eating out was welcomed and later enjoyed. Situated close to the quayside with plenty of bars and restaurants. Off street parking was also a real bonus. Breakfast was just fabulous a real work of art. Sadly our room was the smallest in the house which is often expected within a Georgian house, but this was just to small. However the shower was generous and welcomed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteveMoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

We spent one Saturday night here. The location is close to a wide range of bars and restaurants, but we didn't find the room particularly noisy at night. The full English breakfast was the best one we have ever had, and our hosts were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Despite not sleeping very well this was not a reflection on the impeccable service we received from David. Quaint little room but very suitable for 2 of us, prime location for evening stroll along the harbour and a fabulous full english breakfast at a time to suit us. Thank you David :-)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DealSalSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Having spent the most memorable day a warm welcome awaited us on arrival at the Merchant House. Having been shown to our room a quick appraisal of easy to reach bars. Even later meeting our host in one of the said bars for a friendly chat. The room while small was perfect for our one night stay. A outstanding breakfast was provided the following day. Completing our memroable first ever visit to Poole. We will most definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I spent one night here midweek. It is right down near the quayside in Poole and therefore close to a wide range of bars and restaurants. I wondered when I arrived if it would be noisy at night as I needed the windows open but not in the slightest. The room was a little small so might not be to the taste of a large american couple but it was beautifully equipped with nice touches and all I needed. Shame I didn't get to keep the teddy bear. The breakfast was amazing. Really well cooked and a great range of ingredients. It was also not a problem that I needed to leave early. Yep, top marks.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Stayed over night in the merchant house, great location as so close to Poole quay shops and Resturant . Room was at the top of the house, spotless clean, everything you needed was in the room, downside to room, was very small, bed pushed up against the window, which meant I had to climb over my husband to use the bathroom, it was one of the hottest nights we have had this year which meant we had to leave windows open as no fan or air con, which was unfortunately the only way you could get some air into the room, which then lead to no sleep as the screech of the seagulls was constant all though the night. Breakfast was amazing, all cooked by the owner David in front of you, way to much to get through, but a great start to the day.

Room Tip: As for a large double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jackiew44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Can't fault the location one street back from the quayside and the hand-drawn map from David is helpful to get your bearings. We were welcomed warmly and the breakfast was outstanding, you will see why David says he treats it like a work of art. The rooms are small though, bit like staying in a Parisian hotel. We left our two suitcases in the car and just brought up one carry-on sized bag. The cases would have made navigation around the room almost impossible. That is the only downside though, our stay was otherwise comfortable and relaxing - even if a pigeon tried to come in to visit us before breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MosLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,267 reviews
2.6 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
879 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Antelope Hotel
The Antelope Hotel
#31 of 48 in Poole
381 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Ox
The Ox
#33 of 48 in Poole
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Merchant House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merchant House

Address: 10 Strand Street | Poole Quay, Poole BH15 1SB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Poole
Price Range: £93 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Merchant House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Poole Quay, The Merchant House is a stone's throw from the waters edge. This lovely Georgian house has been beautifully transformed into a stylish boutique bed and breakfast. Elegant rooms all en-suite, lcd tv, coffee/tea facilities,choice of breafast at The Merchant House or Oriels resturant. Parking facilities very close by.With superb resturants, wine bars, historical pubs and shopping, all walking distance from The Merchant House. With unbelievable views across Poole Harbour,the famous Sandbanks close by and with the Jurassic coast and The New Forest, Poole Quay caters for everyones taste.As we will cater for yours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Merchant House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Merchant House Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing