We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apartment 8 Dolphin Quays”
Review of Quay Holidays

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Quay Holidays
Ranked #3 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Apartment 8 Dolphin Quays”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have stayed with Quay holiday a couple of times before, and have always been pleased with the accommodation. This time we booked Apartment 8 which was lovely, large sitting room/kitchen and the bedrooms are almost in seperate wings, so perfect for couples sharing. The tea/coffee and wine welcome pack was appreciated, but there is a Tesco express directly under the apartments for essentials.

We had a slight problem with one of the toilets not flushing, which they sent someone up about (who wasnt the most polite) and it was fixed but it seems they know its a problem so maybe should be fixed by a plumber so others dont get the same issue.

The decor of the apartment is nice, all neutral with wooden floors and a cream carpet, couple of areas could do with a re paint. One point is the beds seem old and not the best quality, they have lots of lumps and bumps and springs poking out, I would expect an apartment of this calibre to have less 'budget' beds in.

All in all its a great location, and the apartment is on the whole, lovely.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali4455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    13
    2
    5
    3
See reviews for
28
18
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

My husband and I stayed late March for a 3 night break at the above property.

It was a lovely break and the cottage is very comfortable and very nicely furnished.

There was a very well equipped kitchen and the lounge/dining area was a lovely space.

Plenty of hot water and very warm cottage. Lovely private garden too.

It is a great location for getting around Poole quay, Lilliput and onto Sandbanks. We walked to Branksome and back on one of the days.

Thoroughly recommend this property for a couple's get away or with a couple of friends. Would also suit 2 adults and 2 children as there is the safe garden and it is close to the beach.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Healingforevertherap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Our company is carrying out construction works in Poole, and out tradesmen require accommodation for their stay. I found Quay Holidays on a google search, and thankfully I did. All I then had to do was give my requirements to the girls at the other end of the phone and all was taken care of. They were very quick to get back to me with a few options and after that everything was sorted. Our tradesmen are perfectly happy with the few different houses and apartments that they have stayed in, and the whole process was managed quickly and professionally by Quay holidays. I would not hesitate to recommend them.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacqueline m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed for a week at trader's view whilst at the poole lighthouse on our theatre tour. it was so nice to come back to such a comfortable and clean house. great facilities, almost a hotel feel to the rooms and the sky tv and 'jacuzzi' were a luxury after so long on tour!

Great kitchen also so didn't go out at all during the week.

The quay holiday office were also extremely helpful and when we had trouble working out heating sent someone out straight away. they also added little touches like a bottle of wine and tea and coffee provided.

location wise, not by the water, but so close to the high st and the quay i'd rather come back and stay there any day.

so glad we booked this place, couldn't recommend it more for people on theatre/ work tours.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elspethje88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

I spent just 2 nights here with a few friends and we had a wonderful time. Despite it being late November we had some good weather and were able to sit for a while on the huge balcony off the lounge and eat lunch. The flat is well equipped and beautifully situated but we did have a few maintenance issues - microwave not working, several bulbs out, smoke detector "beeping" for 24+ hours - and some of the fittings did feel a little tired. We understand however that the owners are planning a refurb soon so once that is complete it should offer a truly magnificent experience!!

Some previous visitors had commented on noise from the nearby harbour pubs and restaurants - yes there was some noise but in a location like this that is to be expected. I would just say if you're a light sleeper consider taking earplugs!! For us, the location was more than worth it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SallyR21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed in a lovely apartment for two in Poole and booked through Quay Holidays. Our accommodation was delightful,beautifully furnished with every home comfort and in a superb location a few minutes walk from the quay. Thank you for the thoughtful welcome pack on arrival of chilled wine in the fridge and tea, coffee and biscuits laid out ready for us in the kitchen. Poole is a delightful place for a holiday and Quay Holidays the perfect letting agency. Thank you.

Room Tip: Quay Holidays - an excellent agency for excellent self-catering accommodation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cher934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Lovely apartment, finding it was a little difficult, once we got used it, all was good, nice welcome pack, excellent location, comfortable bed, would definitely visit again & recommend to any couple wanting a break in the best place in Britain

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dexter1666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
2.8 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,723 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
915 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
2.6 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quay Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay Holidays

Property: Quay Holidays
Address: Orchard Plaza 41 High Street | Orchard Plaza, Poole BH15 1EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quay Holidays 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being Poole's Premium Letting Specialists, we only offer you the highest quality luxury holiday apartments in Dorset, comprehensively and comfortably furnished and every one Visit Britain accredited. With a full linen service, welcome packs on arrival and the attention to detail guaranteed by our comprehensive management service, Quay Holidays work harder to ensure you have a comfortable and enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Quay Holidays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay Holidays Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing