We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alghero Ristorante

Alghero Ristorante
Ranked #15 of 360 Restaurants in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$44
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Without doubt, the very best authentic Italian/Sardinian cuisine in a very wide area (Poole/Bourrnemouth/Christchurch). Their 'pasta' sauces are amazing amamazingamazing truly amazing
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

My wife - who is Italian - says that any Italian restaurant serving 'garlic bread' (which is American!) or 'Carbonara' (traditionally eaten at home, not in a restaurant) is not offering a true Italian experience. So, whilst a dish of Spaghetti alla Carbonara will be no trouble (should you so wish), you will not find it (or garlic bread) on the menu, so there's a first big tick!

Strictly speaking the menu is Sardinian, although many of the dishes are classic Italian also. The food is delicious, and certainly as tasty as meals I have eaten in Italy. The portions are (really!) generous - indeed, if you are a light eater, be sure to ask for a smaller portion!

My absolute favourite dishes have been the Tagliatelle al Nero di Seppia (squid-ink Tagliatelle, with mixed seafood), followed by their home-made Tiramisu, which is so light I could almost have a second helping!

The restaurant atmosphere is always pleasant and the staff are friendly. We have never felt rushed - in fact quite often we have relaxed there until closing, chatting with other regulars, and Jelena and Luigi themselves.

Sometimes it is quite evidently busy, but a little patience is always rewarded with a great evening overall.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank awesomemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    35
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
96 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

This was my first visit as an Italian restaurant. I had been before when it was the Volcano Stone. The decor had changed and the bar had been moved. It looks great. The menu had a lot of things on it that we had never tried. The starters we quick coming out and the portion size was generous. The main course was fantastic and again a generous portion size. The quality was really good. I used to rate Diva in Poole the best but now I have a new favorite. Cost of the meal was reasonable. 2 starters 2 main courses a bottle of wine and 2 Irish coffees came to 60 quid. I will be coming back soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank andydebaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Never fails to impress”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Such a lovely restaurant, we don't eat out often but the staff always remember us by name and even remember our fav wine(when we can't!)
The food is fresh and tasty, I can recommend the spaghetti pescatora, loads of seafood and delicious. Really reasonably priced, the wine is also not too expensive.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 394TrineD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Birthday success”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Good food and attentive staff. Superb attention to details which set the mood. To complete the dinner, a lovely birthday cake was presented.

The trio

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jawkra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“excellent !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

excellent food excellent service.went for birthday celebration.not often we eat out at home and very rarely italian.but was pleasantly surprised.the food was excellent my husband had calamari and the seafood spaghetti.everyone had a really wonderful evening.not too hot in the restaurant.just right.(the coffee was`nt strong enough.) ha ha.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jane c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alghero Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Alghero Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing