We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alghero Ristorante

Alghero Ristorante
Ranked #15 of 360 Restaurants in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$45
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Without doubt, the very best authentic Italian/Sardinian cuisine in a very wide area (Poole/Bourrnemouth/Christchurch). Their 'pasta' sauces are amazing amamazingamazing truly amazing
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Absolutely fantastic with great food and a great atmosphere! And to top it off the staff are very friendly and welcoming! I would recommend it if you are ever in the area!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sashadaxgigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    36
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Friendly and Welcoming!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

My husband and I visited Alghero Ristorante in Poole last Wednesday for the first time after reading Trip Advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. From the moment we entered, Jelena was lovely, friendly and helpful, and the food she brought us was tasty and perfectly cooked. I'm not a great fan of chocolate desserts, but the Almond and Chocolate cake I chose was delicious. We'll be recommending this restaurant to our family and friends and will definitely be returning.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanie307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic Food and Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Was introduced to Alghero last weekend by friends who live locally. From the moment we arrived we were looked after superbly by Luigi, Jelena and 'Fred'. The food was excellent and plentiful and extremely good value and although the restaurant was busy the whole experience was cosy and unhurried. A perfect Friday evening. Thank you Alghero.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HardyWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagshot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“A perfect Monday night dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

The night before our early morning ferry to Jersey, my wife and I looked at the dining options for a Monday evening. The one outstanding restaurant was Alghero. And so we drove just 5 minutes from our Poole hotel to be greeted by Jelena, the co-owner with her husband, chef Luigi. Jelena was charming, chatty and keen to please. Luigi prepared a fabulous dinner, then came out to chat with us mid course. The food was plentiful and delicious. We felt very well looked after and I'm sure it would be the same any day of the week.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

I visited Alghero with three friends last weekend purely on the strength of the Trip Advisor reviews, and I have to say my faith in this website has taken a bit of a hit.

I'd like to point out that I'm not a food snob. I'm as happy eating a Big Mac as I am tucking into oysters, and I was looking forward to my first visit to Alghero, despite having lived 10 minutes' walk away for years.

On arrival the restaurant was pretty busy and very hot. We'd reserved, and our table was close to the front door, which was lucky because I had to open it later on to get some air in.

The service throughout the evening was good. Several ladies looked after us - and I have no complaint with them. However the tables are really crammed in. One of the reviews on here says it's surprisingly spacious inside, which is nonsense - whenever people walked behind me (which was often) they bumped into my chair.

We had a starter, main and dessert, and every course was bland. From my pallotte cacio e uova, to the penne alla carrettiera and the cheescake (which was only an inch high!), everything was distinctly average - and makes me wonder if most of the other reviewers have any taste buds or are in cahoots with the owner! My friends thought their pollo alla cacciatora and sea bass was equally mediocre, while the chocolate ice cream had no flavour at all and the chocolate souffle's liquid centre seemed to have been left behind in the kitchen.

I'm sorry to say that we won't be returning.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SouthernSunLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alghero Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Alghero Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing