We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Left kids at home' Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Viewpoint Guest House
Ranked #2 of 50 Poole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
“'Left kids at home' Break”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Myself and my wife have just returned from a wonderful stay at the Viewpoint Guest house. Heather and Steve were very welcoming and made us feel relaxed from the moment we arrived to the time we checked out. In between we were treated to a very modern, clean, comfortable room resplendent with four poster bed, en suite shower room, tea making facilities, a complimentary bottle of wine and a large telly. As our room was to the rear we also had a large balcony with sun loungers, which would be great for the summer months.
Breakfast was a veritable banquet with buffet style continental and cooked to order options. We opted for (well portioned!) bacon sandwiches on our first morning, even supplying a doggy bag for my wife when she couldn't finish it all. Their knowledge of the area also made it easy when deciding where to eat out or visit. All in all a great place run by a friendly team. We will be back, with the children next time...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherClarke, Owner at Viewpoint Guest House, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review after your recent break with us without your children. It was our pleasure to look after you and we only wished the weather had been better so you could have taken full advantage of the balcony and sun loungers - maybe next time. We look forward to meeting you again soon, whether on your own or with your children.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    79
    18
    3
    5
See reviews for
105
201
9
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wallington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Took my fiance here for her birthday and couldn't have asked for more. We stayed one night and were thoroughly looked after. Anything I enquired about was provided and more. The room was lovely, such a lovely bed, bathroom and a nice secluded court yard. The breakfast the following morning was just as enjoyable as well. Both me and my fiance commented to each other how fresh it was and the sausages were delicious. Will definately stay again. Thank you

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherClarke, Owner at Viewpoint Guest House, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review after your stay with us on Sunday evening for your fiance's birthday. It was our pleasure to look after you and we are glad she enjoyed the extra gifts you asked for in the room. Hope to see you at some time in the near future if visiting Poole, maybe in the summer months when you can make the best of the courtyard off the room, which is a perfect suntrap later into the evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Really great place to stay, we checked into the viewpoint on new yrs eve as we intended on drinking a few units over driving limit, parking just to the rear of the building which is awesome in that part of town! , Heather showed us to our room which had a 4 poster bed and an en-suite, and just little details like telling us which bus services would be going all night (though for the life of me I can't remember much about the bus journey haha) made life easier, nothing too much trouble, when we made it downstairs for breakfast we were greeted with an absolute feast, and I'm gutted I couldn't face any food after the previous nights alcohol intake, it looked fantastic! Many thanks, and we look forward to coming back again :)

Room Tip: When we go back I think we'll ask for a room to the rear, as you can hear a bit of traffic, that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherClarke, Owner at Viewpoint Guest House, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review after your stay with us on New Year's Eve. We are glad that you enjoyed your night out in Bournemouth, only sorry that you enjoyed it so much you couldnt manage to eat any breakfast in the morning! Maybe next time you might be able to manage breakfast. Hope to see you again at some time in the future and if you telephone me to book just ask for a room at the rear of the property to avoid traffic noise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

we have just come back from a two night stay at the viewpoint guest house we were made to feel welcome from the minute we arrived. nothing was too much trouble for our hosts steve and heather he booked us tables in two different restaurants lovely restaurants too i must add. he drove us into town on saturday morning so we could hit the shops. everytime we came in we were offered a drink or two lol, the breakfasts were to die for would we hesitate to go back there NO we would not our room had a huge four poster bed and jacuzzi bath was lovely. thankyou both for looking after us. marion & geoff. barry and lorraine x

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marion h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherClarke, Owner at Viewpoint Guest House, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review after your recent stay with us for your birthday weekend. We are glad that you appreciated our hospitality and were full up from breakfast. Glad you enjoyed both restaurants recommended to you and we hope to see you all at some time in the near future for another special occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Stayed at the Viewpoint for a couple of nights last week whilst working in Poole after a friend's recommendation. Really can't praise the set-up enough. A lovely, warm welcome, superb room with en-suite shower room - all meticulously clean and well presented. Delicious breakfast. On site parking. Very reasonable prices - Far cheaper than the bland, soulless Premier In I'd stayed at the previous week. What more can I say? If you're looking for somewhere to stay in Poole then use the Viewpoint - You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherClarke, Owner at Viewpoint Guest House, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review after your brief stay with us prior to Christmas whilst working in the area. We are glad you felt we offered a more personal service than the bigger well known chains and we look forward to meeting you again, tonight in fact, as you are back working in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Stayed here for a couple of weeks in June and i had a nice break after a hard days work. The rooms are nice and big and clean for a guest house and the owners were lovely. It felt like i was staying with loads of friends instead of a guest house and it seemed to rub off on all the people who were staying here as everyone said good morning to each other at breakfast time. While i am on the subject of breakfast, WOW what a breakfast , all the food is cooked to order and the menu is lovely and varied from kippers to steak. You will not need to eat until the next day.

Room Tip: Top room is good for families as it has 2 separate rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherClarke, Owner at Viewpoint Guest House, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review after your stay with us during the summer. It was our pleasure to look after you whilst you were working in the area and we are glad that you felt full after eating our breakfasts. Hope to see you again at some time, either if you are workiing in the area or maybe for pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I stayed in a room with all the commodities I could wish for. Everything was so clean and comfortable. The bed was comfy and the bathroom had a great Jacuzzi. Everything was spotless. Breakfast was the best I had in years, fresh and custom made...I am vegan and I sent an email to ask for some soy milk. The landlady was ever so helpful to answer immediately and cater for it and to ask what else did I need!. We commented on the bread being lovely and they gave us a whole loaf! They are lovely people and the place is so homely and clean I would have loved to stay longer. Location is fine with bus stops on the doorstep and easy to reach the city center or to go to Bournemouth.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 1A and it was great but the windows are located at the main entrance where you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cristinagps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherClarke, Owner at Viewpoint Guest House, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review after your recent stay with us. We will always aim to provide appropriate food for different diets, just phone us before hand and we will get the required ingredients for you. It was a pleasure to look after you both and are glad that you enjoyed the loaf of bread we gave you to take home. Look forward to meeting you again at some time in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.9 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viewpoint Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viewpoint Guest House

Property: Viewpoint Guest House
Address: 11 Constitution Hill Road | Parkstone Poole Dorset BH14 0QB, Poole BH14 0QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Viewpoint Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viewpoint Guest House is a family run business which has been established for 23 years. We offer all en suite rooms with flat screen t.v, with freeview, clock radio, tea/coffee making facilities, mini fridges with complimentary bottled water and fresh milk, hairdryers, full length dress mirrors, luggage racks. Breakfast is served from 6 a.m. for early travellers or workers. We have free wi-fi and large free car park. We are situated 1 mile from Poole Town Centre and 3 miles from Bournemouth. Situated on a main road but rooms available at the rear of the property on request. Ground floor and family rooms to sleep 5 available. New for 2016 - in answer to guests comments regarding traffic noise at the front of the property we have now installed new double glazing with Acoustic Glass which reduces the noise levels by over 50% so hopefully these problems will now be eliminated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Viewpoint Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viewpoint Guest House Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing