We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very hospitable, very comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Viewpoint Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Viewpoint Guest House
Ranked #2 of 52 Poole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very hospitable, very comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed for a Friday and Saturday night and found Viewpoint and its owners very hospitable and welcoming from the start.

We had booked one of the four poster rooms, which was very comfortable. It was spacious and felt like it had been recently refurbished with good facilities - large flat screen tv, nice leather seats. The bathroom with a large walk-in shower was also very nicely finished and had lots of room as well as being spotlessly clean.

The owners, Steve and Heather couldn't have been more helpful with recommendations of restaurants and help to navigate around Poole.

The breakfast deserves a special mention as it was very nicely prepared to order and with more than the full cooked English on offer (thought it was so good we stuck with it) with a good selection of cereal, fruit, yogurt etc as well as toast and preserves.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Surreyglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherClarke, Owner at Viewpoint Guest House, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review after your recent weekend stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed the four poster and the facilities we have to offer, positive feedback is much appreciated. Glad you enjoyed your meal at Patrick's in Ashley Cross also and thank you for writing a review for them. We hope to see you again at some time in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    79
    18
    3
    5
See reviews for
104
198
9
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

stayed here with my boyfriend for a belated valentines break on the 20th-22nd of feb.. excellent room loved the four poster bed and Jacuzzi bath. only down sides were the rd outside was noisy and im a light sleeper and the pillows.. very hard to sleep on.. all in all breakfast was scrummy and bother steve and heather very welcoming

Room Tip: ask for softer pillows
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherClarke, Owner at Viewpoint Guest House, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Many thanks for your kind comments following your recent stay with us for a belated Valentine's weekend break with your boyfriend. We are glad you enjoyed the four poster and jacuzzi bath! When booking again please ask me for softer pillows as we always have spares to offer guests. Also we have four poster rooms at the back of the property where there is less traffic noise, but the only bath is in the front four poster, so the decision is yours - jacuzzi bath/traffic noise or shower and less traffic noise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

I always stay at the viewpoint whenever I come to poole. Steve and heather are really lovely and make you feel so welcome and comfortable in their home. The rooms are done to such a high standard and the beds are so comfortable resulting in a good nights sleep. And the little personal touches like wine in your room is a really lovely touch and very thoughtful. The breakfast is always cook fresh and perfectly and theres a lovely selection too. I won't stay anywhere else and would recommend the viewpoint to anyone. Thanks steve and heather, I shall see you both when I return soon x

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kellytippett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherClarke, Owner at Viewpoint Guest House, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Many thanks for your lovely comments Kelly, it is much appreciated. It is our pleasure to look after you whenever you are working in the Poole Area and we look forward to meeting you again this evening once you have finished your day's work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

The hotel was devided between properties & we stayed in an adjoining property. We had a four poster bed which creaked quite loudly but was comfy. The room was large with a comfy leather sofa & a large television. Clean bathroom with large walk in shower, no bath.. Husband was expecting a bath but we were told this should be requested when making booking. Mini fridge in room which was handy with pint of milk for our use. The room was a mixture of old & new furnishings giving it a quirky feel. The main road directly outside window was a little noisy during the night & would most likely annoy a light sleeper. The next morning we had cooked breakfast in the other main property. Lovely breakfast with fresh fruit & plenty of choice. The time slot was a bit short for breakfast 45 mins & early start for a sunday. The owners were welcoming & the service was good.

Room Tip: Request a room with bath on booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherClarke, Owner at Viewpoint Guest House, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review after your recent stay with us. We are appreciative of your positive comments. Please accept our apologies that you did not have the four poster with jacuzzi you were expecting, as explained we only have one four poster which has the bath and so if you specifically want this you need to check when booking. Hopefully next time you visit this room will be available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

I arrived at the Viewpoint Guest house and was given a friendly welcome, they asked if I would like a recommendation for eating out which I did and they explained that there was a nice restaurant nearby and I could get a discount to eat there as well due to an arrangement they have which is fantastic.
I was shown to my lovely room with a 4 poster bed and sofa which was really comfortable, nice shower as well.
After I was shown the room they asked if I wanted to make a reservation for the restaurant they recommended which I did. I travel a lot for work and this was the first time I have been asked this which shows that they really look after you whilst you are there. I was also asked what time I wanted breakfast.
I had a good nights sleep and in the morning the cooked breakfast was brilliant and perfectly cooked.
I will definitely recommend and will be booking again next time I am in the area. Thank you to them both for making my stay very pleasant and enjoyable.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank sibampfylde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherClarke, Owner at Viewpoint Guest House, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review after your recent stay with us whilst on business. It was a pleasure to look after you and are glad that you enjoyed the restaurant 'Patricks' in Ashley Cross which we booked for you. We look forward to welcoming you again when next down in Poole on business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

We arrived at the viewpoint guest house at around 9pm, the owners were just off to bed but still came out to greet us and show us to our room, complete with four poster bed, which was lovely! The rooms including the bathrooms are very modern and clean. We had a very comfortable nights sleep.
In the morning we had a fantastic selection of continental breakfast including fresh fruit (strawberries, raspberries and blueberries) then the best fry up we've had in a long time! Fresh toast, lovely sausages and bacon. Very well cooked!
Really friendly, clean and reasonably priced guest house.
Would definitely recommend and I'm sure we'll be back!
Thank you!
Em & Sam

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilyjaneneal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherClarke, Owner at Viewpoint Guest House, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review after your recent stay with us. Positive feedback is really important to us and we appreciate your comments. Hope you both enjoyed your day at Splashdown and we look forward to meeting you again at some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We were greeted by Steve an Heather on our arrival at viewpoint for a two night brake in February 2014.Our stay was fantastic Warm rooms an inside spotless it was home from home.Big thanks to Steve organising flowers chocolates an a small bottle of champagne for my wifes surprise brake to Poole.To top of our stay was Heathers breakfast fresh fruit a selection of cereals an a full english which was secound to none.Highly recommend you won't be disappointed. Thanks guys.

Room Tip: If they are like the four posted bedroom we stay in you'll have great stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 383Jason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherClarke, Owner at Viewpoint Guest House, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review after your recent stay with us for your wife's surprise birthday getaway. It was a pleasure to organise the little extras for you and are glad you appreciated all we have to offer. Look forward to meeting you again at some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.9 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#7 of 14 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 14 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
2.4 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viewpoint Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viewpoint Guest House

Property: Viewpoint Guest House
Address: 11 Constitution Hill Road | Parkstone Poole Dorset BH14 0QB, Poole BH14 0QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Viewpoint Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viewpoint Guest House is a family run business which has been established for 23 years. We offer all en suite rooms with flat screen t.v, with freeview, clock radio, tea/coffee making facilities, mini fridges with complimentary bottled water and fresh milk, hairdryers, full length dress mirrors, luggage racks. Breakfast is served from 6 a.m. for early travellers or workers. We have free wi-fi and large free car park. We are situated 1 mile from Poole Town Centre and 3 miles from Bournemouth. Situated on a main road but rooms available at the rear of the property on request. Ground floor and family rooms to sleep 5 available. New for 2016 - in answer to guests comments regarding traffic noise at the front of the property we have now installed new double glazing with Acoustic Glass which reduces the noise levels by over 50% so hopefully these problems will now be eliminated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Viewpoint Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viewpoint Guest House Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing