We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Shutters Guest House
Ranked #7 of 50 Poole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly and Welcoming”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Just got back from a three night stay at Blue Shutters with my sister. Thought everything was just perfect from the cleanliness, the comfortable rooms very nicely decorated and contemporary, and most especially the warm welcome from owners and staff, who were all very helpful when we had any queries about local area, transport etc. Lovely breakfast too with plenty of choice.All in all would definitely like to stay here again, Smashing !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordonedgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    41
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
30
75
28
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lincs
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night before catching the morning ferry. The position is very good, a short walk to child friendly restaurants, the bedroom immaculate with the usual facilities and even a DVD player( a selection of DVDs available too). The breakfast superb and the staff amount to the most friendly, accommodating and helpful we've ever stayed with. The only point to be careful of is not to get blocked in the car park especially if you have an early start, tho I believe there is parking over the other side of the road. Very nice.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank patnjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I found this establishment in a another guide/booking site and hope others can base their choice on these recommends by the general public in TripAdvisor as well. The property is clean, the bedrooms are just perfect and the breakfast caters for all tastes, you can have as much or as little as you wish. Evening meals can be ordered and delivered and the proprietors were very helpful in that respect. Oh yes, I should add that the shutters themselves were fantastic!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanDeGama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night and would thoroughly recommend.

Very nicely decorated unlike some B+B where furniture doesn't match.

Very comfortable bed.

Free onsite parking.

Breakfast was excellent.

£60 for double room for 2 was really good value.

Very quiet despite room facing out onto road.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SiBass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Blue shutters had very good rating on trip adviser and it was conveniently positions for us to attend a family wedding at the Guild Hall in the centre of historic Poole town, just off of the high street and quay.

Blue Shutters were very accommodating even making arrangements for us to book in early so we could change for the wedding. The rooms were very clean and comfortable the staff were very friendly and the breakfast was excellent.
I would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The welcome at Blue Shutters was fantastic as was the breakfast on Sunday morning, probably the best we have had anywhere for a few years. All staff we met were superb and nothing was too much trouble.

We were in room 8 which is at the front of the house so was a bit noisy but apart from that it was a perfectly acceptable and clean room.

We would definitely return if visiting Poole again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

If you sat down and thought of everything you'd want out of a B&B, Blue Shutters 'ticks all the boxes'. Friendly and efficient welcome, comfortable room and a tasty breakfast. Would have been great to be there on a hot summer's morning and had breakfast in the garden.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.6 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
895 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,692 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,152 reviews
2.2 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Shutters Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Shutters Guest House

Property: Blue Shutters Guest House
Address: 109 North Road | Parkstone, Poole BH14 0LU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edwardian guest house convenient for Sandbanks beaches, bars, restaurants, Poole town / park / quay & ferries, Lighthouse theatre, BIC and shopping centres. Handy for visiting New Forest, Brownsea Island, Weymouth, Lulworth Cove, Swanage / Studland & Jurassic Coast. We offer a range of spacious en-suite accommodation with: TV,DVD player, iPod dock, Refreshment tray. Closest airports - Bournemouth, Southampton. Closest ports - Poole, Southampton. Closest station - Parkstone, Poole. Free off-road parking. Full English breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Blue Shutters Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Shutters Guest House Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing