We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delivers your ultimate basics, Average stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Poole
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delivers your ultimate basics, Average stay”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

If you were sleeping over somewhere the three main things you would expect to be good are the Bed, Breakfast and Bathroom! The hotel delivers these to a perfect standard. Hotel very clean and good location, parking facilities are excellent.

It has a smart ground floor which is well designed, and the rooms are compact with a simple bathroom including a good shower.

Service was fine but does not stand out, Patryk on Reception was although serious, very efficient, welcoming and helpful.

The bar was fine, but nowhere particularly 'comfy' to sit, seats were way too firm, we did notice a queue of about 4 people waiting for about 6 minutes, it was clear they were getting agitated, there was a tall man with glasses from the Nights team collecting sauces in from the dinner tables. I'm sure he saw the bar while going to and fro to the kitchen and appeared to ignore them or pretend he hadn't seen them. Customers were leaving the queue to go to the rooms- potential business being lost. Staff could be more alert/attentive or observant when away from the desk.

Rooms looked a little tired, however provided everything required (perhaps with a little more tea and coffee). I was surprised to learn there was no internet in the hotel free of charge, this is a must these days to keep up with the market, or at least free net in the public areas!

Breakfast filling and very nice, staff really organised, however guests could do with trays to put the breakfast on to avoid congestion at the breakfast bar from people going back up to get things.

If this was by an airport it would be perfect, delivers the sheer basics and perfect for somewhere to sleep.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zbudld91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerPoole, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your recent review on Trip Advisor. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

We are delighted that you have found our rooms clean and comfortable and our staff professional and helpful. We are also glad you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast.

All guest get 30 minutes of free internet access per stay, I apologise that this was not explained to you.
Thank you for your comments regarding the Bar, the relevant members of staff have been addressed to assure this doesn’t happen again as our guest are very important to us.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    322
    229
    100
    59
See reviews for
209
321
35
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Just spent one night here before an early sailing from Poole the following morning. The Hotel is easy to find and is only 5 minutes from the ferry port.
The Hotel was adequate for our needs but very basic and the beds were so uncomfortable! We are 2 adults and 2 children - boys aged 9 & 5, they had a sofa bed which even they moaned about!
There were a few guests on our early boat in the morning and the Hotel opened for breakfast especially early at 4.30 to accommodate which was greatly appreciated. Apparently breakfast was good - I chose to sleep until the last minute!!
Yes I would stay again, it was good value for money. I think we paid about £70 for the four of us inc breakfast (had we been up in time!)

Room Tip: Family rooms have a double bed and a sofa bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuernseyGriswalds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerPoole, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your recent review on Trip Advisor. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

Our central location is great for exploring Poole and the surrounding area and popular with guest catching the Ferry as it is only 5 minutes away, our complimentary breakfast can be made available earlier to accommodate early ferries and we hope that next time you have a chance to enjoy it.

Our rooms are in the process of being refurbished with new beds.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Very basic rooms in an out of the way location. Not even the best I'm the chain! Overpriced at £136 rack rate. Paid £69.95 felt that is a high price

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chesterley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerPoole, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your recent review on Trip Advisor. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

We apologies that you felt our rate was over priced, our rates change depending on the time of the year and the availability and advance saver rates can be booked online.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Poole hotels

Midlands
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

I spent only one night at this hotel, which is located a 10-15 minute walk from the town centre. The hotel is cheap and cheerful: do not expect luxury, but rather functionality.

The room was adequate for my purposes, but lacks any frills. My major complaint was the bed: it was fantastically uncomfortable. In case anyone from the hotel reads this, I was in room 123: get a new mattress as the existing one is far too hard.

The staff were, however, extremely professional, courteous and helpful. They made the stay enjoyable and pleasant, going out of their way to offer assistance and advice. They allowed me to leave my car in the car park outside for a couple of hours after checking out, too, which was very kind of them.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel but would warn guests that the discomfort of the bed could ruin your sleep.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerPoole, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your recent review on Trip Advisor. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.
We are delighted that you have found our rooms clean and comfortable and our staff professional and helpful. Our central location is great for exploring Poole and the surrounding areas and we are glad you enjoyed your time in Poole.
All our rooms are in the process of being refurbished and all beds will be replaced.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Stayed here a couple of times. Bit of a walk from the town centre if you have shopping bags to carry. Plenty of parking. Staff pleasant. Breakfast good. Room fine. Only whinge is, if you've had a 5.5 hour journey to the place (like me), hunched behind a steering wheel, in the middle of winter with your bones beginning to rattle with the cold...what is the one thing you might relish? A nice hot bath! You won't find a bath in the building. Only showers. I would stay there again if I could get a good rate (as it can fluctuate wildly in tourist season).

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VRH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerPoole, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your recent review on Trip Advisor. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our staff and breakfast. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

As a standard all Holiday Inn Express Hotels offer a shower, we hope this didn't affect your stay too much.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

we spent 2 nights over easter ,its a value hotel ie; no frills we ate very big breakfasts we went up quite a few times ,baked beans hash browns and sausages and the usual range of cerials .The beds were a bit springy the rooms a bit tired looking but adequate.We walked from the train station which involves a trip through a subway which felt quite safe which took about ten minutes

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GTO52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerPoole, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and thank you for your positive comments.
We are delighted you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Despite being assured by three members of staff and the manager twice before and after booking and with plenty of notice, they were unable to provide me with gluten-free bread for my breakfast. What was even more gallong was that there was a 24hr Asda a short distance away and it would have taken a few minutes to pop out and buy some. I even offered to bring my own but they assured me they would provide it. I complained on leaving and in writing that we had no breakfast because of it but no apology or refund was offered. Very very poor service.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillLawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerPoole, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your recent review on Trip Advisor. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

Firstly, I would like to offer my sincere apologies that you weren't satisfied with the service you received whilst staying with us. We take feedback on our hotel very seriously we will be addressing the issues raised with our team at Poole. As I understand the manager on duty did go and get some bread but unfortunately you had already had breakfast, I believe that he spoke to your husband regarding this.

Once again thank you for taking the time to post a review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
0.4 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
915 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,170 reviews
2.6 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,480 reviews
2.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Poole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Poole

Property: Holiday Inn Express Poole
Address: Walking Field Lane, Poole BH15 1RZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Poole 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Poole. Simply Great Poole Town Centre Hotel ; NOW OFFERING FREE WI-FI. The town centre location of our hotel in Poole, just minutes from the award-winning golden sandy beaches of Sandbanks, quayside walks, the ferry to Brownsea Island, and the Channel Islands and beyond to France, means whatever your reasons for staying with us, be there for business or pleasure, convenience must be among them.The warmth of the welcome you will receive from our friendly staff will be matched by the cosy comfort of our rooms, all of which are spacious, finished in a contemporary style, and come with complimentary Wi-Fi access and a hearty breakfast each morning. Double, Twin, and Executive rooms are available, and if you have accessibility needs we would advise booking a DDA-approved room as far in advance as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Poole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Poole Hotel Poole
Poole Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Poole
Holiday Inn Express Poole Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing