We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Date of Stay: Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Poole
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Reviewed 11 June 2012

This hotel is right next door to the Dolphin Shopping Centre and Coach/Bus Station. It is basic but ideal for a short break. The hotel is one of the cleanest we have stayed in; particularly the duvets and pillows(I always strip the beds when I leave to check). The bathrooms are spacious and clean, although the water pressure could be a little higher for the shower. During our stay; over the Jubilee Weekend the hotel provided an excellent breakfast, varied choice for all tastes and the food was piping hot and plenty of it. All an all a hotel I would fully recommend for anyone who hasn't stayed in this area before. Oh there are only a few free parking spaces outside the hotel, pop and ask reception for a free permit during your stay as well as a list of local restaurants etc.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerPoole, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your recent review on Trip Advisor. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

Thank you for your kind words about our cleanliness and our complimentary breakfast.. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, our central location is great for exploring Poole.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review, we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (917)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

752 - 758 of 917 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2012

I stayed only for one night, the rooms was clean and spacious, near of the corridor's door which was a bit noisy but it wasn't too bad, plus the bed and pillows are really confortable!
It is also near the Harbor, so all in all a good place to stay for a break, breakfast included and plenty of choice, not complain, really.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuciaL809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerPoole, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your recent review on Trip Advisor. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.
Thank you for your kind words about our cleanliness and our complimentary breakfast.. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, our central location is great for exploring Poole and the surrounding areas and we are happy that you were able to do this.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review, we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

No complaints with either the basic quality of the room and service but with a rack rate of £136 (we paid in excess of £100 for a Saturday night stopover) it seems that the days of finding a reasonably priced hotel are long gone.
This is a basic hotel albeit in Poole but in a business district with stunning views of a flyover, train line and bus station. If it were at the front of Poole harbour with sea views the price could be explained.
The room was fine with a choice of pillows but we found the mattress was extremely firm. The bathroom had a good sized shower. No problems with breakfast and the staff were very pleasant.
By comparison we recently stayed in an excellent 4 star hotel in London for the same price and there is no doubt which was the better value and more comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerPoole, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your recent review on Trip Advisor. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff, we are glad you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast.
Our prices are based on seasonal demand and are in line with local hotel market trend.
Thank you for your comments about the rooms, all our rooms are in the process of being refurbished.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review, we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We recently stayed at the hotel for two nights as we wanted to visit friends in Poole. The hotel is in a business district, so not much to see and do in the vicinity except for the Dolphin Shopping Centre which is within walking distance from the hotel and offers all the normal shops etc you may need. It is also very close to the central bus station of Poole. Our room was a fair size and relatively clean. The bathroom was a good size with a nice big shower. The double bed was really small and we struggled to have a fitful night's sleep on it. The breakfast was okay, not inspiring but filled the belly. We had dinner in the hotel on the evening we arrived and the food was quite good. All in all a good central hotel from which to explore Poole but a car is definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sleeper couch in it; the room is bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VonniCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerPoole, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your recent review on Trip Advisor. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

Thank you for your kind words about our cleanliness and our complimentary breakfast, we are also pleased that you enjoyed our evening meals. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, our central location is great for exploring Poole and the surrounding areas and we are happy that you were able to do this.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

I have never wrote a review on a hotel but just had to this time! I took my family away for a weekend and found the room to be small and badly lit. The sofa bed for my children was more v shape than horizontal and it was dusty and dirty looking – my children were unsettled all night. At the prices they charge I certainly didn’t expect to have to put together the bedding myself, i.e. sheets on quilts/pillowcases.
The aircon/heating unit made a very strange noise all night even though it was off. Having a family room on ground level that backs on to an outside bar area is an incredibly bad idea! The cooked breakfast was pretty tasteless and the restaurant food is even worse, expect a poor choice and a ready meal from a supermarket!
We were away this weekend for a wedding and all the other guests seems to have had much better rooms at much nicer hotels and at MUCH MUCH cheaper prices, I felt completely done over. We slept so bad that the wedding was ruined as we were also so tried and were home very early.
This hotel ruined my families entire weekend as far as I am concerned.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jaime t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerPoole, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your recent review on Trip Advisor. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

Firstly, I would like to offer my sincere apologies that you weren't satisfied with the service you received whilst staying with us. We take feedback on our hotel very seriously we will be addressing the issues raised with our team at Poole.

All our room are in the process of being refurbished and all sofa beds replaced and we hope that if you stay with us in the future you can enjoy our refreshed rooms.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express, Poole with our two young children for one night prior to a trip to the Channel Islands. Usually we stay in smaller, independent hotels, and prefer places with character in a rural setting. The Holiday Inn Express at Poole was a pleasant surprise, good parking, a spacious reception area, modern and fresh decor and furniture throughout, a spacious, clean and well equipped room, and a good breakfast included in the price.

We payed the same room rate at the Holiday Inn Express (with breakfast) for the four of us as we had two weeks earlier staying in a Youth Hostel (without meals) in Norfolk - and there was simply no comparison between the two experiences.

Overall we were very pleased with our stay at the HI Express, Poole.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macosmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerPoole, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your recent review on Trip Advisor. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us; our central location is great for early morning ferries. Thank you for you kind words about our hotel, cleanliness and complimentary breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back to out hotel in the near future.
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

I have booked the hotel for the one night, about one week before arrival. The price was a bit high. The room was basic, nothing fancy, the matress was too hard but the pillows were ok. The room was very clean and the bathroom a bit smaller then other hotels but acceptable. We did like the food in the restaurant at dinner. We had a good night sleep except the ocasional wake-up because of back ackes due to the hard matress.
Breakfast was ok, both cold and coocked food, though the scrambled eggs had no taste at all.
If I were to go back to Poole, I think I would like to try out another hotel, maybe I would find something better.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kriss P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerPoole, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your recent review on Trip Advisor. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

Thank you for your kind words about our cleanliness and our complimentary breakfast, we are also glad you enjoyed our evening meals.

Please accept my apologies that you had a restless nights sleep, all of our rooms are in the process of being refurbished and all beds replaced, we hope that when you return to Poole you choose us again and can enjoy your stay once more.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
0.4 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
958 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,791 reviews
2.6 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,538 reviews
2.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Poole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Poole

Address: Walking Field Lane, Poole BH15 1RZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
Price Range: £58 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Poole 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Poole. Simply Great Poole Town Centre Hotel ; NOW OFFERING FREE WI-FI. The town centre location of our hotel in Poole, just minutes from the award-winning golden sandy beaches of Sandbanks, quayside walks, the ferry to Brownsea Island, and the Channel Islands and beyond to France, means whatever your reasons for staying with us, be there for business or pleasure, convenience must be among them.The warmth of the welcome you will receive from our friendly staff will be matched by the cosy comfort of our rooms, all of which are spacious, finished in a contemporary style, and come with complimentary Wi-Fi access and a hearty breakfast each morning. Double, Twin, and Executive rooms are available, and if you have accessibility needs we would advise booking a DDA-approved room as far in advance as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Poole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Poole Hotel Poole
Poole Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Poole
Holiday Inn Express Poole Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing