We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Poole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Poole
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Poole
southampton
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“nice location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights 13th and 14th july, yes i agree that it was quite expensive what you have to remember is that it is the holiday period and a lovely place by the sea to visit so prices do reflect this.
We enjoyed the two nights breakfast was not full english but there was lots of other things to choose from, fruit, tinned fruit, cereals, toast with jams, marmite, cheese to be honest if you could not find something to eat you are a picky eater. Maybe the egg could have been hotter but hey there you go. We never had any trouble with the room, bed was great, shower was lovely and hot, no problem with parking. It is close to all amenities we had a lovely time thank you to all staff. We would have no issues in booking again

Room Tip: only stayed here once so really dont know
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skinny57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerPoole, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your recent review on Trip Advisor. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.
Thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    306
    213
    95
    58
See reviews for
195
303
33
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed for one night. Our room was clean except for rather grubby walls,. It had the advantage of fully opening windows and the beds had a choice of soft or firm pillows.
A not generous supply of tea or coffee but the option to request more is probably available.No biscuits supplied but we didn't regard that as unacceptable in an 3 star hotel.

Breakfast (completely self service buffet) was reasonably good,notable absence of bacon and mushrooms and we thought queues would back up at the toast and beverage machines at busy times.
Staff were friendly and pleasant.

We would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salop2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your recent review on Trip Advisor. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.
Thank you for you comments regarding our rooms, all our rooms are in the process of being refurbished, extra tea and coffee is available on request should you stay with us in the future please do not hesitate to ask our reception team.

We are constantly looking for ways to improve our service and have passed on your comments regarding the breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Parking was a bit tight but then again we didn't arrive until 9pm.
As expected, hotel was very clean and room was spotless. Sheets were very crisp.
The reception were very friendly and met us with smiles. Thank you George!!!
Breakfast was fine with no problems and as usual, lots of choice.
I experienced no problems whatsoever - but then again I never have with Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wade G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your recent review on Trip Advisor. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.
Thank you for your kind words regarding our rooms and our friendly staff we are glad you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

we arrived after a long 6 hour journey by car despite being at the restaurant at 9 pm we.were told there was no food but we could have a curry takeaway in our room. iasked if it was a hotel or a chinese takeaway as what we really needed was a meal served and a bottle of wine. there was no chance of anyone agreeing to putting that food on a plate and setting a place at a table. we were really looking forward to a good cooked breakfast! cooked breakfast was sausage beans and scrambled egg no bacon no tomatos no mushrooms! there were cereals all over the floor which just needed a brush after children had eaten breakfast. the next surprise was the very antiquated toaster caught fire and we made a quick exit from the dining room and checked out of this fawlty towers hotel! we have stayed at other holiday inn hotels and been perfectly happy but feel the one in poole needs a good shakeup!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doreenfalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your recent review on Trip Advisor. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.
I would like to offer my sincere apologies that you weren't satisfied with the service you received whilst staying with us. We take feedback on our hotel very seriously we will be addressing the issues raised with our team at Poole.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Poole hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed here whilst visiting Poole, Bournemouth & Sandbanks and it was one of the only places that allowed a one night stay on the Saturday we chose (others stated a three night minimum stay). I paid £125 for the night and feel taken for a ride! The room was below average with nasty furnishing and I've stayed in nicer, luxury 5 star hotels in London and Cardiff for less!

The location is great though, with all three places we wanted to be able to access in close quarters.

It was a place to stay, but just overpriced for what you get!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheArcadianTransient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your recent review on Trip Advisor. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

We are glad you found our central location helpful for your stay. Our prices are based on seasonal demand and are in line with local hotel market trend.
Thank you for your comments about the rooms, all our rooms are in the process of being refurbished.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review, we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

I've stayed at this hotel on two occasions now whilst on business in the Poole area.
The rooms are absolutely fine - exactly what you would expect from a basic hotel.
I am dissapointed that now on both occasions the hot water system has failed leaving guests cold showers. It would have been nice to have been told by the hotel staff, even a slip of paper put under the door letting us know. I knew nothing of the fault until I was ready to step into the shower. On speaking to the desk about this problem we were shown the direction of the public swimming pool next door to get ourselves a hot shower - exactly what you need after a full day at work.
With hardly an apology given for the inconvienience and no compensation offered I shall not be returning to this hotel in the future.
Whilst I realise that the breakfast is 'complimentary' some more fresh fruit would be much better than the tinned grapefruit and tangerines. And the coffee from the machine is awful tasting and I would rather drink a cup of hot water.
Shame - you could do so much better.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hectorgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your recent review on Trip Advisor. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.
I would like to offer my sincere apologies that you weren't satisfied with the service you received whilst staying with us. We take feedback on our hotel very seriously we will be addressing the issues raised with our team at Poole.

We had an unexpected issue with our boilers last week and I am sorry this affected your stay, the problem has now been resolved and we hope you consider us when you stay in Poole in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liphook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

We've just spent a weekend in Poole and have used Holiday Inn Express in orher locations before. This one is 5 mins form the main centre and 5 mins from the sea front. Loads of free parking at the hotel.

What I liked :
Spotlessly clean everywhere, including the room. Really comfortable bed and a large shower. It was nice to have a bar in the hotel where we could have a drink in the evening. Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. One showed some real initiative when I had an issue with the Internet. Breakfast was included in the room and was perfectly adequate; cereals, croissants, hot food available and frequently topped up.

What I didn't like :
Beware the bar prices; £6 for a large glass of wine is maybe a bit too pricey for this type of hotel.
One of my frequent issues, you only get 30 mins of free wi-fi and then you start paying. Ok, it's not a hugely expensive (£2 for 2 hours) but it was a slow connection and in this day and age I think wi-fi should be free. I've been a loyaly card owner for years and it should at least be free to regular clients. It's the one thing that stopped me giving an "excellent" rating.

I would, however, stay here again without hesitation.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KeithmT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your recent review on Trip Advisor. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

Thank you for your nice comments regarding our staff, cleanliness and complimentary breakfast. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are constantly looking for ways to improve our service and have passed on your comments regarding the bar and Wi-Fi.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review, we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
0.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#7 of 14 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 14 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 14 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Poole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Poole

Property: Holiday Inn Express Poole
Address: Walking Field Lane, Poole BH15 1RZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Poole 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Poole. Simply Great Poole Town Centre Hotel ; NOW OFFERING FREE WI-FI. The town centre location of our hotel in Poole, just minutes from the award-winning golden sandy beaches of Sandbanks, quayside walks, the ferry to Brownsea Island, and the Channel Islands and beyond to France, means whatever your reasons for staying with us, be there for business or pleasure, convenience must be among them.The warmth of the welcome you will receive from our friendly staff will be matched by the cosy comfort of our rooms, all of which are spacious, finished in a contemporary style, and come with complimentary Wi-Fi access and a hearty breakfast each morning. Double, Twin, and Executive rooms are available, and if you have accessibility needs we would advise booking a DDA-approved room as far in advance as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Poole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Poole Hotel Poole
Poole Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Poole
Holiday Inn Express Poole Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing