We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Poole
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

We stayed here for one night and found the whole experience far superior to the travel inn we had stayed at the night before.
This was our first time in a holiday inn, due to premier travel inns policy of a child being an adult at 16 and unable to share our room. No problems here, an adult being 18. Rooms very clean and tidy, public areas all carpeted and clean. Three pounds to park is nothing compared to surrounding area. The only thing I missed was the full english in the morning but what was on offer was acceptable and there was plenty of choice. We will return again, many thanks to the staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSJNOVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerPoole, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear GSJNOVA

We thank you for taking time to leave your feedback of our Hotel. We were pleased to read that you find your stay better than our competitor and our child policy suited your needs. We were happy that you find our rooms and public areas clean, tidy and carpeted. It gives us pleasure that you enjoyed the discounted price of £3.00 for 24 hrs. We are an Express thus we offer free Hot Breakfast and WIFI to all our guest, but we do not do full English breakfast.

We look forward to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Express Poole,



Kind Regards

on behalf of GM

Arun Sharma
Deputy General Manager
Holiday Inn Express
Walking Field Lane
Poole
BH15 1RZ
01202649222
deputy@hiexpoole.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    308
    217
    96
    58
See reviews for
197
307
33
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I really enjoyed our stay. We were in the upgraded rooms. The complementary breakfast was really good. There is also complementary hot drinks machine by the bar. Lovely way to finish an evening. The rooms were spotless. No bath but a lovely large shower. I will definitely stay again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EricBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerPoole, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear EricBristol,

Please accept our sincere gratitude for writing review of our Hotel. It gave us great pleasure to have read your review and more so that you enjoyed your stay with us in one of the upgraded rooms and enjoyed the free breakfast. We would like to mention here that we also give FREE WIFI as a value add on. We do serve complimentary hot drinks as you mentioned, but during breakfast there after it is on a charge. We are glad you loved the large shower room.

We look forward to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Express Poole,



Kind Regards

on behalf of GM

Arun Sharma
Deputy General Manager
Holiday Inn Express
Walking Field Lane
Poole
BH15 1RZ
01202649222
deputy@hiexpoole.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

The hotel is in a very good location. Everything in walking distance, if this isn't your thing thers's a bus station across the road. Hotel it's self was very clean and tidy. The only thing i had a problem with is the air conditioning unit. which kept on making a loud clicking noise threw the night even though the unit was switched off.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul_room1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerPoole, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear paul_room1

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel . We are happy that you liked the location of the Hotel and it proximity to bus station and all attractions. We are pleased to know that you find it clean and tidy. We apologize that air-conditioning unit was noisy I therefore request you to please contact me to enable us to investigate the air-conditioning unit of the room you stayed in to avoid reoccurrence. I look forward to hearing from you

Kind Regards

on behalf of GM

Arun Sharma
Deputy General Manager
Holiday Inn Express
Walking Field Lane
Poole
BH15 1RZ
01202649222
deputy@hiexpoole.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suria
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

You know what you get what you pay for, but probably it is the poorest Holiday Inn I ever stayed. Personnel is kind, lobby and relax area are okay, but the room is not what I am used like in a Holiday Inn. Probably this Holiday Inn needs to be refurbished. Poor wifi connection to slow, if you want more speed you have to buy it, this is ridiculous, this should be free and specially for IHG members

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

You get what you expect from this hotel, although a little pricey for a budget hotel it has an extremely good location close to Poole town centre.
Rooms are a little better than you would expect but the shower lacks any real power
A little fed up having to pay for parking (better to add it onto the price of the rrom than charg extra)

Biggest disappointment was the breakfast , we stayed at the same time as a Dutch running club who cleared out the food as fast as it was put out (which wasn't very fast)
Fortunately the second morning they had left for the day but not much better, dried up sausages ,limp toast etc , needs to be looked at , decent sausages , a little bacon doesn't cost a fortune.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else but again not all bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerPoole, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear alan j,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. It was nice to know you liked our hotel’s location but at the same time we are sorry that you were not happy with breakfast, found room a little pricey and was disappointed with parking charges.

As you mention the breakfast experience was ruined due to another group and for quality of breakfast we are looking for ways to improve our breakfast. We are an Express and can only do hot breakfast and not full English breakfast thus we do not serve Bacon.

Room charges however are driven purely by demand and supply we always believe in delivering value to our Guest through competitive pricing and value add-ons such as Free WIFI and Free Hot Breakfast.

Due to change of hands of parking land we unfortunately have to charge parking for our patrons but it is only on a reasonable cost of £3.00 for 24 hours.

We request you to please give us another chance to show you the improved hotel and its services and look forward to welcome you in future.

Kind Regards

On behalf of GM

Arun Sharma
Deputy General Manager
Holiday Inn Express
Walking Field Lane
Poole
BH15 1RZ
01202649222
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Tripadvisor (you would be crazy not to use it).... in my humble opinion I tend to take most reviews with a pinch of salt but generally go with majority rule. Having read a few bad reviews I was a little concerned about some of the comments. Firstly, the staff were excellent, from check in to check out. My concerns were area's they can improve in the hotel are, double glazing needs renewing, it's noisy and draughty. The shower pressure is a little low ,I had to run around to get wet. The beds are a little small for doubles and the breakfast menu needs looking at, NO BACON ! ! ! What's that all about ?. All in all small things that can easily be remedied .One other thing, Paying for your parking is a bit cheeky when you've just paid £140 for 2 nights and your bar prices are a bit on the steep side ...

Room Tip: pick a room at the back on the 2nd or 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerPoole, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Brian B,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. It was nice to know your liked our hotel’s staff and they were friendly throughout. We have taken your constructive and encouraging feedback on board and are sorry to realize that we have not done enough to please you on this occasion as your room was noisy and draughty, shower pressure was low, small bed, parking charge and breakfast.

We are looking to investing in our rooms and hotel and taken your points on board. We are also improving on our breakfast as we go but we are an Express and can only do hot breakfast and not full English breakfast thus we do not serve Bacon but we always deliver value to our guest with free add-ons such as WIFI and Hot Breakfast.

Due to change of hands of parking land we unfortunately have to charge parking for our patrons but it is only on a reasonable cost of £3.00 for 24 hours.

We request you to please give us another chance to show you the improved hotel and its services and look forward to welcome you in future.

Kind Regards

On behalf of GM

Arun Sharma
Deputy General Manager
Holiday Inn Express
Walking Field Lane
Poole
BH15 1RZ
01202649222
deputy@hiexpoole.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

The M3 was closed... it doesn't help an evening run from London to Poole. After being in a car park... well at least, unlike the hotel, they don't charge...for 5 hours, I arrived with a "where is the bed, let me sleep attitude...

When I got into the room there was a musty smell, which seemed familiar.... at home it sometimes comes up through the drains, and just some running water and a squirt of bleach resolves it...so I opened the window and was oblivious to the world.... if a little chilly.

It was only when I was unpacking my bag at home the next day that I realised that my dirty shirt had taken on the smell, that I wondered if I had spent the whole day with a whiff of bag lady about me....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmw26_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerPoole, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Dmw26_12

We thank you for taking time to review and sharing your experience. We sincerely appologise that you did not have a pleasant journey to us due to closure of M3 and that set you down for the stay with us unfortunately the odour and general room ambience did not help. We encourage our guest to let us know any problem experience at their earliest as it help us to do a speedy service recovery and also allow us to initiate timely investigation of the complaint.

Please do contact me to discuss this inconvenience further.

I look forward to hearing from you

Kind Regards

on behalf of GM

Arun Sharma
Deputy General Manager
Holiday Inn Express
Walking Field Lane
Poole
BH15 1RZ
01202649222
deputy@hiexpoole.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
0.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Poole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Poole

Property: Holiday Inn Express Poole
Address: Walking Field Lane, Poole BH15 1RZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Poole 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Poole. Simply Great Poole Town Centre Hotel ; NOW OFFERING FREE WI-FI. The town centre location of our hotel in Poole, just minutes from the award-winning golden sandy beaches of Sandbanks, quayside walks, the ferry to Brownsea Island, and the Channel Islands and beyond to France, means whatever your reasons for staying with us, be there for business or pleasure, convenience must be among them.The warmth of the welcome you will receive from our friendly staff will be matched by the cosy comfort of our rooms, all of which are spacious, finished in a contemporary style, and come with complimentary Wi-Fi access and a hearty breakfast each morning. Double, Twin, and Executive rooms are available, and if you have accessibility needs we would advise booking a DDA-approved room as far in advance as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Poole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Poole Hotel Poole
Poole Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Poole
Holiday Inn Express Poole Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing