We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Poole
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Poole
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top of the class”
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed here,excellent value for money,very clean ,good breakfast, another good holiday inn.would definatly return,when I'm travelling back to Poole, it's close proximity to shops and bars is an added bonus.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank townleyletchworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerPoole, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear townleyletchworth,

We thank you for taking time to review of your stay at Holiday Inn Express Poole and are pleased to read that you had excellent value for your money, find the hotel clean, enjoyed your breakfast. As you mention we have an envious location in Poole.

Once again thank you for leaving your feedback and we look forward to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Express Poole.

On behalf of GM

Kind regards
Arun Sharma
Deputy General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Poole,
Walking Field Lane Poole,
BH15 1RZ
Tel 01202649222
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    316
    225
    99
    59
See reviews for
202
317
35
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Set just off the main road, you do get slight traffic noise if on the road facing side as i was, one of my pet hates is paying for parking at hotels, £3 a night here, you are issued a pass that you have to go back out into the car park and put in your vehicle, there is free easily accessible WIFI but it is only good for access emails, you will need to purchase a voucher to increase the speed.
Staff were very friendly, good quick check in, but slow check out, would prefer an emailed bill to speed this up as you pay when you check in.
I booked a superior room, a little on the small side, but very clean, some of the free view channels were not working on the TV think it needed retuning or something.
Good functional bathroom with walk-in shower, there is a restaurant on site with a reasonable limited menu if you want to eat onsite, if you want to go off site you will need to catch a taxi as there is now easy/safe way to reach the town centre by foot.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Capt666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerPoole, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Capt666,

We thank you for taking time to review of your stay at Holiday Inn Express Poole; we take all feedback seriously and positively as it helps us to improve. We are happy that you find our rooms of good value for your money and also taken on board your mention about car parking charges, slow checkout, and TV tuning problem. regarding the menu we also do specials for the dinner if you do not like the options on the Menu. We shared your feedback with the team and look to improve upon.

Once again thank you for leaving your feedback. We look forward to hear from you and welcome you back to Holiday Inn Express Poole.

On behalf of GM

Kind regards
Arun Sharma
Deputy General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Poole,
Walking Field Lane Poole,
BH15 1RZ
Tel 01202649222
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Spent 3 days at this hotel and found the services, rooms and the staff in particular very helpful and attentive. first class. Great value and would return again.
Also a good position for access by foot to Pooles amenities

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isitworthatry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerPoole, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear isitworthatry,

We thank you for taking time to review of your stay at Holiday Inn Express Poole and are pleased to read that you reckon we are a Good place to stay . We are pleased to know that you find our staff helpful and attentive .

Once again thank you for leaving your feedback and we look forward to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Express Poole.

On behalf of GM

Kind regards
Arun Sharma
Deputy General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Poole,
Walking Field Lane Poole,
BH15 1RZ
Tel 01202649222
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed for two nights last weekend and it was reasonable. We had to wait in reception to be booked in as the receptionist was out the back on his mobile phone. When he did turn up he was apologetic and polite to the point of being nauseating. We had a second floor room which was okay but if you like a firm bed then this is not the hotel for you! The breakfast is described as continental and we found in satisfactory although the coffee was 'orrible. On the second evening, as the weather was pants, we eat in the bar. This is a reasonable environment but the food is not great but served it's purpose. Alcoholic drinks were too expensive for the surroundings.
Overall the venue was functional and we had a decent weekend. The jury is out whether we would choose a Holiday Inn Express again

Room Tip: The hotel is near a train line but this didn't bother us at all. You could request a room furthe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GordonBeasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerPoole, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear GordonBeasley,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with Holiday Inn Express Poole. We take all feedback seriously and constructively as they help us to improve upon. We are realize that you had a reasonable weekend and are also sorry that we fall short your expectation on some instances during your stay, especially using mobile phone. We have taken your points on board and can assure you will find improvement in your next stay.

Once again thank you for leaving your feedback and please contact me directly if you wish to discuss this stay. We look forward to hear from you and hopefully welcome you back to Holiday Inn Express Poole.

On behalf of GM

Kind regards
Arun Sharma
Deputy General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Poole,
Walking Field Lane Poole,
BH15 1RZ
Tel 01202649222
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The third floor rooms are excellent - decent furniture, good bed and a good clean bathroom. Shame about the bath towels - they must be intended for 7 year olds!

The Reception area is another matter. The lounge seating looks slick and contemporary but it is amongst the most uncomfortable that I have ever sat upon. The bar stools too look cool but are very uncomfortable. The steel back support bars have four sharp edges. You could shave on them. They are a safety hazard.

Breakfasts are decidedly poor. There is a lack of choice and the quality of ingredients are low. The sausages must be the lowest cost sausages available. Do they contain any meat? They are absolutely awful. As an experiment, I brought one home for my Dog. It refused to eat it! I agree with my Dog!

Room Tip: Third Floor is best - the rooms have been refurbished recently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerPoole, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear George S,

We thank you for taking time to review of your stay at Holiday Inn Express Poole, we take all feedback seriously and positively as it helps us to improve. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectation on this occasion and you did not enjoy your stay, we have shared your feedback and with the team and discussed the scope for improvement. We are continuously looking to improve upon our breakfast and also taken your points on board, about Bar stool and bath towel. Although the above you like the room and general ambiance of the reception area.

Once again thank you for leaving your feedback and please contact me directly to enable us to work towards an appropriate service recovery. We look forward to hear from you and hopefully welcome you back to Holiday Inn Express Poole.

On behalf of GM

Kind regards
Arun Sharma
Deputy General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Poole,
Walking Field Lane Poole,
BH15 1RZ
Tel 01202649222
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

It was only after reserving, paying, and booking in that I was informed that the hotel's wifi is only suitable for "light surfing". In other words, painfully slow. If you need the internet for business or entertainment, you might want to look elsewhere.

The staff are ok, mostly. The desk staff are frequently absent and if there are people gathering at the reception, other passing staff ignore them and make no attempt to greet or help.

The reception/foyer/restaurant area is bleak and gloomy, and this is made worse by the free distribution of the Independent, possibly the most boring newspaper in Europe.

Breakfast itself is tolerable though let down by strange, rubbery hash browns, absence of full cream milk, watery fruit juice, and the general gloomy atmosphere noted above.

My room had been half-heartedly freshened up (acrid smell of paint, new carpet) but they stopped short of repairing the finish on the furniture (which is good quality lightwood, dated but pleasant) or re-covering the horrible looking stained couch which looked so unsavoury I avoided sitting on it.

Bathroom: Not the highest pressure shower but quite OK. Large shower tray but very slow draining so you end up wading around in grey water which I find a bit distasteful. The hand wash dispenser shoots the detergent straight out and can get on your clothing or could easily get in a child's or petite person's eyes, not nice.

I must give full marks for the very comfortable bed, which had a good sprung mattress on a proper sprung base.

Slightly unloved atmospere overall. Room for improvement.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianmoUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerPoole, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear ianmoUK,

We thank you for taking time to review of your stay at Holiday Inn Express Poole, we take all feedback seriously and positively as it helps us to improve upon our product and services. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectation on this instant and you did not enjoy your stay, we have shared your feedback and with the team and discussed the scope for improvement especially your feedback about staff not greeting and ignoring if reception is busy. We also have high speed internet if you wish to use at a small extra charge. We have refurbished the rooms as you mentioned and taken the note of the couch. We are continuously looking to improve upon our breakfast and also taken your points on board, about water pressure, shower drainage and soap dispensers. It was a consolation that you liked your bed.

Once again thank you for leaving your feedback and please contact me directly so we can discuss the discomfort during and your stay and an appropriate service recovery can be done.
We look forward to hear from you and hopefully welcome you back to Holiday Inn Express Poole.

On behalf of GM

Kind regards
Arun Sharma
Deputy General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Poole,
Walking Field Lane Poole,
BH15 1RZ
Tel 01202649222
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wemyss Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Due to work committments we are currently staying 4 nights per week in Holiday Inn Express Poole , I must compliment the manager and every member of staff there as they are always helpful courteous and nothing is ever too much trouble- customer service is first class.

Location is good as close to town and transport links but also far away to be quiet.
Breakfast has a good selection and bar food is great and varied.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel as you will not be disappointed.
Great Value, Great Service, Great Rooms, Great Location and Great Staff- well done HIE Poole

Room Tip: Free Wi-Fi in all rooms, and rooms well equipped and spotless- very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerPoole, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear suzzane H,

We thank you for taking time to review of your stay at Holiday Inn Express Poole and are pleased to read compliments to Manager and all staff, As you mention we have an envious location in Poole. We are delighted to read that you like our Breakfast choices and Bar, moreso because you deemed that every thing in Holiday Inn Express, Poole is Great. We shared your feedback with our team they return thanks

Once again thank you for leaving your feedback and we look forward to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Express Poole.

On behalf of GM

Kind regards
Arun Sharma
Deputy General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Poole,
Walking Field Lane Poole,
BH15 1RZ
Tel 01202649222
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
0.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
876 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,664 reviews
2.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Poole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Poole

Property: Holiday Inn Express Poole
Address: Walking Field Lane, Poole BH15 1RZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Poole 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Poole. Simply Great Poole Town Centre Hotel ; NOW OFFERING FREE WI-FI. The town centre location of our hotel in Poole, just minutes from the award-winning golden sandy beaches of Sandbanks, quayside walks, the ferry to Brownsea Island, and the Channel Islands and beyond to France, means whatever your reasons for staying with us, be there for business or pleasure, convenience must be among them.The warmth of the welcome you will receive from our friendly staff will be matched by the cosy comfort of our rooms, all of which are spacious, finished in a contemporary style, and come with complimentary Wi-Fi access and a hearty breakfast each morning. Double, Twin, and Executive rooms are available, and if you have accessibility needs we would advise booking a DDA-approved room as far in advance as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Poole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Poole Hotel Poole
Poole Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Poole
Holiday Inn Express Poole Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing