We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Poole
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Poole
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Basic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed for 1 night. The staff were help and its location gives good access to the town and Quay. The room was basic and there was a stain on the carpet and its towels are coming to the end of their life. The food was also basic. There is a car park but is charged for.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerPoole, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Andrew P


Thank you very much for taking the time to post your recent review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you have found our staff helpful and location good.

Please accept my apologies for any problems encountered during your stay; rest assured this is not normal practice. Please contact me direct on gm@hiexpoole.co.uk if you wish to discuss the problems further.

Kind Regards

Abi Gupta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    308
    218
    96
    58
See reviews for
197
307
33
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Slough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Very clean rooms + breakfast very nice. When we asked to change our room there was no problem. We also love the location of the hotel very suitable to get everywhere we wanted.
Staff were very helpfull and polite especially Kamil.
Would definitely stay again :)!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kuba1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerPoole, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear kuba1995

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your recent review on Trip Advisor.

I would like to thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel staff particularly Kamil; we are glad he was helpful during your stay and that you found our rooms clean and location good.

We are delighted that you continue to choose our hotel chain and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.


Kind Regards

Abi Gupta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
158 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

We just needed a room for the night and this was alright, but not super! We were upgraded as they had not prepared the sofa bed for our son in time. Apparently the room was supposed to be superior, which it absolutely wasn't. Fair enough, we did not pay anything extra for it. Otherwise I would have been disappointed. Room had TV, coffee maker and free wifi. Complimentary breakfast was alright. Only major minus is that the parking overnight costs a whopping 3 pounds, which is outrageous! The hotel is nowhere near anything interesting, so most guests will arrive by car. This should be free of charge!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anders J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerPoole, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Anders J

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review on Trip advisor. We highly value all opinions and comments from our guest as this allows us to constantly improve our service.

Thank you for your comments regarding the rooms, we apologies if you felt these weren’t up to standard.
We have recently had a new company take over our car park and so charges now apply.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind Regards

Abi Gupta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

I stayed here for 1 night with my sister and my friend as we were in Poole for a speedway event.
The hotel room was clean and comfy, and the staff behind reception were friendly enough.
The negatives were the fact that I had to pay £3 for parking in addition to spending £90 for the room! Also the breakfast was a good selection if you wanted a continental theme as there was plenty of choice-ie, fruit, yogurts, cereals, croissants etc.....but if you fancied a hot breakfast all there was on offer were sausages, beans and scrambled egg which you just helped yourself to. There were no hash browns of mushrooms as mentioned.
I would actually stay here again to be fair but can't see me travelling down again for a speedway meeting lol-can't say that I actually found the Poole pirates 'locals' all that friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindylouu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerPoole, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Lindylouu,

Thank you for your feedback we appreciate all feedback as they help us to improve our products and services. It was indeed pleasure to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and would stay with us again.

We are sorry that we did not meet your expectation in choices of hot breakfast we follow Ihg brand standard and thus the choice was limited and £3.00 parking charge is is actually a discounted rate, however, please contact me directly if you wish to discuss your further at deputy@hiexpoole.co.uk.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Express, Poole.


On behalf of GM

Kind regards
Arun Sharma
Deputy General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Poole,
Walking Field Lane Poole,
BH15 1RZ
Tel 01202649222
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stayed here for one night whilst attending an event in Poole. I'd chosen this hotel as it was walking distance to the event we attended - wasn't disappointed there - a ten minute walk to Poole Stadium.

There doesn't seem to be a huge choice of hotels in central Poole, and I'd not normally book a 'budget' type hotel - but was very pleased with the standard and cleanliness of the rooms and public areas. Facilities are basic I guess, but all quite modern and the rooms a decent size.

Friendly staff checked us in efficiently and we were made to feel welcome. I guess the only odd thing is the check-in staff running the bar. Occasionally had to wait a while for drinks whilst they performed check-in - but really not a huge issue.

Some reviews mention problems with breakfast... Well it is basic and not a huge choice - but it was a whole lot better than the breakfast I was once served in another 'budget' hotel chain.

Plenty of onsite parking, so we had no problems parking.

Overall - for what you pay - I think it is very good value and would not hesitate in recommending it or staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerPoole, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Martin P,

Thank you for your feedback we appreciate all feedback as they help us to improve our products and services. It was indeed pleasure to read that overall you enjoyed your stay found a value propostion to stay with us and had no complaints.

We are also happy that you find location suited for your purpose. With regards to check in staff running bar, we also have a GSM on shift to assist them during busy hours. We are happy you find staff friendly the facilities though basic but modern and rooms decent size. We as you mentioned also have ample parking space.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Express, Poole.


On behalf of GM

Kind regards
Arun Sharma
Deputy General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Poole,
Walking Field Lane Poole,
BH15 1RZ
Tel 01202649222
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston Super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stayed here for just 1 night, room was light and airy, nice to be able to open the windows. Breakfast was very good and in with room price.
Only problem we had was the water only trickled out of the tap, (not enough to clean your teeth even), water in the shower was the same and cold. Did report it but nothing changed.
The picture on the wall in the room was upside down, we did tell them thought it was funny and sent someone from house keeping to look. Wondered how long it had been like that!!!!

Room Tip: our room was on the front, we found it very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 500sheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerPoole, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear 500sheila,

Thank you for your feedback. We were pleased to read read that overall found value for your money and you enjoyed your stay with Holiday Inn Express Poole

We are also happy that you find your room airy, and well lit. You also enjoyed our free breakfast. We apologize with regards to water pressure and picture on the wall. Please contact me directly on deputy@hiexpoole.co.uk if you wish to discuss this further.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Express, Poole.


On behalf of GM

Kind regards
Arun Sharma
Deputy General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Poole,
Walking Field Lane Poole,
BH15 1RZ
Tel 01202649222
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

The overall cleanliness and decor was up to usual standards, with comfortable rooms and beds.
However, the staff were inept, there was no atmosphere and the breakfast quality and choice was unacceptable. The location was landlocked by busy main roads and the walk to the quay and back was unpleasant. I will not be returning to this hotel and would recommend others to avoid it in preference of the competition.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobby s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerPoole, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poole, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear booby s

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your recent review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you have found our rooms clean and comfortable.

Please accept my apologies for any problems encountered during your stay; rest assured this is not normal practice. Please contact me direct on gm@hiexpoole.co.uk to discuss the problems further.

Kind Regards

Abi Gupta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Poole hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
0.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Poole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Poole

Property: Holiday Inn Express Poole
Address: Walking Field Lane, Poole BH15 1RZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Poole 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Poole. Simply Great Poole Town Centre Hotel ; NOW OFFERING FREE WI-FI. The town centre location of our hotel in Poole, just minutes from the award-winning golden sandy beaches of Sandbanks, quayside walks, the ferry to Brownsea Island, and the Channel Islands and beyond to France, means whatever your reasons for staying with us, be there for business or pleasure, convenience must be among them.The warmth of the welcome you will receive from our friendly staff will be matched by the cosy comfort of our rooms, all of which are spacious, finished in a contemporary style, and come with complimentary Wi-Fi access and a hearty breakfast each morning. Double, Twin, and Executive rooms are available, and if you have accessibility needs we would advise booking a DDA-approved room as far in advance as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Poole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Poole Hotel Poole
Poole Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Poole
Holiday Inn Express Poole Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing