We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two night Stay -”
Review of Thistle Poole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thistle Poole
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Two night Stay -”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Stayed Friday and Saturday night on a weekend which was very sunny. Hotel's location excellent - right on the quay and good parking (although had to pay £5 per night). It could be possible that you buy a ticket before checking-in - This is not necessary as it's all done electroniclally in reception - presumably they could adjust any overpayment from the ticket machine at that stage.
We were on the ground floor, which was facing the quay with good views. also very handy to keep returning with shopping etc.. Only problem was that there were outside tables and chairs just outside the window so we felt we had to leave the window closed when the Wedding party had their drinks outside! Otherwise fine as we were out all day.We didn't take dinner or lunch but the breakfast was fine - full choice.
We had a long line of Classic cars on outside on Friday evening - very nice. Bikers come, too apparently.
Room was a little tired but beds were comfy.
Conclusion - good location, food and cheerful staff, bedrooms need an upgrade.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianBStoke_on_Trent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear BrianBstoke_on_
Thank you for taking time to write a review - I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.

I am sorry that you were slightly inconvenienced by the wedding drinks out on the lawn. We try to make sure that the drinks are kept for a set period on the lawn during the afternoon and also that the net curtains stop anyone being able to look in.

I hope we can welcome you back to our friendly staff and comfy beds soon!.

Kind regards
Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    293
    196
    95
    52
See reviews for
129
426
26
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I appreciaite this is a modest hotel and pretty much what you expect, what stood out for me were the staff. I spent two days in the hotel on a course and used a bedroom. The staff could not have been more helpful, polite and accomidation and so I wanted to give them a good mention.

I did not use the restaurant as we ate out so can not offer any feedback on that ( forgive the pun)

Its a great location for a hotel if you want to explore the Quay and harbour as well as not too far from all the shops., if your from out of town visit Browsea Island, I love it there.

The bedroom was comfy and adequate although I thought the room rate a little high in comparrison. Whislt I was there there was a problem that needed to be sorted out which was dealt with impecably by the management as well as the staff.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel has harbour views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2012

My daughter and 5 year old granddaughter joined me for afternoon tea this afternoon and we could not fault it.
When we arrived we were not sure about the car parking (i.e. did we have to pay) but the receptionist was very helpful and explained that we did not need to pay.
We were greeted in the restaurant by a lovely waitress who clearly enjoys her job. I am only sorry I did not think to ask her for her name as she is a credit to this establishment. She was attentive without being a nuisance. The tea was lovely and the views across the harbour from the restaurant just added to the enjoyment.
I agree with some comments on here that the interior decor and furnishings may be rather dated, but everything is in very good condition and spotlessly clean. I would rather eat in somewhere like this with excellent staff than be in an ultra modern restaurant where the staff are about as much use as plastic dolls!
We will definitely be going back to Thistle Hotel in Poole.
Thank-you

Room Tip: Unable to rate rooms etc as we had afternoon tea only
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappywalkerPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear HappyWalkerPoole

Thank you for your kind comments - it is great that your family enjoyed afternoon tea at the Hotel.
We take great effort to ensure that we employ staff with friendly personalities rather than plastic dolls! I will get the Restaurant Manager to ascertain who the person is and nominate them for employee of the month.

I hope that we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards
Craig Findleton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012 via mobile

From checking in, to checking out, everything was perfect. Even though the weather was poor, the staff remained cheerful. Breakfast is a must!

Stayed June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear Suzanne019

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Although there was not much we can do about the weather it is great to see that you enjoyed your stay.

I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Craig Findleton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

Tired room. Great views. Decent breakfast. Woken at 1.30am by somone else in the room. Seems someone had been given my room too! Took ages to explain this to reception who offered no apology or explaination. Travel to Poole on business often. Will not stay here again

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveOu812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear SteveOu812
I am very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay and were woken up. Please be assured that this is not a normal occurrence and I would like to ensure that this does not happen again. I would appreciate if you can contact myself directly at the hotel so that I can personally look into what happened.

Kind regards
Craig Findleton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Poole hotels

Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012 via mobile

Booked twin on 2 seperate nights, got doubles. Complained when we got to the room and found them to be very small doubles, twin rooms (as booked) were then found after a short delay.
Far to expensive to use Wi-Fi so not able to check emails etc.
Very good food, excellent service at dinner.
Cold bathrooms as towel rail not working, reception advised system being worked on. Car park charges were an unpleasant surprise for overnight stays.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank archie481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear Archie481
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and provide feedback. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed the dinner.

We have just created a loyalty programme called Signature which allows members to have access to a free wifi allowance each night of their stay. I have passed your comments onto reception as this should have been mentioned when prices were discussed. I am sorry that you were not made aware of the carpark charges. We carry out regular checks on our competitors to ensure that the prices are comparable with other Hotels and advertise the rates on both our website and all websites that we sell rooms on. I am sorry that this was not detected at the time of the booking being made.

Thank you once again for your feedback and I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reading, england
Level Contributor
89 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

the hotel, has a great location, rooms overlooking the harbour, its worth the extra payment,rooms are okay, great walks, food very good, car parking is payable,£5 per night. staff were friendly, and efficient.
great pubs on the seafront" lord Nelson" and a jd wetherspoon, for cheap beer, and food

Room Tip: get a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carmine69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Carmine69
It's great to read that you have had an enjoyable stay at the Hotel. We do have great views and you are right about the great walks close by.
I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,145 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
1,446 reviews
0.5 mi away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Poole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Poole

Property: Thistle Poole
Address: The Quay, Poole BH15 1HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle Poole 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poole is a friendly, easy-going town, with its traditional Quay still very much at its heart. And that’s where you’ll find Thistle Poole, offering superb views over one of the world’s largest natural harbours, Brownsea Island and the Purbeck hills beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Thistle Poole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Poole Hotel Poole
Thistle Hotel Poole
Poole Thistle Hotel
Thistle Poole Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing