We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Carvery”
Review of Thistle Poole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thistle Poole
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sunday Carvery”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Having not yet eaten at this Hotel & out for a Sunday stroll along the quay, myself & my wife decided at short notice to see how the carvery favours here vs other locations we've eaten at.

We do tend to set our expectations high, expecting a good level of authentically friendly service followed up with satisfyingly quality prepared cuisine for our money.

We got everything here, friendly staff & lovely food. The view across the water really topped off this Sunday feast & we left 90 minutes later fully satisfied, ready to go home & relax.

Many thanks, we'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotty211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Thank you for kind review, Scotty211. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our hospitality and I have passed on your kind comments to the team.
Kind regards
The Thistle Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    293
    196
    95
    52
See reviews for
129
426
26
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LondonWagner
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed there last weekend, the weather was horrid for the time of year, so even the great location this hotel is in didn't compensate for British weather.
Hotel is right at the seafront, there is ample parking and the staff, reception as well as breakfast service is exceptionally good. But that is unfortunately where it ends. The room faced the car park, is had a very unpleasant damp old smell to it and it could have been cleaner. Saying that, the size was not bed and all was in working order.
The 'public' toilet, next to reception, wasn't very clean at all. Staff on the other hand was GREAT!
At the breakfast bar the oranges started fermenting and the orange juice tasted 'off'! The coffee was truly disgusting. The cooked breakfast on the other hand was very good. We were receiving lovely service at breakfast though, very friendly and really felt looked after.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonWagnerWagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Thank you for your time writing your review LondonWagnerW..., I am sorry to hear that you found our toilets not cleaned as you expected. I have addressed this issue with the team and have taken your valid comment very seriously. We are committed to serve fresh and healthy food and I have not come across the raised issues before. I have spoken with the kitchen & breakfast team to ensure this does not happen again. Please feel free to contact me direct would you like to book another stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We were late booking but still managed to get a good deal which included dinner each night. However because of late booking only managed to get a room with a double bed and unlike some hotels that have large doubles this wasn't so if you are tall like us and used to a big bed do go for the twin option if it is either or as not the best night's sleep. However saying that have harbour views from our room which is nice. Hotel is quiet although seems full. We ate in for the evening meal and the menu has been superb stuck for choice and been beautifully cooked. Breakfasts like most hotels now is buffet style but again couldn't fault the food. Parking £5 a night and plenty of spaces so not bad. Only thing wrong was the weather very windy but you can't fault the hotel for that!

Room Tip: Can ask for harbour view, although these are a bit better if on first floor and not ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail Geoff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Gail Geoff L, thank you for your great review. We are all pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I will pass on your kind comments to all relevant departments.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Colborne, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed in Poole for 3 nights. The hotel seemed old and smelled musty. Of course being just across from the ocean it would be musty etc. I agree with LovelyDorset the hotel was dated. On the 2nd floor which was very nice. We seemed to run out of water when it came to flushing!!! Great buffet and staff very nice. Our breakfast was a perk. We had just left Exeter and now in Poole and next on our way to Brighton. Weather nothing great to speak of (May). Gray and depressing. The light bulbs don't seemed to get replaced too often. Great Pubs on the water.

Room Tip: Does not matter where you stayed in any of the Thistle Hotels the A/C were noisy!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Dear Joyce L, thank you for your time writing your review. We are constantly updating our rooms and public areas. We hope by the end of this year we will have all rooms re-painted and updated.
Best regards form sunny Poole.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2013

What was initially a nightmare situation was turned around due to staff at the Thistle Hotel on Poole Quay. Some 50 guests were awaiting a coach to take them to my daughter's wedding in nearby Wimborne on a busy Saturday morning. A complete letdown by the coach company concerned (lets not go there!!) was cured within half an hour by the reception staff at the Thistle who organised a fleet of taxis to transport all the guests. Top service indeed. Highly recommended hotel as far as I am concerned.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Colin3103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Dear Colin3103,
Thank you for your kind words. We are glad to be able to help and your doughter's wedding went well. I will let everyone at reception know that you said about them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I stayed here with a group of friends as part of a hen do. The hotel is in a great location, right on Poole Quay so if you have a room facing the water and boats, the views are lovely. The service on reception was standard and the room and hotel areas were clean. I stayed in a ground floor room facing the car park and felt the soft furnishings, furniture and bathroom were dated. As it was only for one night and I wasn't going to be in there long, I didn't mind.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovelyDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Thank you for your review LovelyDorset. We are constantly updating our rooms and public areas and hope we will have everything looking a bit better by the end of the year. We are glad that you enjoyed the Hen Party and looking forward to welcom you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

very nice hotel in fab location on Poole Quay. Stunning views. Hotel room comfortable & well equipped with Freeview and the usual tea/coffee. Hotel clean and well decorated. Staff friendly, accommodating and efficient. Food nice but a little expensive. Only stayed one night but woul happily recommend.

Room Tip: front rooms more expensive but view fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Phyzipop2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thank you for your great review, Phyzipop2. We are trying very hard to make our guests stay as comfortable as possible and I am pleased we achieved that. I will pass on your kind words on to all relevant departments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,143 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
1,444 reviews
0.5 mi away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Poole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Poole

Property: Thistle Poole
Address: The Quay, Poole BH15 1HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle Poole 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poole is a friendly, easy-going town, with its traditional Quay still very much at its heart. And that’s where you’ll find Thistle Poole, offering superb views over one of the world’s largest natural harbours, Brownsea Island and the Purbeck hills beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Thistle Poole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Poole Hotel Poole
Thistle Hotel Poole
Poole Thistle Hotel
Thistle Poole Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing