We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location for harbour views”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Thistle Poole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thistle Poole
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic location for harbour views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

We have stayed at the Thistle about 4 times now and the hotel has a glorious location literally 5 meters form the harbour front. The staff are always helpful, the rooms are comfortable but compact. I did discover this time though that some sea view rooms have king beds and are bigger (but this seems to be a secret) so I will definitely request one of those next time. Breakfast is always the biggest disappointment but it is in many hotels these days.
Overall a god hotel with views to die for

Room Tip: See view is mandatory
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikey0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you, MikeyO, for your great review. Our location is truly fantastic, overlooking a working fishermen’s harbour and Brownsea Island. Please feel free to get in touch with me for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    286
    190
    93
    52
See reviews for
127
412
24
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel while visiting the folk festival in Poole. We were very impressed with the location (the Thistle, as it is being nestled right beside the beautiful Poole Quay). Plenty of lovely little pubs and eateries nearby, but we found it was just as pleasant to eat at the hotel and enjoy the food and splendid sunsets over the waves from the upstairs dining area. We were also lucky enought to meet the lovely Austrian manager of the hotel whose warm hospitality and culture made us feel very welcome. In fact we found it hard to leave, as the rooms were very comfy indeed. A real gem, and at excellent prices too. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mino7477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear mino7477, thank you for your great review. It has been a real pleasure meeting you and hope to see you again. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel Islands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

A group of 5 of us stayed here after arriving late from Guernsey on Condor. Check-in took a long time as a fair few people had arrived at the same time. Even though I had already paid, they wanted to pre authorise my credit card. I told reception I had already paid, be they said that it had to be done. The person before us in the queue also queried this. I didn't think anything more of it until we checked out in the morning. The lady on reception tried to charge me again. She saw that he had pre-authorised so assumed we hadn't paid yet. After me being adamant that we had already paid, she checked the system and saw that we had.

The rooms were fine for one night and the location is ideal for the harbour. At checkout we asked reception to book us a 5 person taxi with enough room for 5 suitcases. This taxi arrived but the guy didn't know anything about the bags and nearly didn't take us as there wasn't enough room.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweety_pie_7474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you for your time writing your review, Sweety_pie_7474. I am sorry to hear about the confusion about the payment and pre-authorisation of your credit card. I have taken your feedback very seriously and spoken to team members involved. Further training is taking place and please except my apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

This is the second time we visited this hotel, bringing our grandchildren aged 4 and 3. We paid extra for a harbour facing room. The view and location of the hotel, at the end of the quay, are great. The hotel furnishings are a little tired. Our room was on the second floor. We found the (small) double bed a little too firm. Last year we were on the first floor. The room there was bigger as was the bed.
Used complimentary toiletry bottles had been left in the bathroom and my wife used the female toilets in Reception, she said they were in need of a clean.
Unfortunately, there is noise from the port, particularly a 24/7 droning of heavy machinery, which made getting to sleep more difficult.

We will come again, because of the view and position. The children loved looking at the boats!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view, suggest you ask for first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCLIFF_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear DCLIFF_55. Thank you for providing me with your feedback. I am sorry to hear that your stay, this time round, wasn't as enjoyable as we would have liked. Sizes of rooms do vary, but there is no excuse for the complimentary toiletry bottles not to be replenished. Please feel free to get in touch with me directly for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Just stayed for one night before catching the ferry. Very impressed. Staff polite and friendly. Midday checkout was really convenient for us. A leisurely breakfast and walk along the front before leaving. Would recommend this hotel and will certainly be staying there again.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and got one. I was not concerned about a sea view, just wanted a good night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howardofwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time writing your great review, HowardofWales. I have passed on your kind words to all relevant departments and looking forward welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

very good hotel staff very friendly & helpful the hotel was very clean & nothing was a problem the breakfast was very good plenty to choose from the evening meal was very good i would recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: book a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you for your kind review Andy L. We are pleased that you and your golf friends enjoyed your stay here with us. Please see us again for another round of golf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingswinford
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

we've stayed at this hotel many times. and can honestly say it's superb,
location is excellent . staff very friendly it's worth the extra for a room with a view.
we're going again in three weeks . gill and steve west mids

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear steve6868,
thank you for your great review and we are looking foward to see you again in about three weeks time. Please drop me a line and I will make sure a sea view room is available to you.
Thank you again - the Thistle Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
2.5 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Poole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Poole

Property: Thistle Poole
Address: The Quay, Poole BH15 1HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle Poole 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poole is a friendly, easy-going town, with its traditional Quay still very much at its heart. And that’s where you’ll find Thistle Poole, offering superb views over one of the world’s largest natural harbours, Brownsea Island and the Purbeck hills beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle Poole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Poole Hotel Poole
Thistle Hotel Poole
Poole Thistle Hotel
Thistle Poole Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing