We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Thistle Poole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thistle Poole
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Hornchurch, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Have just come back from 2 nights at the thistle hotel poole
excellent service from the onset
Nothing else could have been done for us
The staff all so pleasant and polite very helpful especially Meg
Our daughter organised wine and chocolates and a room upgrade which made it a perfect 25th Anniversary
Will be coming here again
Have stayed in a much more expensive hotel in Poole but would say this was far superior and a fraction of the cost.
Had bed and breakfast excellent choice perfect view from the restaurant too
Wonderful

Room Tip: Room 212 perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridgette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear Bridgette H,
Thank you for your kind comments in your review. I am pleased we were able to offer you everything to enjoy your anniversary here in Poole. I have passed on your comments to the relevant departments, and of course Meg. We would very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    285
    189
    93
    52
See reviews for
126
411
24
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

I had arranged a surprise 30th Birthday for my husband in the Beautiful Jolliffe Suite on the ground floor. I had so much help with the organization of the party from Sarah in the Meetings & Events department before the party and on the night its self. I had been planning this party for 3 months, down to even asking the lovely receptionist Lesley to get in on the surprise and help me throw my husband of the scent of any party being arranged. I even had Sarah blowing balloons for an hour before the party. Finally the surprise took place and was perfect!!! The food was incredible and all the staff behind the bar were great, even though they had to deal with a few drunk ones :) Everything was perfect, Thank you to all staff for a wonderful evening

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dayna Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Dear Dayna Z,
Thank you for your kind comments on tripadvisor. I am so pleased we were able to assist you in celebrating your husbands 30th birthday, and were able to give him the surprise you had intended! I have passed on your comments to the relevants teams and staff mentioned.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed over night to celebrate our anniversary. The receptionist gave us such a warm and friendly welcome. Nothing was too much trouble, she even sent up an ice bucket and some glasses for our fizz even though we had bought it with us! The view of the harbour from our room was beautiful. The room was lovely and clean. We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant and the chef made me a lovely prawn salad (even though it wasn't strictly on the menu) and my husband's Singapore noodles were excellent. A lovely nights sleep - sea gulls not too noisy. Great breakfast - all lovely and fresh. All at a very reasonable price and we even got a little box of truffles to wish us a happy anniversary. All in all excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms with harbour view are def worth that little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ju B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Dear Ju B,
Thank you for your kind comments in your review, and I have passed on your comments to the relevant departments. I am pleased we were able to make your anniversary a little bit more special, and you enjoyed your stay in Poole.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

This must of been a lovely hotel once upon a time. Location is excellent. Views from the breakfast room were amazing. The rooms are in urgent need of updating. Frayed curtains. Stained carpets. Old furniture. But it was very clean. Nice touch was having complementary spring water. So many 4/5 star hotels miss this. You can also help yourself to an apple at reception. Breakfast was great. The waiting staff was very attentive. Would stay here again once the rooms have been updated.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Dear EricBristol,
Thank you for your review, I have passed on your kind comments to the relevant teams. We are currently in the process of updating our rooms, including replacing carpets, curtains and decor. Should you choose to stay with us again, please do contact me directly. Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We have stayed over night twice at this hotel in order to get the early morning ferry to the channel isles. On the first visit, last year, we had a view of the vast car park which wasn't great but this year we booked a view of the harbour and it was lovely.
The room was a fair size and well presented. The carpet could do with being replaced in the rooms though and in the restaurant where it had black tape stuck over it in places!
The room had no air con and we stayed there on one of the hottest days of the year so we were boiling all night. For safety, the windows didn't open very wide. On the plus side the room had a fridge which as I have to travel with medication that requires refrigeration this was a nice bonus. I have stayed in more expensive hotels that have no fridge in the room.
The staff were helpful although we did think they needed more staff on reception at busy times. There was a long queue to check out in the morning with only one lady to deal with everyone. As we were getting the early morning boat we didn't want to hang around for to long.
I would stay there again, it has no major faults but as the ferry has now returned to leaving from Weymouth we will be using our usual hotel there.

Room Tip: If you can, ask for the front of the hotel, there is plenty going on in the harbour to look at. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annbritt2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear annbritt2013. Thank you for taking the time to review the Thistle Poole, and I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and the views across the harbour - which are lovely whatever the weather. We are in the process of refurbishing the hotel and this includes updates to the rooms, and the public areas, including the carpet in the restaurant, so hopefully the next time you stay with us these changes would have taken place.

Some of our rooms do have air conditioning, but the majority don't and due to this we do not advertise the facility. Do feel free to request a room with air conditioning if you do choose to book with us again. In terms of the fridge in your room none of our rooms are equipped with fridges, so I can only assume you stayed with us earlier in the year and requested a fridge to be put in the room for medicinal needs.

If you do choose to stay with us again, please feel free to contact me directly.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Stayed here when attending a wedding nearby. Nice location and all in all, perfectly fine, with a nice comfy bed, adequate bathroom, good air-con, and everything clean and tidy. We didn't spend any time there apart from crashing out so can't comment on service or food. Our (non-smoking) room absolutely reeked of stale smoke, which let it down. Otherwise I'd say its a great cheap and cheerful option.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TashaandAiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Dear TashaandAiden
Thank you for your comments in your review. All of our rooms are non-smoking and we are very vigilant in putting this rule into operation. I have taken your comments very seriously and spoken to the relevant departments to ensure we have a very tight grip on the situation. We would very much like to welcome you back here in Poole, so please feel free to contact me directly should you stay again.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We arranged to have our wedding reception and wedding night at the Thistle. Every detail was attended to and the staff discussed our needs and desires with us and they attended to everything! We had no need to worry about a thing! It was a thoroughly enjoyable evening and was exactly what we had wanted! I can highly recommend it as a venue for a wedding reception and also as a hotel to stay in overnight. Our room was spacious and comfortable with an amazing view over the harbour! Breakfast was lovely with everything you could need or want. Can't praise it enough!

Room Tip: Over looking the quay/harbour have amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Dear Janice N,
Many congratulations on your wedding! Thank you for your kind comments in your review. I am very pleased that you were happy with the service we provided for you on your special day. I have passed on your comments to the relevant departments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
2.5 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Poole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Poole

Property: Thistle Poole
Address: The Quay, Poole BH15 1HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle Poole 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poole is a friendly, easy-going town, with its traditional Quay still very much at its heart. And that’s where you’ll find Thistle Poole, offering superb views over one of the world’s largest natural harbours, Brownsea Island and the Purbeck hills beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle Poole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Poole Hotel Poole
Thistle Hotel Poole
Poole Thistle Hotel
Thistle Poole Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing