We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit this year still good”
Review of Thistle Poole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thistle Poole
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Still a good hotel with fantastic views of harbor. If anything breakfast has improved from the last time. If you want best views ask for a room at the restaurant end but not so close that you hear the lifts, somewhere room x06, x08, x10, where x = floor level are the best

Room Tip: If you want best views ask for a room at the restaurant end but not so close that you hear the lifts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikey0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Mikey0,
thank you for your review. We are pleased that some returning guests see the improvements we are trying to make.
Please feel free to contact me directly for your next stay.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (942)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

601 - 607 of 942 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013

Stopped here as we were on an early morning ferry. Very handily placed for the port and also very close to places to eat and drink if you don't want to use the hotel facilities. We had a sandwich which was very nice but quite expensive for what it was. Room comfortable and clean and suited our purposes. Staff friendly and helpful and dealt with billing problem fairly quickly.

Room Tip: Don't think there is a particular room better than others but bear in mind that you have to pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baggie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank yo ufor time writing your review, Baggie57.

We are very lucky with the location and being so close to the ferry port. We hope we will be able to welcoming you again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed here last year and came back for more.
With Sally on reception checking us in and saying goodbye to us the next day, what a pleasant stay. The sort of friendliness you would expect in a guest house.
It is not often that you get some one so friendly on reception in a corporate hotel beyond just checking you in and wishing you a pleasant stay. Sally was wonderful and so interested in what we were doing whilst in Poole, even to see our photos the next day.
Room 101 overlooking the car park, no worries, we were not there for the view.
A very clean and comfortable room, what more do you need?
Breakfast, a wide range available, cold to cooked and more from the kitchen, best to book this ahead rather than on the day, saves you money. I asked for porridge, it came out too sweet and was remade with no fuss. The breakfast room overlooks the harbour. As we were out at a show, we did not eat there in the evening.
Ideal location, reasonable price, back again when in Poole. Just £5.00 for overnight parking.

Room Tip: You can select Harbour views when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for your time writing your fantastic review, Terry W.
It is always very uplifting to read that our guests enjoyed their stay and I have passed on your comments to the rest of the team.
Please feel free to contact me directly to book your next stay.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We arrived at the hotel in pretty dismal weather to be greeted by Sally at reception, very friendly and cheerful couldn't help us enough. The room was very clean and spacious, and the bath was great filled up in seconds. Looking forward to visiting in December.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Justin K, thank you for your great review. It is always great to hear that guests enjoyed their stay. I will pass on your kind comments to all relevant departments.
Please feel free to contact me direct for your stay in December.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I've just returned from a 4 day break with my husband and uncle, who is a wheelchair user. All the staff were very helpful and went out of their way to make our stay pleasant.

The food was good too and the rooms were clean and efficiently serviced.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maurice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Maurice B,
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are pleased that we could be of assistance and hope to see you again soon.
Please feel free to contact me directly for your next visit.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel in an excellent position over looking the harbour . Room was very clean , double bed a little on small side but comfy . Service in the restaurant and meal in evening was excellent , young Meg is a credit to the hotel and seemed to run around and organise things well on a busy weekend as quite a few staying for the wedding . Its a shame the service in the downstairs bar wasnt as consistent over the weekend as found Richard to be quite stern and didnt really make our friends and us want to stay so decided to have a walk down the road . Didnt let it bother us though as thought Poole was lovely and would stay at the Thistle again if we visted again due the location

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirky65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear kirky65, thank you for your great review.
Our team members are one of the most important elements of our business and thank you mentioning Meg. She is a great person to have in the team.
I will be speaking with the newly appointed Bar & Restaurant Manage regarding your experience in the Anchor Bar.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed for one night, Arrived at 1.15pm & was told our room was not ready & to come back at 2pm, went back & was told room would not be ready till 3pm so not off to a great start.
The only positive thing to mention was the view overlooking the harbour, the room was very dated & shouting out for a make over the carpet worn in places , bed was uncomfortable & not much bigger than a single.
We paid £5 for room service (breakfast) selected a time 9-9.15 it arrived at 9.25am
On checking out I had to provide my receipt for the £5 tray service as the receptionist was trying to tell me I owed it.
A real shame as this hotel has a great location.
Booked this hotel for our wedding anniversary so we were left disappointed.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Lucy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you for your time writing your review, Lucy R.
We are very sorry that your stay with us was not as good as it could have been. I am aware that you have contacted the hotel direct. I am investigating your concerns and will get back to you on the email provided in your correspondence.
Hope to be in touch very soon.
Best regards until then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,201 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,774 reviews
2.5 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.5 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Poole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Poole

Address: The Quay, Poole BH15 1HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Price Range: £61 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle Poole 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poole is a friendly, easy-going town, with its traditional Quay still very much at its heart. And that’s where you’ll find Thistle Poole, offering superb views over one of the world’s largest natural harbours, Brownsea Island and the Purbeck hills beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle Poole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Poole Hotel Poole
Thistle Hotel Poole
Poole Thistle Hotel
Thistle Poole Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing