We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic party”
Review of Thistle Poole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thistle Poole
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic party”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We have just had our club Dinner Dance at the Thistle. From start to finish I cannot praise the staff enough.
From the organisation prior to the event right up to breakfast the morning after nothing was too much trouble. Ell, Sarah and the team managed everything calmly and efficiently. Dinner in one sitting of over 90 is no easy task, but it was served hot and perfectly cooked.
Everyone had a fantastic time, and we are already agreed we will be back next year for this event.
Yes, the rooms are rather tired but are gradually being re-furbished and certainly did not impact on our stay. We were upgraded to a sea view which was nice.
Thanks to all the staff, and well one!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teljan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear teljan_10,
thank you for your kind words. It is always nice to hear when guests enjoyed our hospitality. Our staff is the most important element to the success of such events and indeed the business. I am glad you recognised their efforts and hard work.
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    302
    211
    99
    53
See reviews for
138
449
30
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

We were working in Poole one Friday after the bad storms and decided to stay over. We took our two Newfoundland dogs with us to add to the fun!

The hotel is right on Poole's quayside - lovely views in the morning as the sun rises over the marina. There are plenty of local shops, pubs and restaurants within a couple of minutes walk from the front door.

The staff at the hotel, both at reception and in the restaurant were so friendly and prepared to do everything they could to make our brief stay enjoyable.

Our two dogs were with us in the room - one of our key decision points for most stays away nowadays - we were upgraded to a seafront room which was great for the views - thank you.

Our room was clean, quiet, extra bedding and pillows available in the cupboard; bathroom had a bath and a good shower over it and was also lovely and clean.

Breakfast, included in the price, was ample, tasty and we were looked after by a lovely gentleman who struck the perfect balance between friendly attentiveness and discretion.

Great value for what we paid - we would certainly use the hotel again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bear_and_Us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Bear_and_Us,
Thank you for your great feedback. It is really great to hear when guests enjoyed their stay. Our location is great both for sightseeing and dog walking, with big park to the left of the hotel.
I have passed on your kind comments to the relevant departments and looking forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This stay was very disappointing.I don't want to sound negative but our room and bathroom was very grubby and dirty.At least they changed the bed.The sofa was badly stained. The carpet had bits where it had not been vacuumed.The paint was falling off the window.The bathroom was very dirty and the bath was badly stained. We arrived at 1.00pm to be told our room was ready ? Really ? No warm welcome.Knowone explained the layout or where the bars or restaurants were.WE didn't even know where to go for breakfast. If we were staying more than one night we would have walked out.Very over priced.THere was no way we were going to eat there in the evening.Some good points.THe bar man was friendly dispite having to wait ages for a drink.The breakfast was ok.The man was very helpfull at breakfast. Honestly Thistle hotels you need to sort this place out it is in serious need of a make over.We do not recommend this place and will not be going back. Plus we had to pay £5.00 for the parking ? I have lots of photos on request.

Room Tip: Please choose one of the other hotels in the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxybrown_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear foxybrown_13,
Thank you for your review. I am sorry you were dissapointed with your stay with us. We are the first to admit that the hotel is in need of updating, and this is something we are very much in the process of, but as I am sure you can appreciate this does take time. I have spoken with the relevant departments in relation to your comments regarding the cleanliness of your room and your welcome to the hotel as this is something that most definitely should not have occured during your stay with us. Unfortunatly our carpark is run by an external company, and as a result guests are required to pay a discounted price of £5 per car per night. Whilst I understand you do not wish to stay with us again, should the circumstances change, please contact me directly as we would very much look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Poole hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel in early January 2014. The hotel is in a perfect spot overlooking the quay. We booked a sea view room on the ground floor, we also took our two dogs with us, who were allowed to stay in the room. Everything about this hotel is lovely. As the weather was appalling we choose to stay in our room to eat and with some trepidation booked room service. WOW the food arrived on time, the lady who bought it was so lovely, the food was wonderful, we sat and ate this and watched the world go by. Breakfast was served in our room and was faultless, bang on time as well. Staff were so friendly. Our dogs even had a little bag of treats left for them on our arrival our thoughtful is that. This hotel beats hands down anything we have stayed in before, we are already thinking of booking for later this year. 100% happy with everything - brilliant place to stay and by the way the prices are good value for money as well.

Room Tip: Pay for the sea view you will NOT be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marperirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Marperirish,
thank you for your great review. It is great to hear when guests enjoyed our hospitality. I will order better weather for your next stay.
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The Awesome Foursome arrived on 31st December for a two night stay to celebrate the New Year - We had good rooms overlooking a wet & windy Poole Quay . New Years Eve celebrations began with a glass of Bucks Fizz followed by a really nice meal - Good Disco to see the New Year In with a Free glass of champers at midnight -Service & Staff over our stay were excellent ,

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalcolmWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear MalcolmWW,
it was nice to welcome you again here at the hotel after your stay in August. It's nice to hear that guests keep coming back and enjoy the hotel and Poole town.
I have passed on your comments to the team and please feel free to contact me direct to make your next booking with us.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We went to the Thistle in Poole for a long weekend in November. The hotel is located perfectly to explore the Poole harbour locality. The staff were very friendly and even upgraded us to a sea view room (amazing views by the way). The only disappointment was the weather.. we would definitely return to Poole in the summer and Thistle would be one of our choices for accommodation. :)

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KKH786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear MalcolmWW,
it was nice to welcome you again here at the hotel after your stay in August. It's nice to hear that guests keep coming back and enjoy the hotel and Poole town.
I have passed on your comments to the team and please feel free to contact me direct to make your next booking with us.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2013

A surprise for my birthday
My husband food got mixed up at evening meal which ment he had to eat alone,when he asked for 2 glasses of champagne they said none to spare but offer other bubbles.
Breakfast we had was good but on display was curled up cheese and meat which would have looked better in the bin.
When paying the bill he did tell them all this and they took 10% off.
Good job our friends kept us laughing.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank how308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for ariting your review how3,
I am sorry to hear that you have not fully enjoyed our hospitality. If I remember correctly we had a wedding reception at the time and the pre-poured sparkling wine was for the wedding party. We did open up the bar upstairs with enough sparkling wine available. I am sorry fo rthe confusion.
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,721 reviews
2.5 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,480 reviews
2.5 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Poole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Poole

Property: Thistle Poole
Address: The Quay, Poole BH15 1HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle Poole 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poole is a friendly, easy-going town, with its traditional Quay still very much at its heart. And that’s where you’ll find Thistle Poole, offering superb views over one of the world’s largest natural harbours, Brownsea Island and the Purbeck hills beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thistle Poole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Poole Hotel Poole
Thistle Hotel Poole
Poole Thistle Hotel
Thistle Poole Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing