We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Thistle Poole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thistle Poole
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Poole
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Lovely spacious rooms with great facilities. Superb location near the sea front.

Opted out of Breakfast as £10 a person and there are lots of cafes near by which offer much cheaper options.

Very friendly service.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veganese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Veganese,
Thank you for your lovely review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our friendly staff looked after you so well. I will forward your kind comments to all staff.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    285
    189
    93
    52
See reviews for
126
411
24
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

While the Hotel is a little tired in places the service more than makes up for it. Sally on front desk was so helpful & organised my room service with gluten free options, an egg mayo sandwich & fries. There is plenty of hot water for a bath, big white towels & complementary slippers & robe. The service at breakfast was super great from Bob. He was very helpful & friendly & clearly a morning kind of guy. This was not a one off as I have stayed since & he remembered me & was as charming as ever.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are great as right on harbour & there are binoculars in rooms for your use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 50Wendy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear 50Wendy7,
Thank you for your time writing about your stay at our hotel. We are slowly refurbishing the hotel and the upstairs restaurant and bar will have a new carpet fitted in a month time.
Great to hear that you find our staff friendly and magnificent, I will pass on your kind comments to all departments.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbury
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Very good hotel in a great location and views
The staff lift it to a better level
Had a problem with getting into our room but the receptionist soon got it sorted with a change of room
Choice of beer was limited but the food was good both in the restaurant and bar
Recommend it anytime

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Roger H,
Thank you for your kind review. It is always great to read that our staff's efforts are being noticed.
We had a little hick-up with our beer lines, hence the lack of choice of beers in the hotel. I am pleased to say that this has all been sorted now and we are fully up and running again.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTH WALES
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We booked the Thistle for a one night stay for a friend's birthday party which was also in the hotel.
Staff were excellent the room was clean, bed comfortable, breakfast was very good, location superb views
Would recommend it to anyone
All in all very enjoyable,comfortable value for money stay.

Room Tip: Bar drinks with mixers were quite expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HOWELLYJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear HOWELLYJB,
Thank you very much for your time and fantastic review. I did hear from other people that the party went well and all had a great time.
I will pass on your kind comments to all departments concerned.
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

After having a terrible 3hr journey last night to get to Poole, the journey was worth while then to be greeted by a very warm welcome indeed by "Sally" who then proceed to upgrade us complimentary to a Harbour View Room. Sally was very professional in checking us in giving us all the information we required then to proceed after we had gone to the room to ring to make sure that we everything was ok. The bed was very comfortable but for me the pillows were an issue hard and uncomfortable, towels in the bathroom were lovely one thing I hate is when you are given a bath towel as big as postage stamp but these were lovely fluffy and huge.

We did have a very enjoyable meal in the restaurant and again can only praise the bar person and waitress, nothing was to much trouble and they were very professional and took pride in there job. Breakfast to be honest was a bit of a let down for me, plenty of choice, cold buffet, cereal, breads pastries, but I think I chose the wrong thing I ordered bacon and scrambled eggs, of which were very disappointing , very watery eggs I don't think for one minute they were freshly scrambled as water was covering the plate, but this was a minor complaint and next time would choose something different.

The hotel is under refurbishment and I am sure with the staff and refurbishments the hotel will go from strength to strength and I for certainly would and will return in the not to distant future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear andyrocks,

many thanks for your great review and your kind comments, which Ihave passed on to all departments.
I have spoken with our Head Chef regarding the scrambled eggs and we are looking into this in more detail.
I am looking forward to welcoming you again and please feel free to contact me directly to make your reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel in early january for a one night stay with my partner and I am glad I choose the thistle!! With the stunning views and a short walk away from shops,pubs and clubs what more could you want. Our room was very dated but cleaned to a very good standard, the staff were all very friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay here again in the near future.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SJL90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear SJL90,
thank you for your time writing the review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are indeed very lucky with the location of the hotel and are carrying out some refurbishment. But as you can appreciate this is takeing some time. Hopefully when you stay with us again you will see some differences.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We took a chance in booking this Hotel despite some critical reviews, because of its great location overlooking the Quay Harbour and Brownsea Island.

We took note about the Parking at the rear of the Hotel and checked in at Reception rather than buying a ticket at the machine (saving £5 off a £10 per day/night ticket). The receptionists were brilliant and helpful and upgraded us to a Harbour View room on the ground floor, apologising for the fact that the rooms above were all booked up for our first Night! The rooms are a bit tired and dated, with horrible shower curtains, cheap Toilet seats and stained furnishings, but the Bed was very comfortable and all the other normal room comforts including Free ‘fast’ Wi-Fi were there, and also Binoculars for enjoying the view.

Breakfast the next morning was actually very good and although the fresh fruit salad appeared to be out of a tin rather than freshly prepared, everything else was just great, including the cooked breakfast which included all your favourite ingredients. Service during Breakfast was exceptional and all the staff went out of the way to welcome you and engage with you while you enjoy your meal. Only one tiny criticism was the breakfast tea which was served out of thermal jugs rather than in a Teapot.

The fantastic Reception staff found us a room on the top floor for our next two days and although the Binoculars were missing, the room was a lovely base to stay.

A Good Hotel that with a bit of refurbishment could become Great.

Location: 5
Presentation: 4
Bed comfort: 4
Bathroom facilities: 3
Cleanliness: 3
Soundproofing: 3
Food: 4

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Andy G,
Thank you for your time to write your kind review. It is always nice to hear when guests had a good stay with us.
The fruit salad is freshly made in-house, but we do buy in orange and grapefruit segments. I am looking forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
2.5 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Poole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Poole

Property: Thistle Poole
Address: The Quay, Poole BH15 1HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle Poole 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poole is a friendly, easy-going town, with its traditional Quay still very much at its heart. And that’s where you’ll find Thistle Poole, offering superb views over one of the world’s largest natural harbours, Brownsea Island and the Purbeck hills beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle Poole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Poole Hotel Poole
Thistle Hotel Poole
Poole Thistle Hotel
Thistle Poole Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing