We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thistle Poole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Thistle Poole
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Poole
Southampton, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

As a lot of the other reviews say, the hotel does look a bit worn and in need of a revamp. That aside, it's in a great location and the staff are so friendly and helpful, that it more than makes up for the hotel itself. We booked a package through Great Little breaks which included wine, 3 course meal (food was great), breakfast and an upgrade to a harbour view room. Great value for money, would definitely return.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank freckles63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear freckles63,
Thank you for your time writing your review. We are currently updating some rooms and public areas.
I have spoken to all departments and passed on your kind comments. Please feel free to contact me personally for your next stay.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    280
    186
    93
    52
See reviews for
125
407
24
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Excellent customer Services clean bright room gerenal the Hotel was clean Nice Restaurant within Hotel evernlow we didnt use it big car park which you have to pay for as there have a Private parking company operating it.Check in was fast location was great view Nice on a sunny day.Good local Restaurant s near by and lots local Bars near by.Can Not find anythink wrong with this Hotel.would stay again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank weybloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear weybloke,
Many thanks for your great review. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed on your kind comments to all departments.
Please feel free to contact me personally should you wish to stay with us gain.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

On arrival during the dismal February weather we have had, we found a very cold room and bathroom, and after working out how to switch the wall heater on, it rattled into life pumping out some rather smelly hot air. Certainly too loud to keep on overnight if needed.

The heater / towel rail in the bathroom was stone cold. I asked the receptionist if we could get some heat into the bathroom and she apologised that due to a failure there was no heating in any of the hotel's communal heating, suggesting we keep the bathroom door open and the bedroom heater on full.

Not a great outcome!

The double bed in the room is only just a double! I'm 6ft tall if I stand up straight and my feet were pressed against the wooden bottom bedstead!

We only stayed one night and had not booked the breakfast as the hotel and breakfast we felt were quite expensive for this class of hotel, certainly that on staying there we felt the decoration and fittings in the hotel were decidedly tired.

It is a shame as the hotel is in the perfect location on The Quay at Poole, but we were expecting much better from a big chain hotel.

Could do better!

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the harbour are at a premium for the view. Rooms over the car park are better val...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Floristgimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Floristgimp,
Thank you for your time writing your review.
I am sorry to hear that you didn't fully enjoy your stay here at the hotel. I admit our radiators are a little old but we work our way through the hotel and update rooms and public areas.
I hope when you stay with us again you will see an improvement.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

We arrived in Poole and originally were going to book the Premier Inn as their standard is great for the price. Having driven numerous times around Poole (yes it is true about terrible signage) we came to the conclusion that the Thistle was in the best location. Right on the front of the harbour and just a short walk from all the bars and restaurants.

The weather when we arrived was awful, we checked in around 5 pm and the receptions Sally was wonderfully polite, friendly and very helpful. We were upgraded to a harbour view room on the first floor, which was great.

Breakfast was very good, on the Saturday we were served and the Sunday was a buffet affair.

Should we return to Poole we will definitely stay here again without any doubt at all!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hone5tReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Ripple326,
many thanks for your review.
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the hotel. I have passed on your kind comments on to Sally at Reception.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We visited last summer and were asked to wait in the bar as the room wasn't ready and we would be called. An hour later I went back and the receptionist had forgotten I existed. It was extremely busy but she just was not coping. When we did get a room it was lovely.
As we sat alone in the bar, several dogs and owners came in and out and were obviously well known to the staff. One dog was running around in the garden having a lovely time. I like dogs and there was no evidence of one having been in our room, but after listening to one yapping all night and running up and down the corridor I felt like booting it into the sea. We had no sleep and left early, telling the receptionist about the problem. When we got home, we wrote a letter of complaint and only sheer persistence and patience got us any joy. Letters apparently not received, promised refund not happening. In the end we did get a refund. It took several weeks. Would not go back. If your dog wants a nice holiday, go for it. Don't worry about me, I won't be there.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FredaBlogga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear FredaBlogga,
Thank you for your time writing on tripadvisor.
I am surprised to read a review about an occurance going back 6 to 8 month, it must have been a boring rainy afternoon in Oxford.
I consider this matter closed.
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Poole hotels

Windsor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed for one night only. Room was comfortable and clean, a nice size and well equipped. The staff we encountered were truly lovely, very helpful and made us feel welcome and looked after. The breakfast overlooking the harbour was great. Would stay here again,

Room Tip: Rooms at back overlook the car park - fine if you don't need a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Lesley H,
thank you very much for your kind review.
It is always nice to hear when guests enjoyed their time with us. Please feel free to get in touch with me directly, for your next stay.
All your great comments have been passed on to our team members.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Upon arrival I was quite excited at the prospect of staying at the thistle as I'd heard good things! We were there for my mums wedding so you'd think they would go put of their way considering the thousands of pounds spent there but no staff didn't seem that bothered, the room smelt like a care home and was dull and out dated , drinks were over priced and increased as the night went on! £8 for a glass of wine! To top it all of my girlfriend was stuck in the lift for 45mins to only be saved by the fire brigade, after being rescued we were told this has happened before and were offered nothing in return ! This place is dangerous do not go !

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lukewatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Lukewatkins,
Thank you for your time writing your review. I am sorry to hear that you found our staff not too bothered. We usually get praised for our staff friendliness and level of service. We host about 95 functions, similar to yours, a year and our reputation is very good. So much so that guests keep coming back to us to enjoy the view, location and service.
On the other hand I was very concerned, when I found out the lift got stuck and this is not a common occurrence. In the last 24 months the lift got stuck twice, unfortunately your girlfriend was one of them. Please accept my apologies and ask your girlfriend to get in touch with me.
We have the lift repaired and a certificate which shows that the lift is fit for purpose. I can email you a copy of same, if you wish.
I can only assume that you had a 250ml glass of wine. Our wine prices range from £6,95 to £8,75 per glass depending what grape variety you prefer.
Please get in touch with me should you wish to return and I will make sure you have will have a great time with us.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 14 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
2.5 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 14 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Poole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Poole

Property: Thistle Poole
Address: The Quay, Poole BH15 1HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle Poole 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poole is a friendly, easy-going town, with its traditional Quay still very much at its heart. And that’s where you’ll find Thistle Poole, offering superb views over one of the world’s largest natural harbours, Brownsea Island and the Purbeck hills beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Thistle Poole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Poole Hotel Poole
Thistle Hotel Poole
Poole Thistle Hotel
Thistle Poole Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing