We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location and very friendly staff”
Review of Thistle Poole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thistle Poole
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous location and very friendly staff”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This hotel has the best best customer service and reception staff. They were cheerful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. I was offered a room with a fantastic view over the harbour and I could have sat watching the boats go by all day. From the outside the hotel looks a bit dated, but my room was spotless, and I am fussy over this. Breakfast was also a plus point, nothing too much trouble and the food was well cooked, at the correct temperature and nicely presented.

Room Tip: Choose the harbour view, simply fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJones60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear SJones60,
Thank you for your review.
It is great to hear when guests appreciate what our team members do and see how hard they work. Our location is with no doubt outstanding, on Poole Harbour, close to the beach and town centre.
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    288
    192
    94
    52
See reviews for
127
419
25
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Usk
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Surprisingly tranquil weekend stay right in the best part of Poole. Staff were so helpful that I cynically thought they had all just been on a customer service training course. Usual buffet breakfast, good parking, just the job.

Room Tip: Avoid first floor if a function is on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear David R,
Thank you for your review.
It is great to hear when guests appreciate what our team members do and see how hard they work. Our location is with no doubt outstanding, on Poole Harbour, close to the beach and town centre.
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Rooms cold, tired and grubby. Breakfast service poor:
- no plates or juice glasses left at 9:30
- dirty cutlery on the floor
- no table available for 10 minutes
- offered tea/coffee but no spoons or milk.
Shame - great location / friendly staff

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Rick E,
thank you for your time writing this review. I have taken your points very seriously and have spoken with the Restaurant Manager, Eileesha.
Eileesha would like to apologies for the, no doubt, under-par performance on that morning and we will get back to our regular level of good service.
Please contact me directly for your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Poole hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I stay in a lot of hotels for business, this one was pretty exceptional in terms of customer service. They we're run off their feet when myself and 2 colleagues checked in. I think I was served by kat. I did not like my first room as the bed was tiny, but kat came upstairs to relocate me to a room with a king size bed, which was fabulous, with a great view. The room was lovely and all the little extras in the room make it extra nice, the sweets and the take away coffee cups are such thoughtful touches.
Even nicer and totally unexpected was the bottle of wine and box of chocolates that arrived at our room following the move. Lovely touch.
If not located in a refurbished room you may be a little disapponted, but once all the rooms are done, will be a great hotel.
All of the staff went out of their way to help in any way, they were all so friendly, big thanks to the guys who served us in the bar whilst the football was on and the lady at breakfast who told us about brow sea island.
Parking was £5 for guests, great price.
Track express within walking distance along with several alternative restaurants and bars.
The staff really make this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danspetson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear danspetson,
Thank you for your fantastic review. It is refreshing to hear that, even if things aren't always right in the beginning they can be turned into a positive, and you obviously left very happy.
I have passed your comments on to Kat and the rest of the team.
Looking forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I recently had my wedding there and what a fantastic day I had. Sarah and all the staff that looked after us were great they had decorated the room lovely and the food was great to . There was a minor incident with the lift getting stuck but it was dealt with quickly and efficiently and no harm was done. I just want to say a BIG thank you to Sarah and her team for giving us such a lovely day

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sseetpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Sseetpea,
We are pleased that you enjoyed your big day with us and I told Sarah about your kind comments. Sarah and the rest of the team is looking to welcome you again soon.
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

As a lot of the other reviews say, the hotel does look a bit worn and in need of a revamp. That aside, it's in a great location and the staff are so friendly and helpful, that it more than makes up for the hotel itself. We booked a package through Great Little breaks which included wine, 3 course meal (food was great), breakfast and an upgrade to a harbour view room. Great value for money, would definitely return.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank freckles63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear freckles63,
Thank you for your time writing your review. We are currently updating some rooms and public areas.
I have spoken to all departments and passed on your kind comments. Please feel free to contact me personally for your next stay.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Excellent customer Services clean bright room gerenal the Hotel was clean Nice Restaurant within Hotel evernlow we didnt use it big car park which you have to pay for as there have a Private parking company operating it.Check in was fast location was great view Nice on a sunny day.Good local Restaurant s near by and lots local Bars near by.Can Not find anythink wrong with this Hotel.would stay again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank weybloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, General Manager at Thistle Poole, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear weybloke,
Many thanks for your great review. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed on your kind comments to all departments.
Please feel free to contact me personally should you wish to stay with us gain.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
2.5 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Poole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Poole

Property: Thistle Poole
Address: The Quay, Poole BH15 1HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle Poole 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poole is a friendly, easy-going town, with its traditional Quay still very much at its heart. And that’s where you’ll find Thistle Poole, offering superb views over one of the world’s largest natural harbours, Brownsea Island and the Purbeck hills beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle Poole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Poole Hotel Poole
Thistle Hotel Poole
Poole Thistle Hotel
Thistle Poole Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing