We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miranda”
Review of Arndale Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arndale Court
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Miranda”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Last minute booking-stayed overnight. A very welcoming hotel,very chatty reception staff, informative about the area. Ground floor room facing the main road but relatively quiet which surprised us as it was Saturday night and Greyhound Stadium nearby. Large and comfy room, breakfast was excellent plenty of choice. Served by pleasant British staff (no language barriers!). Large enclosed private car park at rear of propery.Walking distance to Poole town and central for beaches,and sightseeing.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miranda825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    70
    53
    23
    13
See reviews for
39
71
25
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mykonos, Greece
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

A very nice place. Everything was nice and clean. The rooms were very large and compfy. The staff were very friendly. The only I didn't like was the shower tap, it was almost impossible to turn on and off.

Room Tip: We had a room that was on carpark side. I guess it would be better because you wouldn't get the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mathamillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Stayed overnight - hotel very dated but clean. Very little noise proofing as could hear other residents very clearly. Breakfast nice. Overpriced for condition of rooms one side of my mattress had a broken spring. The headboard smelled of body odour and one of my pillows was the same.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Springwatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

ARNold Hagenbach and Samuel ChippenDALE opened the first Arndale centre in Jarrow in 1961. Further Arndale centres around the UK were the height of 60's and 70's sophistication, bringing perceived American glamour on the inside and brutal, soulless concrete design on the outside. The Poole Arndale Centre became the Dolphin Shopping Centre (it's still hideous) in 1988, but twenty four years on the glamour of the name still inspires the Arndale Court Hotel.

Which tells you something about the place, though quite what I'm not sure.

Strange nostalgia for the seventies aside, this is a perfectly competently small provincial hotel. The single room was small but clean, the bed was comfortable, the wifi was excellent and the shower worked fine.

The breakfast was good, but the only discordant note was brusque service to the point of rudeness. The correct answer to "Could I have a hot chocolate instead of tea or coffee?" is "Yes". The disappointing answer is "I'm sorry, but we don't do hot chocolate." The wrong answer is a barked monosyllabic "NO" with a glare of disapproval. That was only one staff member though (I bet they know who I'm referring to) and the rest were fine. In any case they grill their sausages properly instead of frying them, for which I am willing to forgive a lot.

Reception staff were friendly and helpful although - a wee tip for hotel managers here - stained football shirts are not the best uniform for customer facing staff. Buy the lad a suit. He's worth it.

It's handy for the station and for the Arndale - sorry, Dolphin - Shopping Centre if you fancy having your soul sucked out. The swimming pool / leisure centre is just a little further away but the quay is a good fifteen or twenty minutes on foot.

I'd stay there again if business took me there in the future. I probably won't go back for a holiday, but that's as much because Poole itself is, frankly, a dump with a hundred yards of nice old High Street. The hotel was OK.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ubergeekian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

very nice hotel, staff friendly and helpful,Slight smell of smoke from our room ,

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

A perfectly respectable hotel - welcoming, clean, comfortable, well-priced. The decor, if slightly tired, was perfectly fine. The reception staff were welcoming.

The breakfast was, alas, a disappointment: when asked whether they served croissants, my friend was told that "there was no call for that sort of thing". Service was slow and staff were remarkably unapologetic when staples ran out (orange juice, brown bread). While perfectly edible, the quality was not high. It also seems slightly odd that they stocked tinned, over fresh, fruit.

Would I stay again? Probably. This is a perfectly good hotel in a reasonable location at a decent price. Next time, I might have breakfast elsewhere, however.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed here for one night only this weekend whilst attending a wedding. We found the car park easily and received a warm welcome from the reception staff.
Our room was large and comfortable and spotlessly clean. It was well equipped: kettle, hair drier, trouser press, iron and ironing board, mini fridge & TV. The bathroom was small but adequate and the shower was lovely with good water pressure. However, there was only one hand and one bath towel provided for the two of us. we could have phoned reception for more towels, but I'd brought some with us any way, so we used them.
Breakfast was tinned orange or grapefruit segments or tinned prunes with a good selection of mini-box cereals or some yoghurts. Followed by a very nice cooked breakfast: bacon, sausage, mushrooms, tomato, baked beans, hash brownie, poached eggs, fried bread and toast. perfectly cooked and delicious.
If we go to poole again we would definitely stop here again

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
0.8 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
876 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,147 reviews
0.6 mi away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
777 reviews
2.7 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arndale Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arndale Court

Property: Arndale Court
Address: 62-64 Wimborne Road, Poole BH15 2BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Arndale Court 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Arndale Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arndale Court Hotel Poole
Arndale Court Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing