We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sleepless in 112”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Harbour Heights Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Penryn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sleepless in 112”
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We were so looking forward to a double celebration family wedding and 50th birthday that I thought planning ahead and asking for a nice room would suffice to at least meet our needs. Sadly this was not to be.

Room 112 has a double aspect - car park and main road. The staff are well aware of noise problems in the room we were allocated but unfortunately omitted to share this with us - until we checked out of our one night stay. Returning from a stupendous wedding at Compton Acres around 11pm we settled down for the night expecting the bathroom fan to time out - Only it was not the bathroom fan at all, but the kitchen extractor which continued to droan on right through the night. After a few glasses of champagne one would expect to sleep sound but this persistant whiring ensured a very broken nights sleep and bad start to a long drive home. I am convinved that these rooms are retained for guests staying the one night. By the time you are aware of the problem your pound or £200 is spent and nothing can be done - oh but we were reassured by the smiley lady on reception that the next time we'd be sure to be allocated a good room - I don't think so love we'll not be returning and I am sure that they do not mind a bit as they are very well booked up thank you.

Don't accept room 112 unless you are deaf and an avid car spotter.

Room Tip: 112 for sleepless nights only
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VikingSeahorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    271
    115
    55
    35
See reviews for
121
471
15
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Poole
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2012

2 day team building event at this stunning hotel with harbour and sea views for everyone in the team. The standard of cleanlieness, service and attention to detail was exceptional. Everyone in the hotel from the reception staff to waiters and waitresses were friendly and made everyone feel truly welcome, We enjoyed it so much that I shall be booking future meetings here throughout 2012. From reading other reviews I would disagree with comments about the walls being paper thin and being woken by cleaners...there were 16 of us over 2 nights and we all slept very well.

Room Tip: Simple tip but ask for a balcony room with sea view and try to negotiate on price....they are very f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012 via mobile

Stopped here for two nights recently. The position of the hotel is fantastic, just a short walk from Sandbanks beach. Check in was extremely friendly and efficient. Our room, although small, was cozy,clean and had fabulous views over Poole harbour and a small balcony. Complimentary bottled water is provided. We had breakfast and dinner in the restaurant on both days. Dinner the first night was faultless, with very good, attentive service. Breakfast the following morning seemed disorganised somehow. Our order was taken and my full English duly arrived minus the beans! This was easily rectified after a quick word. Dinner that evening again seemed slightly disorganised. My husband ordered the soup of the day which the waitress told us was tomato, my husbands favourite. When it arrived she said "chef changed the soup and it is now aubergine!". My husband didn't like that so he had to wait for a different starter to be prepared. The following morning at breakfast our order was taken again. This time mine arrived minus the sausage! I didn't bother saying anything, the waitress seemed to be doing the best she could but there is obviously a communication problem somewhere along the line. We ordered a newspaper both days but only received it on the one day. All in all, we would go back to this hotel but the F & B side of things needs to be looked at. The food itself was wonderful, it just all seemed a bit disorganised and chaotic.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank flumpray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We needed somewhere to hold the 'wake' after the funeral of a close relative. We had about 35 family members coming after the service. We needed some quiet space in which to chat, share our thoughts and memories and of course replenish our ourselves. With the guidance of Anna in Sales, who was very efficient and understanding, we booked the full afternoon tea presented as a buffet. Even though we were booking at very short notice, she and the chef tailored the food and drinks to meet our particular needs and provided us with everything for which we had asked in a a very tasteful way. The room although large was arranged so that we were not lost in it but were congregated at the end with the fantastic view of Poole Harbour. The members of staff who were assigned to our function were most helpful and friendly. The hotel threw in the use of a projector and screen so that by bringing a laptop along we were able to enjoy a slideshow of old family pictures that we had scanned in from various albums.

Whilst it was an event that we would all rather hadn't been necessary the hotel could not have done more to make it a pleasant one. We hope to return under happier circumstances and would not hesitate to use the this facility again or to recommend it to anyone else.

Room Tip: Didn't stay here this time but the really outstanding feature of this hotel is the view. So giv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BournemouthSkipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the Harbour Heights, Sandbanks over a weekend in early March. We prebooked on line using laterooms.com. It may be a mistake to prepay because I've a feeling they put these bookings in the smallest / worst rooms. I telephoned a couple of days before arrival to ask for a quiet room.

On arrival we were given a room with a side sea view (even though we hadn't paid for a sea view). The room was quite small but OK for just 2 nights. Fabulous views from the window looking out of the side of the hotel to Poole Harbour. Unfortunately, we were awoken at 6.55am on both mornings by the cleaner entering the cleaning cupboard opposite our room and bashing around in there, clinking bottles and being generally noisy. We were also kept awake / awoken by the people in the room next to us. You could hear them going to the toilet - paper thin walls. When looking at the fire escape plan we noted that the room we were in appeared to have thinner partition walls on the plan compared to some other rooms. Looks like our room was one large one split into two.

We ate dinner in the restaurant on one night and it was very good, but quite expensive. The bar snacks are much cheaper, but quite a small menu choice. The breakfasts were excellent, again with wonderful views to the harbour.

I complained at checkout about being woken at 6.55am both mornings and the paper thin walls, particularly as we'd telephoned to specifically request a quiet room. The manageress offered to upgrade us to a sea view room with free cream tea should we stay at the hotel again. She also said she would speak to housekeeping about keeping the noise down first thing.

The hotel is in a great location just up the hill from Sandbanks beach and the harbour.

Room Tip: Check you aren't in a room with a partition wall, make sure it's an original wall. Otherwis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrandMrsSunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed at the hotel for a couple of nights mid week and had been promised a room with a view and what a view!! The room was very large with a huge comfy bed the bathroom could do with some updating with weird closing doors but that was made up by the view from our window. We could have also done with a balcony or floor to ceiling windows as well. The location is ideal for a stroll down into Sandbanks and the beach itself. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and had no complaint, very good service and again an amazing view! Breakfast was good though my husband did feel the cooked breakfast portions could have been larger! Second night there was a wedding - people do get married on Thursdays so the hotel was noisy well after mid night and as our room was on the first floor unfortunately we both went to sleep with the sound of the bass. My advise is to check when you book and if there is a wedding to ask for a room further along away from the reception. The staff on reception were surprised when I told them that the music went on past midnight and apologised. We would certainly go back there again. Oh and if you park your car in the bottom car park dont park it under the trees our car was a favourite with the resident pigeons!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marye985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

the hotel is lovely, a little tired around some edges perhaps, but spotlessly clean and the hotel team are superb.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jagtravellerCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.3 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
1,379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#9 of 13 in Poole
1,620 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
845 reviews
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
2.9 mi away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Heights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Heights Hotel

Property: Harbour Heights Hotel
Address: 73 Haven Road, Poole BH13 7LW, England (Formerly FJB Collection - Harbour Heights)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Poole
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#4 Romantic Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Heights Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're retreating for romance or overnighting on business. Harbour Heights offers boutique and stylish surroundings, paired with panoramic outlooks over Poole Harbour and beyond. Every bedroom is carefully designed for comfort with premium vi-spring beds and jacuzzi spa baths to bubble away in. Many also boast harbour views with balconies to watch the world float by. We want our guests to experience exceptional food in beautiful surroundings. To do justice to the view, Harbar Bistro offers two AA Rosette Awarded cuisine, maintained by Head Chef Loic Gratadoux. When the weather's welcoming, bask in the sunshine with a glass of champagne or light lunch on the terrace overlooking the magical harbour islands. The Harbour Heights Hotel is located just a short stroll away from the prestigious Sandbanks beach and stunning Poole Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour Heights Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Heights Poole
Harbour Heights Hotel Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing