We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, lovely views!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Harbour Heights Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We only stayed one night at Harbour Heights, but enjoyed our stay. The views of the harbour from our room and from the main bar were stunning, a definite plus for the hotel. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the shower was hot - a good combination in our opinion. Breakfast was very nice and cooked to order; with the service being both pleasant and prompt. We would certainly stay at Harbour Heights again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mayesie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (949)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

789 - 795 of 949 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2012

Booked 3 nights at this hotel for the jubilee long weekend. Made booking back in February through an agency (as cheaper than booking direct). Tried to request a sea view, but the agency said that we'd have to contact the hotel directly for that. We called the hotel and made the request and we told we would have to pay a supplement on arrival, which was OK. The agency had taken a credit card guarantee and the t&c's said no money would be taken until we arrived at the hotel. On receipt of the next credit card statement, found that the full amount had been taken by the hotel. Called the agent and they got the hotel to refund it.
Arrived at the hotel and were told no record of a request for sea view and none available. Receptionist asked for credit card to get a 'pre approval'. Entered PIN in machine without checking the amount and was given a receipt. On getting to the room we found that we had been charged about £150 over the agreed rate. Went back to reception and we told that they add £40 per day to cover any drinks etc. that we might want charged to the room. They should tell you that before charging you for it! We said we didn't want to charge anything to the room and would pay and tip as we went along. The receptionist processed a refund and we went back to the room, then realised we had still been overcharged from what was on our written confirmation. Back to reception again. Told someone had made a mistake on the rate and got more money refunded.
Room was clean and excellently appointed. Tea & coffee making facilities. Iron and board and trouser press. Great shower and spa bath. Good view from the window and could see some water if we looked to the left. Public areas were spotlessly clean and good quality furnishings.
Not much on the restaurant menu which I liked, but settled for a fillet steak, which was good. Cheapest bottle of wine was £18 and overpriced. The menu says they will add a 'discretionary' 10% service charge, but this was added without asking us. First night's meal for the 2 of us came to £116, which I thought was expensive.
The last night's meal was a bit of a disaster. I had mussels to start and half of them were unopened - a sure recipe for food poisoning. I can't believe the chef actually allowed this dish out of the kitchen with unopened shellfish.
I had ordered fillet steak with red wine sauce for my main, and my friend had ordered a well-done ribeye steak without any sauce. When the steaks arrived, mine was plain and my friend's had red wine sauce all over it! He sent it back and was given a plain ribeye a couple of minutes later, which was nowhere near well-done as there was blood in the middle. Sent that back and got a good well-done steak after a while, by which time I had finished my dinner.
The restaurant manager offered to take the mussels and ribeye steak off the bill, but my friend insisted on paying for his steak as he had eventually got one which he could eat. I got them to take the mussels off though. We were offered a complimentary glass of wine in the way of an apology, which I accepted.
Breakfast was excellent, with a good choice (including my favourite eggs benedict).
I would recommend this hotel on a B&B basis, but would probably eat out for dinner if I stayed there again because of price, choice and problems mentioned above.
My only other gripe are the loudly creaking floors in the bedrooms and corridors. You'd probably be woken a lot if you're a light sleeper.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grahambear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

My wife and I stayed and the harbour heights over the jubilee weekend and found the location, room, view and staff wonderful. Our two night stay included meals at their restaurant and we found the food lovely and their staff friendly and attentive. The restaurant menu had a good choice, with a cheaper option should you want a set meal. One criticism would be the wine list, which was extensive but rather expensive. Would we go back? Definitely, Poole is a lovely location and the harbour heights is a perfect setting.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Just back from a 4 night stay at the Harbour Heights Hotel, Sandbanks.
The hotel is one of 4 in the locality and if you stay at one, you can visit the other 3 and use their facilities.
Although the facilities at the Harbour Heights are limited, The Haven Hotel is nearby and has a lovely outdoor pool and access to a golden sandy beach.
Sandbanks as a holiday destination is excellent, with plenty to do and see, particularly when the sun is shining, as it did during our stay.
Our room was small but very clean and really had everything you need during a short stay.
The jacuzzi bath was a nice touch!
Food was good but not excellent and the fruit selection at breakfast was a little disappointing.
Still, all in all, I would recommend the Harbour Heights.

Room Tip: You must book a room with a harbour view. We had room 307 and the panoramic view was incredible - w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

stayed for 3 nights in May. Room was lovely with excellent bed and bed. The room was kept spotlessly clean by housekeeping and enjoyed breakfast each day overlooking the harbour. Looking forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1dws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

A rare weekend away for two was what we needed, so we searched on the internert, telephoned Harbour Heights direct and spoke immediately to Dimpy who was dealing with reservations on Thursday night, by Friday after work we were travelling to Sandbanks. She was helpful, knowledgeable and efficient organising our weekend and making us feel already there would be no hitches. We were placed in 204 - OUT OF THIS WORLD, straight away my partner and I switched off from London and the day to day challenges we face. Beauifully clean, tastlyfully decorated, staff were instantly friendly, nothing was too much effort, bar staff were accommodating, we arrrived late about ten o clock at night, rang Room Service immediately and the food was amazing, fresh well presented and the staff brought it up with fifteen minutes, again making you feel nothing was a problem. Well Done keep it up, we will definately be coming back, loved it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

This hotel has a raised position so most of the rooms and restaurant have fantastic view of the water front.
I arrived a bit late for lunch but the staff were very helpful and made a special lunch of Salmon Steak followed by Lemon Possett which were excellent.
Parking is a bit limited but they have a good system for residents.
It's good to see the Harbour Heights Hotel has invested in the property to ensure customers will want to keep coming back.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
6  Thank Gerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
0.3 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,792 reviews
1.3 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,539 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
2.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
960 reviews
2.9 mi away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Heights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Heights Hotel

Address: 73 Haven Road | Sandbanks, Poole BH13 7LW, England (Formerly FJB Collection - Harbour Heights)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poole
#4 Romantic Hotel in Poole
Price Range: £97 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Heights Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're retreating for romance or overnighting on business. Harbour Heights offers boutique and stylish surroundings, paired with panoramic outlooks over Poole Harbour and beyond. Every bedroom is carefully designed for comfort with premium vi-spring beds and jacuzzi spa baths to bubble away in. Many also boast harbour views with balconies to watch the world float by. We want our guests to experience exceptional food in beautiful surroundings. To do justice to the view, Harbar Bistro offers two AA Rosette Awarded cuisine, maintained by Head Chef Loic Gratadoux. When the weather's welcoming, bask in the sunshine with a glass of champagne or light lunch on the terrace overlooking the magical harbour islands. The Harbour Heights Hotel is located just a short stroll away from the prestigious Sandbanks beach and stunning Poole Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Harbour Heights Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Heights Poole
Harbour Heights Hotel Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing