We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous views over the harbour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Harbour Heights Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Lovely hotel, which we picked to stay at for the SandPolo tournament. Unfortunately in typical British style, it rained! Non stop, but that didn't stop you seeing the stunning views across the harbour from the bar, terrace and breakfast room.

We checked in and the service was excellent at reception, very welcoming and quick.

The room itself faced the car park, but we were literally out all day and all evening, so the view didn't matter to us, but if you stay here, definitely go for a harbour view. There's free wi fi too in the main areas of the hotel. The room itself was pretty small, However, it was very clean and functional. The bathroom was clean with a good shower.

We used the room service as we got back home late. Be aware that the room service menu looks good but most things are not served after 10.30 pm, apart from sandwiches. To be honest, they're quite expensive - two sandwiches, with a few crisps on the plate, were £16 (without the service charge they added on) and not really worth that, but when you're hungry.....
Breakfast was good. They have a buffet, continental service for you and a menu to chose from too. Good food, and very relaxed atmosphere with the gorgeous views, despite the grey rainy day.
I'd stay here again

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank KatrinaStamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (950)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

783 - 789 of 950 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2012

My Wife booked this hotel as a belated birthday treat for me. We booked a Harbour View room and were not disappointed, once the low cloud which accompanied a very wet grey day, on the day of our arrival had disappaited. The following morning the sun came out and the view across Poole Bay was stunning.
The food at the Harbour Heights is excellent, breakfast selection is all that you could want and we were so impressed with our meal on the first evening we did not eat any where else. We were joined by friends on our last night, who were equally impressed with the food, and the wonderful view across the Bay.
This is a great seaside Hotel, with wonderful cheerful young staff, who were not phased by any request, always delivered with a smile.
Congratulations to Management & Staff on providing a great short break.

Room Tip: Choose a Harbour View Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boris123Cardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We spent two nights here celebrating our wedding anniversary back in May and like other reviewers have said, from the outside the hotel didn't look that appealing, but once inside it was beautiful. The staff were extremely helpful and welcoming and our (standard) room was fine - smaller than I expected - but with a lovely view of the sea. We had dinner on the first night (part of the package) which was absolutely delicious, but the wine was expensive (£8.50 for a glass of saugivnon blanc / £24 for cheapest bottle). We were able to swap our two desserts for a platter of cheese between us (again very expensive at £12 and given it was a sharing platter we had to ask for more biscuits as it only came with about 4). The breakfasts were equally delicious - with every breakfast cooked to order - and the view from the restaurant was spectacular, overlooking the sea. It would have been great to have been able to sit outside and eat if the weather was better.

There was a wedding on the first evening we were there and a big birthday party on the second night but apart from the parking being very limited (because of so many cars), these functions did not affect our stay.

We used the "spa" facilities at the sister hotel The Haven, which was about a 5 minute drive away. We were very disappointed by this spa, given that it is a 4* hotel (although the hotel itself looked beautiful and we had a drink on the terrace watching the sun go down over the water which was wonderful). The changing room only had 3 cubicles, one of the toilets was out of order, the 2 showers (with nasty nylon curtains) weren't particularly clean and there was just one dispenser of cheap shower gel/shampoo - I was expecting luxury shower gel, separate shampoo & conditioner and body lotion etc (as provided in the hotel bedrooms). The outdoor pool was heated - so although the air temperature was only about 12 degrees, it was fine if you were underwater. However people were coming in and out from the outdoor pool to the indoor one with shoes/boots on, so the indoor pool-side was dirty and muddy in some places. Also the indoor jacuzzi was not working - it was just a hot tub. Judging by the prices the hotel were charging for spa/leisure membership (£1300 per year) I was expecting a lot more of a pampering experience - it was more like a trip to the local leisure centre.

On our second night we decided we would take a walk out and eat somewhere different, but there wasn't really anywhere you could easily walk to to eat or drink - so we opted for the other sister hotel (The Sandbanks) which was about a 5 minute walk away. This was the only place you could really walk to from Harbour Heights where they served food and drinks - and we had a meal in the bar which was fine (and much cheaper than the restaurant). We did find it odd that there were no other bars or restaurants along this stretch (apart from the beach cafe which was closed in the evenings) - you would imagine if there were, they would be packed in the summer.

All in all we had a lovely, restful weekend and we would definitely go back to Harbour Heights - but would probably not bother with the Haven spa again (unless it was hot and we could stay at the outdoor pool).

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dickie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a 3 night break away and were not disappointed. The location is very good and our room overlooked the harbour with a balcony which we couldn't use as the weather was so bad. The room was well equipped but in our view could do with updating and lacked the wow factor. There was also parties on the Friday & Saturday night with the guests staying at the hotel which made for quite disturbed sleep on both nights. Sunday night was much quieter but even then you could still hear other people. We ate in the restaurant the first night and the food was nice but overpriced as was the wine and felt we shouldn't have been charged for water at £3.95 per bottle. Breakfast was good and cooked to order with plenty of staff on hand & plenty of choice from menu. I would recommend this hotel and may stay again if we were visiting the area.

Room Tip: Request a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NIcolaP850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012 via mobile

We stayed for two nights mid week as part of our honeymoon. From the outside the hotel didn't look as attractive as what was to follow once inside. From reception onwards what a delight! Our room overlooked the harbour and we were fortunate enough to have such lovely weather that we could enjoy or dinner drinks outside. The staff were most accommodating and friendly whilst being professional at all times. The general manager, David, introduced himself and asked about our stay which was a lovely touch and James who was in charge of food and beverages couldn't have been more helpful.
The food, WOW!!! Totally scrumptious and the jacuzzi bath in our bedroom a touch of luxury.

Many thanks to all concerned and we will definitely return

Susan & Martin Coupe

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan0527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel for three nights in April. Although the hotel isn't that attractive from the outside, inside it has obviously been completely gutted and is beautifully furnished and decorated. It is also in a wonderful position with great views overlooking Poole Harbour, unfortunately the weather was not good and we did not get the chance to sit on their terrace which was disappointing. Our room was extremely spacious, comfortable and pleasant to spend time in. We had dinner included on the first night and the food was so good we decided to eat there again on the last night, the remaining evening we ate at the Lock Fyne just a couple of minutes up the road by car which was also very good. We were also very impressed with all the staff who were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is actually a few miles outside Poole situated in Sandbanks, it is extremely close to Compton Acres and a short walk to the harbour. We would certainly stay there again and recommend it to anyone else.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view. I understand that some of the rooms are fairly small so also check out the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClematisWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

The views from this hotel are wonderful & it has a brilliant terrace for sunny days. Unfortunately we were unable to use this as the weather was dreadful. The bedroom was pleasant with everything that you need although I did not see any complimentary water. i found the bathroom floor a little uncomfortable underfoot as it had quite a rough surface but it was well appointed. In the restaurant there seemed to be a lack of communication with a long wait for service & the food - I did not find the menu that appealing & it was quite expensive for what it was. A bottle of wine that was ordered was left on the bar & there were a few unnecessary limitations put on requests that could easily have been dealt with. It seemed to lack direction somehow - with the emphasis not enough on the customer - a little fawlty towers at times!
The included breakfast was quite good although the fresh fruit selection was quite minimal & the omelette I ordered was very odd -the chef's idea of this was certainly very different to mine - but the staff here were very helpful. I would stay here again though for the position & accommodation.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madeline34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
0.3 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,794 reviews
1.3 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,542 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
960 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
2.9 mi away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Heights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Heights Hotel

Address: 73 Haven Road | Sandbanks, Poole BH13 7LW, England (Formerly FJB Collection - Harbour Heights)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poole
#4 Romantic Hotel in Poole
Price Range: £96 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Heights Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're retreating for romance or overnighting on business. Harbour Heights offers boutique and stylish surroundings, paired with panoramic outlooks over Poole Harbour and beyond. Every bedroom is carefully designed for comfort with premium vi-spring beds and jacuzzi spa baths to bubble away in. Many also boast harbour views with balconies to watch the world float by. We want our guests to experience exceptional food in beautiful surroundings. To do justice to the view, Harbar Bistro offers two AA Rosette Awarded cuisine, maintained by Head Chef Loic Gratadoux. When the weather's welcoming, bask in the sunshine with a glass of champagne or light lunch on the terrace overlooking the magical harbour islands. The Harbour Heights Hotel is located just a short stroll away from the prestigious Sandbanks beach and stunning Poole Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Harbour Heights Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Heights Poole
Harbour Heights Hotel Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing