We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish hotel in great location..shame about the weather!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbour Heights Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Harbour Heights Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Stylish hotel in great location..shame about the weather!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2008

We stayed at the Harbour Heights on a Saturday night at the end of March. We arrived about 3pm and parked easily, but there were only a few spaces left. Very welcoming reception staff and checked in quickly. The hotel looks quite dated from the outside but inside is modern, contemporary and stylish.

We were so pleased with our room - we had an amazing view of the bay over to Sandbanks, Brownsea Island and Poole. We also had a large balcony but sadly couldn't make use of it because of the pouring rain and windy weather! The room was large with a very big bed, couple of armchairs and table, lots of storage space.

The bathroom was long and narrow, but quite roomy with double sink, power shower (excellent!) and jacuzzi bath. Nice toiletries too.

A few glitches which we had to report : faulty TV remote control and TV would not operate without it , hairdryer in bathroom did not work (there was another in dressing table drawer but had to hunt for it) , and bath plug had broken.

The hotel lounges and bars are very comfortable and the views are stunning. Shame we couldn't sit outside on the beautiful terrace. Thought the bar drinks were reasonably priced. A few of the bar staff did not speak very good English, and got our drinks order wrong and the bill needed correcting.

We decided not to eat in the hotel for our early dinner as we wanted to check out the local area. Receptionist very helpful and booked us a taxi to Poole where there are some great restaurants but we found a few of them closed, out of season I guess. A special mention to Hardy's in the High Street which opened early to let us in from the pouring rain. A fantastic cosy restaurant specialising in fresh fish. Really good quality and value and great service. We would definitely return, shame they didn't open for Sunday lunch!

Breakfast in the hotel was lovely, with a good choice. We noted that much of the produce is locally sourced, and their suppliers are proudly listed in the menus.

Beautiful weather on Sunday so we went for a walk on Sandbanks beach - check out the multi million pound mansions! Really great beach, such a gorgeous part of the country.

Though not cheap, would definitely return to the hotel, or perhaps its sister hotel The Haven which is right on the beach at Sandbanks and has more leisure facilities and a spa !

  • Liked — The location and views
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaldivesForever23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    267
    114
    55
    33
See reviews for
120
465
15
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2008

Stay ruined by a serious fight in the toilets and reception area. Relief when the police arrived. Wouldn't stay here again

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank WiltshireEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2007

I drank in the bar of this hotel many years ago, and decided to spend one of those "0" birthdays with my school years friends at the Harbour Heights.
After reading some negative reviews after booking, we approached the weekend with some trepidation. Well, the carpers must have stayed at some other hotel. From the moment we arrived we were treated incredibly well, the friendly helpful staff doing their utmost to make our stay special.
They went out of their way to accommodate one vegetarian, and the great success of our birthday bash was largely due to the discrete yet attentive service, superb food and drink. The rooms (4 in a row for us to be together) were comfortable, clean and well appointed with wonderful sea views, they even arranged the most beautiful sunset on my birthday!!
I cannot thank and praise Mr Ortega and his staff enough for a weekend I shall remeber for ever.

  • Liked — Superb location friendly staff clean well appointed rooms
  • Disliked — Leaving!
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philsally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2007

We spent a delightful weekend in a friendly, clean and very comfortable environment. The views were outstanding, the food truly superb, and the room spotlessly clean and well furnished. Added to this a helpful and very friendly staff. I could not fault the hotel, highly recommend it and look forward to my next visit.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank PSGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2007

We have just returned from a 2 night break at the Harbour Heights where every aspect of the service was simply outstanding. We are both regulars in hotels through work and have recently stayed in 5 star hotels abroad, however, never have we received such outstanding and personalised service as we did at the Harbour Heights. From the moment we entered the doors it was calm, relaxing, immaculate and so friendly. Every member of staff was going the extra mile at every opportunity and as I looked around I could see every customer receiving the same attention.
Our room was totally stunning with an amazing view and really spacious, the bathroom was also very big. The facilities such as spa bath and power shower are all of the best quality and add to the relax! Our bed was so comfortable we both wanted to take it home!
The food and service in the restaurant was really second to none, personalised service all the way, the staff can't do enough for you. Manuel the general manager is exceptional as he calmly moves in all directions at once ensuring that all customers and staff are happy. Fernando is excellent in the restaurant and highly knowledgeable in what he serves. James and the kitchen staff do an outstanding job, the cuisine is amazing and well worth a trip from any distance.
The hotel arranged for us to use the great leisure facilities at a partner hotel - whatever we wanted, it was never a problem. The hotel is close to beautiful walks in all directions. My brother had told me that at this hotel, everyone feels like royalty - and he was right. I recommend it highly to anyone who fancies a luxury break with a whole lot more besides. The whole experience was one of totally luxurious relaxation and I could not wait to pass this on to everyone!

  • Liked — PERSONAL SERVICE AND LUXURY
  • Disliked — NOTHING!
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olivia033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2007

We stayed at this hotel for two nights in September and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Our room was spacious and very clean and had the most wonderful view over the Harbour. As we had our own balcony we could sit out and enjoy the view and watch the world go by. Our stay encluded extras and the iced champagne, bowl of fruit and chocolates were beautifully presented and very much enjoyed.
The staff in the Hotel and the restaurant were very attentive and polite and could not do enough for us and always seemed happy in their work. We enjoyed leisurely meals and they were excellently presented and tasted just as good. Yes there was a wedding taking place on our stay but the music was not loud and ended at 12.00. Obviously the hotel car park gets full on these occassions but there is plenty of parking in the side roads with no restrictions. We would certainly be visiting this hotel again - hopefully very soon.

  • Liked — Harbour view
  • Disliked — No comment
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HyacinthBouquet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire,England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2007

Stayed here for one night on a spur of the moment decision. Got a great last minute deal over the 'phone. Somehow ended up with the only ? sea view room with balcony at a reduced rate, even though we only booked at 12:00 that day.

Despite other reviews on this site, we found the staff very helpful and friendly. Evening meal was superb. Enjoyed drinks on the terrrace overlooking the harbour and a fantastic 5 course meal, again with views over the harbour and the sunset. The meal lasted for 3 hours, but this is not a complaint, when the food is this good who cares if it lasts a long time. Staff were very attentive, kept the glasses full etc. Champagne is nearly as cheap/expensive as the wine in the 60 (from memory) page wine list.

The room was big enough and well equipped. We enjoyed a balcony with table and chairs overlooking the harbour. We were also above the restaurant and because there was a wedding reception in part of the hotel we could hear/enjoy the music. This ended at midnight and in no way spoilt our stay (we quite enjoyed it), however not everyone may share the same opinion.

The bed was a kingsize and was wonderfully soft. but solid at the same time, if that makes sense. Unlike other reviewers we did not feel the need to remove the mattress to find out how the bed was made !

Overall, we had a great night away from it all. The hotel was quite expensive, but we could not fault it or the staff.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gct1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.3 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 14 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 14 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#9 of 14 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#7 of 14 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Heights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Heights Hotel

Property: Harbour Heights Hotel
Address: 73 Haven Road, Poole BH13 7LW, England (Formerly FJB Collection - Harbour Heights)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#1 Luxury Hotel in Poole
#4 Romantic Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Heights Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're retreating for romance or overnighting on business. Harbour Heights offers boutique and stylish surroundings, paired with panoramic outlooks over Poole Harbour and beyond. Every bedroom is carefully designed for comfort with premium vi-spring beds and jacuzzi spa baths to bubble away in. Many also boast harbour views with balconies to watch the world float by. We want our guests to experience exceptional food in beautiful surroundings. To do justice to the view, Harbar Bistro offers two AA Rosette Awarded cuisine, maintained by Head Chef Loic Gratadoux. When the weather's welcoming, bask in the sunshine with a glass of champagne or light lunch on the terrace overlooking the magical harbour islands. The Harbour Heights Hotel is located just a short stroll away from the prestigious Sandbanks beach and stunning Poole Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Lastminute so you can book your Harbour Heights Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Heights Poole
Harbour Heights Hotel Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing