We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harbour Heights Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed here on the way home from a family funeral. I wondered if this had coloured my impressions of the hotel but decided not. Our welcome was warm but our room was cold. This was sorted out fairly quickly. We had a harbour view room which was quite small for a double but our daughter had a better sized room further along the corridor. The bed was a small double. Internet access was cable only in the room but wireless in the public areas. Our daughter had a TV remote without batteries. We ate dinner in the restaurant and were not terribly impressed. We felt the food was overpriced and not value for money. Breakfast was better. Attention to detail was definitely lacking during our stay but the staff were all very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreenDayFanUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (957)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

725 - 731 of 957 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013

Afternoon tea includes: 
A pot of hot water
One very small sandwich, with very thinly spread filling
Two miniature dry scones, with jam & cream 
A perplexed waitress 
A pot of hot water
Three bite sized cakes (bite sized is not an understatement) 
Another pot of hot water (which, when returned with the request for tea, was only bought back to us!)
Only £17.50 + service charge 

Completely agree with other reviews. How dare afternoon tea actually include tea! 

Shame the quality of food and service didn't match the stunning views. 

A bit of advice - spend less on lobsters and invest in some tea bags!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank kp2027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

The view excellent, however that is the only good thing to report. The afternoon tea was very over priced for what you get. £17.50 foe one sandwich 2scones one which was very salty and 4 inch square pieces of cake. We were given 3 pots of tea and 4 pots of hot water for 10 people. The service was poor, the head waitress didn't,t stop to listen when we were ordering. Much better afternoon teas had locally for a much better price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank Isabella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed here last June & chose to stay again as the choice in this area is quite limited.
Not good weather again so not able to use the terrace which is such a feature of this hotel.
The service was much better than last time & lunch was very good. The price of the room was somewhat higher than last year but the room itself was disappointing- smaller quite dated & with a very small bathroom. It definately seems to be cost cutting in this area - just a lonely bath gel & shampoo - no bathrobes, shower hat, conditioner etc. Added to this no wi-fi - although it is available in the lounge area -I would not have wanted to spend more than 1 night in this rather cramped room & did not think it worth the £175 price tag. However the room was spotlessly clean. Also no help with luggage - no porter service. Breakfast was included - was quite good - my eggs were a little undercooked & on the cold side as was the toast but lovely cappucino!

Room Tip: Has to be a seaview............
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madeline34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

A one night stay after having transferred from a less than satisfactory hotel a few miles away. Friendly check-in, great room even though not sea view. Spacious, clean, great bathroom/shower. Even though was two single beds put together as one, very very comfortable (very soft if you like that sort of thing). Staff in general very good, polite and efficient. Breakfast food OK - eggs under-cooked, although service was a little less smooth than should have been. You have to go and find things like sauces and all is a bit confusing in the layout for the self-service section. Very disappointed that my lunch things were still in my room upon returning 5 hours later in the early evening.....Just about makes it to 4 stars in my opinion and would stay there again, even if it was only to get through some of the very well designed wine list! (but a few more single vintage champagnes would be good?)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luke1068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FJBHotels, Public Relations Manager at Harbour Heights Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Thank you Luke1068 for this very positive review, we are so pleased that you were transferred to us and enjoyed our hotel with particular reference to the Harbour Heights wine list. We apologies however that some aspects of the service did not run to our usual high standards, however we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Really nice hotel. Me and my partner stayed here for two nights and found the staff very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean, airy and had everything we needed. Eating in the restaurant was a delight, a lovely sea view of the harbour and the food I cannot fault. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would go back again. The only fault was there is not a large car park, so we had to park across the road.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

A group of 7 of us enjoyed a meal at the Harbour heights. A lovely restaurant with fantastic views over Poole Harbour and the restaurant opens to a very large decking area with seats outside to enjoy on warmer days.

The service is impeccable and the restaurant itself very nicely decorated.

The menu choice is excellent and the quality of the food is superb. The seafood is particularly noteworthy!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FJBHotels, Public Relations Manager at Harbour Heights Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Thank you for this amazing review on our restaurant, our Head Chef, Loic, will be pleased. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
0.3 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,808 reviews
1.3 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,557 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
966 reviews
2.9 mi away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
853 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Heights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Heights Hotel

Address: 73 Haven Road | Sandbanks, Poole BH13 7LW, England (Formerly FJB Collection - Harbour Heights)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poole
#4 Romantic Hotel in Poole
Price Range: £95 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Heights Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're retreating for romance or overnighting on business. Harbour Heights offers boutique and stylish surroundings, paired with panoramic outlooks over Poole Harbour and beyond. Every bedroom is carefully designed for comfort with premium vi-spring beds and jacuzzi spa baths to bubble away in. Many also boast harbour views with balconies to watch the world float by. We want our guests to experience exceptional food in beautiful surroundings. To do justice to the view, Harbar Bistro offers two AA Rosette Awarded cuisine, maintained by Head Chef Loic Gratadoux. When the weather's welcoming, bask in the sunshine with a glass of champagne or light lunch on the terrace overlooking the magical harbour islands. The Harbour Heights Hotel is located just a short stroll away from the prestigious Sandbanks beach and stunning Poole Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Harbour Heights Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Heights Poole
Harbour Heights Hotel Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing