We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel - terrible service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harbour Heights Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2008

The hotel is beautiful with stunning views and it could be an incredible place to stay.

We booked over 20 rooms for ourselves and our guests to stay after our wedding - luckily we did not have our wedding or reception there!!

The whole process was chaos from start to finish and i really wish we'd stayed elsewhere.

The staff and their service let it all down and i really hope that something is done to improve it beacuse it would be nice to go for future wedding anniversarys - at the moment there is no way we will return.

Its totally overpriced considering the quality of service and as i said its a real shame because its a great property.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank girlbritabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (962)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

919 - 925 of 962 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2008

We stayed at the Harbour Heights on a Saturday night in June. We arrived about 5pm and found a space to park even though there was a wedding taking place in the Hotel. The reception staff were friendly. No offer of a porter but we only had one small bag each. The Hotel has been there there for a long time but has been refurbished in a stylish way.

Although it was very small we were pleased with our room - it had an amazing view of the harbour. The room was too small to spend much time in but the view was really special - marvellous to wake up to. It's a four star hotel so no turn down service but extra towels were delivered immediately when requested.

The bathroom was modern with a good shower.

The views from the restaurant and terrace are wonderful.The serving staff are helpful although one barman had to call a colleague as his english was not good enough to understand our drinks order. Dinner service was a little slow and pressured, presumably because it was Saturday evening and they were also catering a wedding reception. The food was served nicely but was only OK. I suspect on a weekday evening with no function it would be a lot better. I would stay in the Hotel again but possibly eat elsewhere if they had a function on that evening.

Breakfast was good and the hot food freshly prepared.

It's a short walk to the beach but if we were with children the sister hotels, Sandbanks or the Haven might be better as they have direct access to the beach. They also have swimming pools.

Check out was a little slow because of a computer glitch but as friendly as check in.

In summary, a stylish hotel with wonderful views.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hawtrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2008

We stayed at the Harbour Heights on a Saturday night at the end of March. We arrived about 3pm and parked easily, but there were only a few spaces left. Very welcoming reception staff and checked in quickly. The hotel looks quite dated from the outside but inside is modern, contemporary and stylish.

We were so pleased with our room - we had an amazing view of the bay over to Sandbanks, Brownsea Island and Poole. We also had a large balcony but sadly couldn't make use of it because of the pouring rain and windy weather! The room was large with a very big bed, couple of armchairs and table, lots of storage space.

The bathroom was long and narrow, but quite roomy with double sink, power shower (excellent!) and jacuzzi bath. Nice toiletries too.

A few glitches which we had to report : faulty TV remote control and TV would not operate without it , hairdryer in bathroom did not work (there was another in dressing table drawer but had to hunt for it) , and bath plug had broken.

The hotel lounges and bars are very comfortable and the views are stunning. Shame we couldn't sit outside on the beautiful terrace. Thought the bar drinks were reasonably priced. A few of the bar staff did not speak very good English, and got our drinks order wrong and the bill needed correcting.

We decided not to eat in the hotel for our early dinner as we wanted to check out the local area. Receptionist very helpful and booked us a taxi to Poole where there are some great restaurants but we found a few of them closed, out of season I guess. A special mention to Hardy's in the High Street which opened early to let us in from the pouring rain. A fantastic cosy restaurant specialising in fresh fish. Really good quality and value and great service. We would definitely return, shame they didn't open for Sunday lunch!

Breakfast in the hotel was lovely, with a good choice. We noted that much of the produce is locally sourced, and their suppliers are proudly listed in the menus.

Beautiful weather on Sunday so we went for a walk on Sandbanks beach - check out the multi million pound mansions! Really great beach, such a gorgeous part of the country.

Though not cheap, would definitely return to the hotel, or perhaps its sister hotel The Haven which is right on the beach at Sandbanks and has more leisure facilities and a spa !

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaldivesForever23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2008

Stay ruined by a serious fight in the toilets and reception area. Relief when the police arrived. Wouldn't stay here again

Stayed: December 2007
1  Thank WiltshireEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2007

I drank in the bar of this hotel many years ago, and decided to spend one of those "0" birthdays with my school years friends at the Harbour Heights.
After reading some negative reviews after booking, we approached the weekend with some trepidation. Well, the carpers must have stayed at some other hotel. From the moment we arrived we were treated incredibly well, the friendly helpful staff doing their utmost to make our stay special.
They went out of their way to accommodate one vegetarian, and the great success of our birthday bash was largely due to the discrete yet attentive service, superb food and drink. The rooms (4 in a row for us to be together) were comfortable, clean and well appointed with wonderful sea views, they even arranged the most beautiful sunset on my birthday!!
I cannot thank and praise Mr Ortega and his staff enough for a weekend I shall remeber for ever.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philsally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2007

We spent a delightful weekend in a friendly, clean and very comfortable environment. The views were outstanding, the food truly superb, and the room spotlessly clean and well furnished. Added to this a helpful and very friendly staff. I could not fault the hotel, highly recommend it and look forward to my next visit.

Stayed: October 2007
Thank PSGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2007

We have just returned from a 2 night break at the Harbour Heights where every aspect of the service was simply outstanding. We are both regulars in hotels through work and have recently stayed in 5 star hotels abroad, however, never have we received such outstanding and personalised service as we did at the Harbour Heights. From the moment we entered the doors it was calm, relaxing, immaculate and so friendly. Every member of staff was going the extra mile at every opportunity and as I looked around I could see every customer receiving the same attention.
Our room was totally stunning with an amazing view and really spacious, the bathroom was also very big. The facilities such as spa bath and power shower are all of the best quality and add to the relax! Our bed was so comfortable we both wanted to take it home!
The food and service in the restaurant was really second to none, personalised service all the way, the staff can't do enough for you. Manuel the general manager is exceptional as he calmly moves in all directions at once ensuring that all customers and staff are happy. Fernando is excellent in the restaurant and highly knowledgeable in what he serves. James and the kitchen staff do an outstanding job, the cuisine is amazing and well worth a trip from any distance.
The hotel arranged for us to use the great leisure facilities at a partner hotel - whatever we wanted, it was never a problem. The hotel is close to beautiful walks in all directions. My brother had told me that at this hotel, everyone feels like royalty - and he was right. I recommend it highly to anyone who fancies a luxury break with a whole lot more besides. The whole experience was one of totally luxurious relaxation and I could not wait to pass this on to everyone!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olivia033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
0.3 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,809 reviews
1.3 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
1,558 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
966 reviews
2.9 mi away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
855 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Heights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Heights Hotel

Address: 73 Haven Road | Sandbanks, Poole BH13 7LW, England (Formerly FJB Collection - Harbour Heights)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poole
#4 Romantic Hotel in Poole
Price Range: £95 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Heights Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're retreating for romance or overnighting on business. Harbour Heights offers boutique and stylish surroundings, paired with panoramic outlooks over Poole Harbour and beyond. Every bedroom is carefully designed for comfort with premium vi-spring beds and jacuzzi spa baths to bubble away in. Many also boast harbour views with balconies to watch the world float by. We want our guests to experience exceptional food in beautiful surroundings. To do justice to the view, Harbar Bistro offers two AA Rosette Awarded cuisine, maintained by Head Chef Loic Gratadoux. When the weather's welcoming, bask in the sunshine with a glass of champagne or light lunch on the terrace overlooking the magical harbour islands. The Harbour Heights Hotel is located just a short stroll away from the prestigious Sandbanks beach and stunning Poole Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Harbour Heights Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Heights Poole
Harbour Heights Hotel Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing