We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Harbour Heights Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Poor value for money”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Stayed 2 nights for a friends wedding which took place in the hotel. Overall we found it to be poor value for money and not worth its star rating.

Room size adequate, with the horrible view of a rusting external fire escape, where the staff congregated to smoke. Bathroom was very small, though the whirlpool bath was a bonus. TV was small by modern standards, and only had freeview and no Sky.

Food was disappointing with breakfast on the first morning's stay being cold and tasteless. You had to order hot food rather than helping yourselves, though the food was served cold in the end. The second morning's breakfast was better, though still very average and relatively tasteless.

The lady on reception was very helpful and chirpy, but the breakfast staff and management were quite off hand and unfriendly.

Wouldn't recommend a stay in the hotel except for great views overlooking Poole Harbour, and the hotel seems to play on that fact with their pricing. Quite a long drive and distance from Poole town centre. Nothing special. Overpriced for an average hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    278
    118
    56
    35
See reviews for
128
484
15
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
shropshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Very good hotel, well situated in Sandbanks area of Poole. Good rooms and excellent service from attentive staff. Views of Poole Harbour, Sandbanks and Isle of Purbeck are superb.Great restaurant facing Harbour.staff very attentive with excellent sevice.
Food quality is very good with wide choice of dishes,but prices are on the high side.

Room Tip: Request larger room facing car park. Harbour view is more expensive and rooms are smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laguna29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My husband went to this hotel for our wedding anniversary weekend. The room itself was lovely with a comfy bed and nice bathroom. On the Saturday night there was a wedding reception being held, hence many unhappy customers. Part of the bar area was closed off to customers. When asked if we could sit at empty tables in the restaurant was told NO as it was only for people eating. This was at 10pm hardly anyone was eating at that time. An elderly lady wanted to sit down and was told to go outside. I could go on but that alone has put me off going back. The wedding party was extremely loud especially when we wanted to get some sleep......

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marj65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Been their many of times went for Sunday lunch all very wonderful xx the service was good we had a two course Sunday lunch for 22 pounds and the children can have half portions which is good as I have a child of 5 and a child of 7 they like it their two

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank graceypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Went here for drinks on the terrace to enjoy the view. There had been a small rain shower prior to exiting on to the terrace and as the waiter showed us to a table I had to ask him to fetch a towel to wipe the chair & table, which he handed to me to do myself. Incredulous. I was further stunned when he asked me what I wanted to drink and I asked for a wine list. He looked at me and raised his eyebrows. I said 'wine list' he disappeared and a female waitress came out and said may I help you? I said I only asked for a wine list. She said 'im sorry he is new' I politely told her that if a waiter, all be him new, doesn't understand 'wine list' they need to look at their recruitment procedures! Eventually our drinks were delivered by yet another waiter and dumped on the table. My husband was so irritated at this point he went inside and demanded that they come back out, pore and taste and pore the wine as is customary, even in a dump like a Wetherspoons they do it. We didn't receive any nibbles, olives etc as one would expect from a hotel in such a setting and we had to ask twice for the bill, in the end giving up and paying at the bar. There was then a fiasco over our taxi which is too boring to relay but let me say we will never go back or recommend this place to anyone. Shame as the view is out of this world.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bella00Emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in August 2013 and what can I say? Good food, warm service, amazing view and perfect location to nip to the beech or Poole Quay. We found this hotel to be a hidden gem and will definitely be returning.

We booked via booking.com and thought we got a cracking deal.

Thank you HH

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Austriancrunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We booked a harbour view room (306), but it didn't look like those in the photographs, and like a previous review says, was quite small, there was only one armchair and you couldn't sit and look out of the window from where it could be placed!! You could stand between the bed and the window and admire the view, which is stunning and ever changing. In bed, I kept hitting my elbow on the bedside cabinet, and the bed valance was stained but everything else was very good. I'm told you can ask for one of the rooms in the on-line/brochure pictures. The staff were excellent as was the food and wine. The menu changes daily so plenty of choice. And you can use facilities in the sister hotels, two of which are a short walk away.

Room Tip: Ask the question about the room when you book… you may get lucky and get the view you pay for, even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justlettinguno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.3 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
1,448 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,664 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
876 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
2.9 mi away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Heights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Heights Hotel

Property: Harbour Heights Hotel
Address: 73 Haven Road, Poole BH13 7LW, England (Formerly FJB Collection - Harbour Heights)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#1 Luxury Hotel in Poole
#4 Romantic Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Heights Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're retreating for romance or overnighting on business. Harbour Heights offers boutique and stylish surroundings, paired with panoramic outlooks over Poole Harbour and beyond. Every bedroom is carefully designed for comfort with premium vi-spring beds and jacuzzi spa baths to bubble away in. Many also boast harbour views with balconies to watch the world float by. We want our guests to experience exceptional food in beautiful surroundings. To do justice to the view, Harbar Bistro offers two AA Rosette Awarded cuisine, maintained by Head Chef Loic Gratadoux. When the weather's welcoming, bask in the sunshine with a glass of champagne or light lunch on the terrace overlooking the magical harbour islands. The Harbour Heights Hotel is located just a short stroll away from the prestigious Sandbanks beach and stunning Poole Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Harbour Heights Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Heights Poole
Harbour Heights Hotel Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing