We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Penny pinching" - lacks quality and luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Harbour Heights Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
chippysmate
Level Contributor
109 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“"Penny pinching" - lacks quality and luxury”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed for 2 nights dinner, and tribute band, Ollie Hughes as Robbie Williams was great, but sadly he was only on for an hour, meal, very average
Room, standard room, cost £150, you would expect bottled water in the room, a TV that worked and didn't have a mind of its own, biscuits, only one packet for 2 adults, toiletries, no shower , no posh brands !!etc, very penny pinching
Very soft mattress, or was mattress worn?????? no change of clean sheets, no comfortable chair in the bedroom (get better at apremier inn)
Breakfast, limited choice, not much selection, one slice of bacon, one sausage (no posh sausage from butchers shop here)
Car park too small

Not great value for money ! my advice look elsewhere

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brierdene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    274
    117
    55
    36
See reviews for
125
480
15
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed here overnight for a wedding. The room was very well furnished and comfortable, with a large bathroom. The staff were efficient, very helpful and extremely friendly. We had a fantastic view over Poole Harbour. Excellent breakfast in the dining room again with views over Poole Harbour.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed 4 nights for a friends wedding which took place at the Sandbanks... Hotel location is very good for Sandbanks and Poole Quay, Bournemouth not far either. Ventured out to Swanage both by foot using the ferry then by car so that we could see Corfe Castle... well worth the trip. Poole Quay is filled with history with it's cobble paving. Shipyard/Boat yard was very impressive with it's magnificent boats. Beautiful little boutique shops tucked away. Beach is sandy and clean. Visited the sister hotel, Haven Hotel, to use the spa, sauna and steam and heated outdoor pool was amazing and very clean. Our accommodation was brilliant - very spacious room with stunning views across the bay. Each dish at dinner was beautifully presented - breakfast was fantastic and I really liked the fact that you didn't have to queue up for your breakfast this was made to order. Tea was piping hot ! Will definitely return to this fantastic hideaway !

Room Tip: I booked a Harbour view room - paid a little more but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 464Dimple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Stayed 2 nights for a friends wedding which took place in the hotel. Overall we found it to be poor value for money and not worth its star rating.

Room size adequate, with the horrible view of a rusting external fire escape, where the staff congregated to smoke. Bathroom was very small, though the whirlpool bath was a bonus. TV was small by modern standards, and only had freeview and no Sky.

Food was disappointing with breakfast on the first morning's stay being cold and tasteless. You had to order hot food rather than helping yourselves, though the food was served cold in the end. The second morning's breakfast was better, though still very average and relatively tasteless.

The lady on reception was very helpful and chirpy, but the breakfast staff and management were quite off hand and unfriendly.

Wouldn't recommend a stay in the hotel except for great views overlooking Poole Harbour, and the hotel seems to play on that fact with their pricing. Quite a long drive and distance from Poole town centre. Nothing special. Overpriced for an average hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Very good hotel, well situated in Sandbanks area of Poole. Good rooms and excellent service from attentive staff. Views of Poole Harbour, Sandbanks and Isle of Purbeck are superb.Great restaurant facing Harbour.staff very attentive with excellent sevice.
Food quality is very good with wide choice of dishes,but prices are on the high side.

Room Tip: Request larger room facing car park. Harbour view is more expensive and rooms are smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laguna29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My husband went to this hotel for our wedding anniversary weekend. The room itself was lovely with a comfy bed and nice bathroom. On the Saturday night there was a wedding reception being held, hence many unhappy customers. Part of the bar area was closed off to customers. When asked if we could sit at empty tables in the restaurant was told NO as it was only for people eating. This was at 10pm hardly anyone was eating at that time. An elderly lady wanted to sit down and was told to go outside. I could go on but that alone has put me off going back. The wedding party was extremely loud especially when we wanted to get some sleep......

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marj65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Been their many of times went for Sunday lunch all very wonderful xx the service was good we had a two course Sunday lunch for 22 pounds and the children can have half portions which is good as I have a child of 5 and a child of 7 they like it their two

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank graceypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.3 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#9 of 13 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
2.9 mi away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Heights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Heights Hotel

Property: Harbour Heights Hotel
Address: 73 Haven Road, Poole BH13 7LW, England (Formerly FJB Collection - Harbour Heights)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#1 Luxury Hotel in Poole
#4 Romantic Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Heights Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're retreating for romance or overnighting on business. Harbour Heights offers boutique and stylish surroundings, paired with panoramic outlooks over Poole Harbour and beyond. Every bedroom is carefully designed for comfort with premium vi-spring beds and jacuzzi spa baths to bubble away in. Many also boast harbour views with balconies to watch the world float by. We want our guests to experience exceptional food in beautiful surroundings. To do justice to the view, Harbar Bistro offers two AA Rosette Awarded cuisine, maintained by Head Chef Loic Gratadoux. When the weather's welcoming, bask in the sunshine with a glass of champagne or light lunch on the terrace overlooking the magical harbour islands. The Harbour Heights Hotel is located just a short stroll away from the prestigious Sandbanks beach and stunning Poole Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour Heights Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Heights Poole
Harbour Heights Hotel Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing