We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Harbour Heights Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
7Oaks
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed here for a weekend recently for our wedding anniversary and booked one of the harbour view rooms. Obviously it cost more than a standard room but that was our deliberate choice. I chose the hotel purely based on good memories from staying on a business trip 7 years ago.

The views over the harbour towards Brownsea Island, Poole, Sandbanks and areas beyond were grand, even in the somewhat blustery conditions. We sat in our room just looking out at the panorama. Views from the restaurant were almost as good.

The restaurant was excellent although I would say the main course choice on the evening set menu was a little limited, we ended up selecting from the a la carte or 'specials', not a problem for us but could upset some. I found the breakfasts being cooked fresh on demand was much better than food from your average Bain Marie's that most hotels use. I saw others have commented on the food not being hot enough but ours were absolutely fine.

Our room was clean,comfortable and nothing materially wrong on the maintenance front, the whirlpool bath was a nice touch. The air con/ heating took a bit of time to get going but got there and was actually controllable, something some other hotel systems don't achieve. We did have our own large balcony but aforementioned weather meant we would have needed heavy anchors to remain outside and the hotel didn't provide those.

The hotel clearly was not full and just maybe the good service we received In reception, bar and restaurant was the positive by product. The staff were all courteous to friendly, and seemed eager to be helpful.

Overall we were very pleased with our stay, it was relaxing, no complaints, and met our expectations so we would be very happy to return.

A couple of points to note, the free car park is fairly small and room, bar and food prices are not particularly cheap. The spa and gym facilities are at a sister hotel a little way away. But apart from that a good place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm5823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    274
    117
    55
    35
See reviews for
125
479
15
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Littleborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Positives: Great location. Free parking. Nice rooms. Nice bar. Fantastic view from terrace. Friendly staff.

Negatives: Have stayed a few times and always seems understaffed at Reception, lots of queuing. Have also stayed twice when lift was broken (> 2 days). Found the restaurant a little expensive.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Br00nie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
303 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We've not stayed here as we are local, but can highly recommend the restaurant and the bar. Both have THE best most special view summer and winter of Poole harbour towards Brownsea Island and beyond...This hotel is well worth a visit. In fact not sure we want to share this with you!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLoftysPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

HH is one of our favourite places. Unpretentious, good food, good friendly service, and the views over Brownsea Island and Poole Harbour are terrific. Good breakfast. We ate one night in the restaurant: good starters (confit of trout; beetroot and goat's cheese), fish and roast quail for mains. Service was good. The outside terrace is a real plus (though not for us this time given the big storm during our stay!).

Room Tip: Sea view room is a must. Third floor rooms tend to be smaller but quieter being on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dewmaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We have booked Harbour Heights through the Secret Escapes and we got a very good deal.Stayed in good sized room with big and comfortable bed. The room was very clean. We had a quite nice view. The service at the hotel was perfect. Very nice and polite people working in the hotel. Excellent service behind the bar, quite quick service during the breakfast in the restaurant.Breakfast was very tasty. We have really enjoyed ourselves there. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KasiaCe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Just back from a last minute overnight stay to meet friends. Booked on line and got a very good last minute rate including parking and breakfast. Reception was very friendly. Don't know if we got upgrade but room was excellent. Huge bed plus sofa and 2chairs. Everything well appointed and very clean. We had an inland view from 2windows. The restaurant and lounge have fantastic views overlooking the harbour area and Brownsea island. All staff attentive and helpful. Really could not fault anything and intend to revisit soon.

Room Tip: Very quiet location so no problems with any of the rooms, it is a matter of choice whether you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chippysmate
Level Contributor
109 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed for 2 nights dinner, and tribute band, Ollie Hughes as Robbie Williams was great, but sadly he was only on for an hour, meal, very average
Room, standard room, cost £150, you would expect bottled water in the room, a TV that worked and didn't have a mind of its own, biscuits, only one packet for 2 adults, toiletries, no shower , no posh brands !!etc, very penny pinching
Very soft mattress, or was mattress worn?????? no change of clean sheets, no comfortable chair in the bedroom (get better at apremier inn)
Breakfast, limited choice, not much selection, one slice of bacon, one sausage (no posh sausage from butchers shop here)
Car park too small

Not great value for money ! my advice look elsewhere

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brierdene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.3 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#9 of 13 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
2.9 mi away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Heights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Heights Hotel

Property: Harbour Heights Hotel
Address: 73 Haven Road, Poole BH13 7LW, England (Formerly FJB Collection - Harbour Heights)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Poole
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#4 Romantic Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Heights Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're retreating for romance or overnighting on business. Harbour Heights offers boutique and stylish surroundings, paired with panoramic outlooks over Poole Harbour and beyond. Every bedroom is carefully designed for comfort with premium vi-spring beds and jacuzzi spa baths to bubble away in. Many also boast harbour views with balconies to watch the world float by. We want our guests to experience exceptional food in beautiful surroundings. To do justice to the view, Harbar Bistro offers two AA Rosette Awarded cuisine, maintained by Head Chef Loic Gratadoux. When the weather's welcoming, bask in the sunshine with a glass of champagne or light lunch on the terrace overlooking the magical harbour islands. The Harbour Heights Hotel is located just a short stroll away from the prestigious Sandbanks beach and stunning Poole Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour Heights Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Heights Poole
Harbour Heights Hotel Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing