We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Harbour Heights Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We opted for a sea view room which was definitely worth it on a sunny day. The location was great with beautiful views over Poole sandbanks.

Reception staff were friendly and helpful, although some of the restaurant staff seemed a little abrasive/surly at times, but professional and attentive.

The rooms well kitted out well. Like another reviewer said, I found the mattress a bit soft - sunk in the middle.

The food was delicious (although my mother found some of the flavourings a bit overpowering with her evening meal). The breakfasts will set you up for the day that's for sure.

All in all a good hotel which I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: I would opt to pay a little extra for a sea view room if you are going when the weather is good. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissBeeDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (938)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

628 - 634 of 938 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

I stayed in a room with harbour view on the 3rd floor. The view must be one of the best views anywhere in the world and its here on our doorstep. There is a 180 degree view from east to west, from the Sandbank peninsula on the left through to Poole harbour to the east. A lovely early morning sunrise on the Sunday morning bathed the whole aspect in beautiful sunshine. The room and facilities were very nice and a very comfortable bed. At breakfast time one can sit and enjoy the fantastic view of the harbour and everything described above. A very pleasant stay and staff excellent. The view was so good it was hard to close the door and go home! Thank you hotel.

Room Tip: 307A fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Contrary to other reviewers we found the staff extremely welcoming, from reception, to restaurant through to the cleaning staff. Rooms aren't huge but, as we were travelling on a discounted amazon voucher, we didn't expect the best. They are well kitted out with TV, coffee making facilities, fridge and free WI-fi. The restaurant menu is new cuisine but very reasonably priced and the food was excellent. Digging deep to find anything to complain about, we would say that the matress was on the soft side but, despite this, a thoroughly enjoyable two night stay at a beautiful hotel in a beautiful location. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 300 overlooks the front of the hotel (inland) rather than towards the harbour, but very clean c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJ J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The hotel receptionist was amazing. Warm, chatty and informative about the hotel. Her bubbly personality and genuine desire to help was A+. The views where you have breakfast/lunch/dinner/cocktails are A+. Overall the service was A. Only once at breakfast did I need to seat myself. Rooms are OK. Rooms were made up every night and no problems. Food was OK. Full English breakfast was good. High Tea OK and burger had one evening satisfactory. Overall positive experience and would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: I was on the first floor and no view. But I was out of the hotel most of the day so this did not bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 11Boudica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on business booked through late rooms. The friendly staff throughout the hotel make it a pleasurable stay. Good location with excellent views. Breakfasts were good but didn't try evening meals as had to meet business colleagues.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gsjones399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

What a great location for a wedding, on a good sunny day overlooking the harbour the views are really worth the visit, hence its name. Food is very good, and service was excellent, drinking on the terrace is the best option.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 126iana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely stay over the valentine's weekend. Had previously read comments of the rooms being small, we stayed in room 306 and although not a huge room it was tastefully decorated with a Juliette balcony and lovely views of The Harbour. The shower was amazing!
Breakfast was delicious on both days with again fantastic views and we also had dinner on one evening which was excellent and great atmosphere.
Would thoroughly recommend staying here as great location to go off sight seeing or a walk along Sandbanks beach.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Busybel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
0.3 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,774 reviews
1.3 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,523 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
2.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
942 reviews
2.9 mi away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Heights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Heights Hotel

Address: 73 Haven Road | Sandbanks, Poole BH13 7LW, England (Formerly FJB Collection - Harbour Heights)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poole
#4 Romantic Hotel in Poole
Price Range: £98 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Heights Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're retreating for romance or overnighting on business. Harbour Heights offers boutique and stylish surroundings, paired with panoramic outlooks over Poole Harbour and beyond. Every bedroom is carefully designed for comfort with premium vi-spring beds and jacuzzi spa baths to bubble away in. Many also boast harbour views with balconies to watch the world float by. We want our guests to experience exceptional food in beautiful surroundings. To do justice to the view, Harbar Bistro offers two AA Rosette Awarded cuisine, maintained by Head Chef Loic Gratadoux. When the weather's welcoming, bask in the sunshine with a glass of champagne or light lunch on the terrace overlooking the magical harbour islands. The Harbour Heights Hotel is located just a short stroll away from the prestigious Sandbanks beach and stunning Poole Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Harbour Heights Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Heights Poole
Harbour Heights Hotel Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing