We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harbour Heights Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Having just spent two nights would thoroughly recommend.Fantastic views and what turned out to be a beautiful weekend.Lovely room with stunning vista.
Disappointed by the two fire doors under the mattresses!Maybe this was in answer to the critsicisms of the too soft matress by another guest.
The food was very good,although my partners salmon fillet with a selection of bean(?) was dull and boring.One of the fish (the special )was sold out at 8pm on Saturday.My mussells and fillet were beautiful.No one checked that all was well with the meal,even Harvesters do that!We had red wine and thought nothing of it,but noticed that when another table ordered red wine they changed the glasses for red wine glasses.
It would also have been nice to have been offered a window seat with such a great view.This seems to be an issue with The Haven and here,with priority given to restaurant guests rather than hotel guests.
Would we stay again definantly,would we eat in the restaurant again?Breakfast yes,dinner probably not.12.5% discrestionary service charge was also a bit "rich".

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (958)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

627 - 633 of 958 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

On a sunny, clear day is there anywhere better to have lunch than at the
Harbour Heights Hotel. We had a very good day, the service was spot on
and the food excellent. I ordered a simple sandwich which was like a meal
in itself. The other three in the group all had something different and there
were no complaints at all. All that with a terrific view looking over
Brownsea Island made it all perfect and we will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doneteaching2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

For anyone thinking of staying here, please make sure you make time to have a drink or meal on the rear terrace. The view on a sunny day is spectacular. Excellent staff.
Unfortunately I didn't have a very good night's sleep. Some guests may enjoy it but a mattress that is so soft it envelopes you when you lie down made me feel a little claustrophobic.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 174carlor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

went for lunch at the harbour heights in poole, the service was terrible, we sat for ages and no one came to our table to ask us for our order, when we did order the food was very substandard (although it was only a sandwich at lunchtime!) had to send it back and did not receive any apology at all. the staff seemed very disinterested in coming to serve anyone or cleaning up the tables after someone had left or finished their meal.
i would not recommend this place, very disappointing .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank cecetou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Nice hotel located a good distance outside Poole so no other facilities within walking distance but compensates for having excellent bar/restaurant in the hotel itself. Fantastic views over Poole harbour from the terraces and the restaurant – so great spot to just relax with a drink or evening meal. Hotel does cater for functions so some of the free space does get taken up if there is a reception going on in the hotel as does the parking which is reasonable for hotel this size but can get busy. Roadside parking is available.
We initially had room 210 which was a bit noisy as the extract fan from the kitchens is directly on the outside wall. Unfortunately the hotel was full on the Saturday (due to a wedding reception) so unable to relocate. We were assured that fan would be switched off at 11pm, which it was but there was a faint hum, possibly a generator, ongoing all night. Hotel did relocate us on following day to a suite on level 1 which was very nice and had balcony and unobstructed harbour views.
Food in the restaurant was very good, although choice was a bit limited and reasonably priced wine list – approx. £100 for 2 with wine. They do also offer set price 2/3 course menus. Breakfast was also very good although service a little slow even when not overly busy.
The restaurant does have a crab/lobster tank which does look a bit out of place as it’s really not in keeping with the décor and is a bit off putting if sitting next to for dinner - we had given the 2 remaining crabs names - so devistated when one was taken on the short walk to the kitchen.
Rooms were clean and well serviced and all the staff we encountered were pleasant and helpful so overall a very relaxing weekend away in a very pleasant hotel with great views.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west can be a little noisy with the air con plant/generators located on that side of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard-Moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My family arranged a surprise birthday celebration here for me - an excellent choice. Food was delicious catering for a variety of tastes, the service was exemplary with staff going the "extra mikle" and the view was absolutely stunning. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Sorry, we did not have an overnight stay, as we live locally.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine2812011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Having stayed in a sea view suite this Easter I would recommend it for the views for sure, however I don't envy you if you are on 1st floor i.e. Room 108/9 and there is a function on as that is what we had to put up with. Friday night disco with current chart music until 11:15pm and Saturday awful wedding disco music until 12:05am louder than night before and cheesy times made the matter worse. I think the staff could have the courtesy to pre-warn you about it but choose not to in fear you will be asked to move.

Putting those disturbances aside, the hotel and room is clean and tidy, having the choice of Jacuzzi bath or great power shower is a first for us, with plenty of hot water.

I think it’s worth mentioning, rooms come equipped with iron + ironing board, kettle + tea, coffee and mineral water, and even weighing scales(just want you want on holiday but a nice touch) and even heated bathroom mirrors so you can see straight away in mirror after a hot shower. All things worth a mention on their site but they are not visible.

They have a nice outside seating area for drinking/dining which is lovely when sunny but don't expect table service, inside bar lacks any evening ambience and staff could be more friendly for certain

Breakfast is mediocre although lacking in any choice for a vegetarian who may want scrambled eggs on toast or an omelette, and toast for one person is one slice of toast which is rather poor.

Recommendation is book dinner before 8pm, as my other half had to find four dishes before he could actually have his order taken that wasn't sold out. Even the lobster at £59 was sold out, so they dint buy in enough for dinner covers. My other advice is to not order vegetarian spinach and vegetables lasagne, as it is not a lasagne at all and is bland, no sauce or anything to bind it together!

As with most guest reviews, parking is an issue and is naturally on a first come basis, it's even more challenging when there is a function, so we ended up paying for cabs to Bournemouth & back to go shopping when weather was too cold for beach, I called a few firms and would recommend Poole Radio cars to anyone else staying, courteous, prompt and don't rip you off their number is 01202 666333.

Final acknowledgement goes to Tui Chandler the head receptionist at hotel who took control twice of situations and made everything OK.

Would we stay again, probably not, but would recommend it if you are prepared for all the glitches mentioned above. Insist at point of booking to not be out above function room and at least you can get a full nights rest!

Room Tip: Insist at point of booking to not be out above function room and at least you can get a full nights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kareninkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
0.3 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,808 reviews
1.3 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,558 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
966 reviews
2.9 mi away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
854 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Heights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Heights Hotel

Address: 73 Haven Road | Sandbanks, Poole BH13 7LW, England (Formerly FJB Collection - Harbour Heights)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poole
#4 Romantic Hotel in Poole
Price Range: £95 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Heights Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're retreating for romance or overnighting on business. Harbour Heights offers boutique and stylish surroundings, paired with panoramic outlooks over Poole Harbour and beyond. Every bedroom is carefully designed for comfort with premium vi-spring beds and jacuzzi spa baths to bubble away in. Many also boast harbour views with balconies to watch the world float by. We want our guests to experience exceptional food in beautiful surroundings. To do justice to the view, Harbar Bistro offers two AA Rosette Awarded cuisine, maintained by Head Chef Loic Gratadoux. When the weather's welcoming, bask in the sunshine with a glass of champagne or light lunch on the terrace overlooking the magical harbour islands. The Harbour Heights Hotel is located just a short stroll away from the prestigious Sandbanks beach and stunning Poole Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Harbour Heights Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Heights Poole
Harbour Heights Hotel Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing