We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A mixed bag” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbour Heights Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harbour Heights Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A mixed bag”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with the wife for one night and am still not sure if the good out weighted the bad.
The hotel has a spectacular location overlooking Poole harbour. We had a great room at also enjoyed this view. Room was large and airy with a decent bed plus functioning AC.
The food was very good. Turbot and the sole were well cooked and nicely presented. Smoked salmon and mussels as a starter were equally good.
Breakfast is cooked to order and again no real problems.
Not sure even where to start with the service which careered from excellent to appalling in a matter of minutes. Mid afternoon we sat for an age waiting for some bar snacks to turn up and had to chase the servers for drink refills and the food. It wasnt that busy. Service for dinner was a marked improvement in the main due to the restaurant manageress riding herd on the waiters and working the tables to ensure things were going well. Post dinner drinks were a farce. Had moved table to be a bit warmer but no staff waiting tables in the exterior bar area. The wife goes in search of a drink only to be told the malt whiskey she wants they don't have. Shame it was sitting in plain sight on the bar! I had slightly more success but I really don't appreciate being referred to as mate by the bar staff.
Would I stay at the hotel again? Yes. Would I use the bar or restaurant? Probably not if there was a closer alternative despite the quality of the food.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank mauimanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    267
    114
    55
    33
See reviews for
120
465
15
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I have never complained about a hotel before, but this is one of the worst experiences I have ever had. We booked a basic room for two nights, then asked retrospectively if we could upgrade the room. This was only possible for the first night as the hotel was fully booked the second. OK, no problem. We upgraded the room the first night, only to be told that we had to check out of our room at 11 and check in the other room at 2, which meant we would have to be without a room for 3 hours which they had not told us when we upgraded. The male receptionist was so indifferent to our situation and simply told us there was no way around it. Not until speaking with the manager, who was very friendly and helpful, it was possible to stay in our room until our other room was cleaned. Besides this, they forgot the paper we ordered one of mornings, forgot our breakfast order another. Generally, the staff appeared inexperienced, disorganised and unwilling to accommodate and the whole weekend We felt like we were being in their way. If it hadn't been for the manager we probably would have checked out after the first night. I would not recommend this hotel, and won't be returning.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matilda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We went to the harbour heights because it appears to be a lovely place, which it is except if you dining! We had booked for 7 on a lovely sunny day as it turned out and sat outside, only to be told that the 2 umbrellas were not working even though all the others were! We ordered wine before the meal which came quite quickly however they did not bring any glasses, so after waiting a good 5 minutes we had to ask for them, everything else was ok till 2 of us ordered coffee and one the cheese selection. Well we waited a good 5 minutes and then asked about it which brought out a plate and knife but no cheese! well after another 5 minutes at least and asking another waiter it did arrive. Wish we had not left a decent tip!!! The waiter looking after us was very friendly however we had 2 other people helping, so communication must have been very bad. This would not be acceptable anywhere but at this hotel just unacceptable. The place is lovely with lovely views but the service really spoiled the day. As it was a birthday treat I did not cause a fuss as it would have spoiled her day I am sure. Harbour Heights you can not get by on reputation you have to deliver all the time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tebula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

This place is completely mediocre. Rooms were ok... Bit dull - business/travelodge 10 years ago is how I'd describe it. Bathroom sink was the nicest part!!! The half view of the sea was nice. Other than that, if you're expecting 4* then its certainly not what id class as that. But if you're after somewhere relatively ok to just sleep in for a night or two then it'll do.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank lauz012001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening. 5 of us arrived for dinner at 7.15 to celebrate my birthday. We had pre dinner champagne on the terrace as it was a beautiful evening and we thoroughly enjoyed the stunning views. As mentioned the setting a magnificent. We were always going inside to dine and once settled by the window, all went smoothly, although we waited rather a long time for the drinks order to be taken and the drinks to arrive. The starters were good, the 4 steaks and 1 lamb dish arrived as ordered and we all enjoyed the meal. Nothing particularly appealed on the dessert menu so we just had coffee, but we were all full anyway. The staff were a little slow in responding to requests but not so much as to spoil our evening. This is the third visit (the first two as a couple) and have not been disappointed at all.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank RoseberyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Comfortable bed; lovely view; jacuuzi bath; friendly welcome.
Carry your own luggage; dining room service hit and miss; terrace service not good.
Overall we'd go again for a one night stay, but we may look elsewhere ....

Room Tip: Ours (210) was hot - due to the heatwave - aircon nothing spectacular so we had the window open, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Just had an overnight stay for our 25th wedding anniversary. Our room was on the third floor and overlooked the harbour. Spotlessly clean and the bed really comfortable. Tea making facilities with tea/coffee and shower gel/shampoo etc in the bathroom. We had a spa bath which was really nice plus a power shower. Breakfast was freshly cooked and really tasty. There is a large south facing terrace off the restaurant with amazing views. All in all a lovely hotel and we will definitely be returning for another long weekend.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jasmin4098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.3 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 14 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 14 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#9 of 14 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#7 of 14 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North Hotel
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Poole Centre (Holes Bay) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Heights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Heights Hotel

Property: Harbour Heights Hotel
Address: 73 Haven Road, Poole BH13 7LW, England (Formerly FJB Collection - Harbour Heights)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Poole
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#4 Romantic Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Heights Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're retreating for romance or overnighting on business. Harbour Heights offers boutique and stylish surroundings, paired with panoramic outlooks over Poole Harbour and beyond. Every bedroom is carefully designed for comfort with premium vi-spring beds and jacuzzi spa baths to bubble away in. Many also boast harbour views with balconies to watch the world float by. We want our guests to experience exceptional food in beautiful surroundings. To do justice to the view, Harbar Bistro offers two AA Rosette Awarded cuisine, maintained by Head Chef Loic Gratadoux. When the weather's welcoming, bask in the sunshine with a glass of champagne or light lunch on the terrace overlooking the magical harbour islands. The Harbour Heights Hotel is located just a short stroll away from the prestigious Sandbanks beach and stunning Poole Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Harbour Heights Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Heights Poole
Harbour Heights Hotel Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing