We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Harbour Heights Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We live locally but used the hotel to celebrate our Golden Wedding. We paid for twelve members of our family plus two friends to stay in the hotel for the weekend and booked a table in the restaurant for dinner for twenty one people on the Friday and so we were quite anxious as to the level of service, rooms and quality of food. Our family can be quite fussy! From the outside the hotel does look dated however, we need not have worried. We had inspected and chosen the rooms prior to booking and the hotel honoured our choices. We had the two Double De Lux Harbour View rooms as they are the only two rooms large enough to accommodate parents and two children. The other rooms were two Harbour View with Balcony and one for teenagers with Harbour View and no balcony. All rooms were large and well furnished with nice bathrooms including Jacuzzi baths and of course the fantastic views that you would find hard to beat elsewhere. Our families were delighted and said the service was excellent as were the breakfasts and the staff even prepared to push tables together at the last minute so they could all sit together. Our celebration dinner was faultless - yes, not cheap, but no more than expected in this class of hotel. Jessica, the restaurant Manager was wonderful. She could not have done more to make our party go better and liaised with us frequently to ensure that we had what we wanted after we had made the booking. For such a large party in a busy restaurant we had worried about service and quality of food. We had pre ordered from the menu and wine list and individual place names and menus were supplied by Jessica. All our guests agreed that the food and service were outstanding. So, many thanks to all at Harbour Heights for helping to make our weekend so perfect.

Room Tip: Harbour View Rooms. 104 and 204 are very large and can accommodate two extra beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandbanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    278
    118
    56
    35
See reviews for
128
484
15
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

My husband booked this hotel for our anniversary trip. I had no idea what to expect until I got there. The hotel was perfect. We had a room with a private balcony and spa bath. The hotel was clean, spacious and the staff were polite and appeared to enjoy their work.
The hotel is near the chain ferry to Studland Beach and ferry to Brownsea Island. Beautiful views over the harbour area, gorgeous sunsets.
The hotel food was amazing, melt in the mouth deliciousness.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Purplelove007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the third night in a south coast trip. Looked at the tips and asked for a room with a harbour view. We had room 310 which had two small balconies and a fantastic view over the entire harbour and Poole. The room had a king sized bed and great decor in the bathroom. Nice shower. The room is a little 80's in decor but very comfortable. The bar and restaurant were excellent and the breakfast was good too. Cooked to order so a little wait but plenary of other choices out to snack on while waiting and appreciate the beautiful views. Good hotel, clean, friendly staff and reasonably priced for the service and views.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jay Mel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Met a business colleague for breakfast we both ordered eggs Benedict and had one hot drink each. food was good. Bill was £33. Did not question it at the time as with colleague. rung later and spoke to duty manager and told that their breakfast is a flat rate of £16.50 each which is very good value as you can have as much as you like. However this was neither on menu or explained by waiting staff. duty manager apologised but that was it. Poor. Will not be returning.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dorset139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The staff were all very polite and friendly. The bedroom was rather on the small size but the views from the room was lovely. Breakfast was excellent, a great selection of hot and cold meals. We prepaid £25 each for a 3 course meal but when we got there they said we could have anything on the menu up to the value of £29 each (sea bass was £24), this was not what we had paid for so after much discussions with the hotel we were given our £50 back. The view's and cocktails on the panoramic terrace was amazing. The sunset was so bright you could not look at it for long. All in all this hotel is very good and the only reason I did not give it 5 stars was because the bedroom was very small.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraShakira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
240 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We went for dinner for the 2nd time in 6 months. Lovely views, good service, delicious food, especially the risotto, highly recommend for a relaxed meal, with friends. Good cocktails and a good selection of wine.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKMary611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
350 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Good WiFi throughout the hotel with decent speeds average 20Mb down and 5Mb up.
Well appointed standard room. Good shower, powerful and easy to use. Jacuzzi bath worked well if a bit narrow but I'm not a small chap. Our aircon was not working. Reported it on way out for evening, nothing done about it 4hrs later. Extractor outside the room vibrates like a helicopter on the roof. Management advised they might be able to 'turn it down' overnight - which they did (but not until late in the evening), causing us no further concerns. Unable to move us due to hotel being fully booked. Absolutely unacceptable noise/vibration for a hotel booking of this supposed quality. Light bleeds in under door making absolute darkness an impossibility. A real pain when you are used to it.

Service in the lounge was almost non-existent as we had to go to the bar to be served. Bar staff stating better service with waitress but as wedding party was in the hotel, this was not the case and decided to sit at the bar - this happened twice. Due to the wedding/reception, parking was an issue with a lot of double parking going on.

Discussed the various issues encountered during our stay with the manager who offered a £20 discount due to the aircon problems. As these had previously been highlighted online in July via trip advisor contributors, I will be taking this up with 'Head Office'. Maintenance does seem an issue with the unbalanced extractor fan, ineffective aircon and sometimes problematic lift door. Seeing the word 'refurbished' on lift plate does nothing for confidence. Outside of that we would have enjoyed our stay in a nicely appointed room.

Room Tip: Avoid 210 with extractor outside on wall (unless fixed) and aircon was non-existent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Brooska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.3 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
1,448 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,664 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
876 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
2.9 mi away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Heights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Heights Hotel

Property: Harbour Heights Hotel
Address: 73 Haven Road, Poole BH13 7LW, England (Formerly FJB Collection - Harbour Heights)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Poole
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#4 Romantic Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Heights Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're retreating for romance or overnighting on business. Harbour Heights offers boutique and stylish surroundings, paired with panoramic outlooks over Poole Harbour and beyond. Every bedroom is carefully designed for comfort with premium vi-spring beds and jacuzzi spa baths to bubble away in. Many also boast harbour views with balconies to watch the world float by. We want our guests to experience exceptional food in beautiful surroundings. To do justice to the view, Harbar Bistro offers two AA Rosette Awarded cuisine, maintained by Head Chef Loic Gratadoux. When the weather's welcoming, bask in the sunshine with a glass of champagne or light lunch on the terrace overlooking the magical harbour islands. The Harbour Heights Hotel is located just a short stroll away from the prestigious Sandbanks beach and stunning Poole Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Harbour Heights Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Heights Poole
Harbour Heights Hotel Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing