We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Harbour Heights Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed 2 October 2009

We recently had a celebration wedding lunch at the Harbour Heights, the lunch was fantastic, the quality of the food was excellant, the service spot on. All the meals arrived together (there were 22 of us) and the staff were faultless, what a lovely experience. We also stayed over for a night, the room was clean, bit small, but the sunset over Brownsea made up for any shortcomings. All in all, a really good experience.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherries2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelResponsePoole, Revenue Manager at Harbour Heights Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2009
Cherries2009 - thank you so much for taking the time out to review our hotel after your celebrations. Your review is really appreciated and it’s always so nice to hear positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and wish you every success in your new lives together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    282
    119
    56
    36
See reviews for
130
492
15
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
essex
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2009

we have just returned from three nights at harbour heights hotel and found it a wealth of hospitality encasing high standard of accommodation and excellent crusine served by professional and friendly staff

m& j larner essex

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgejohn67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelResponsePoole, Manager at Harbour Heights Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2009
Dear georgejohn67 thank you for your review and positive comments. We fully appreciate the importance of our staff to the business, it is always nice to hear that they are appreciated and that you found them friendly. The Harbour Heights is well known for its cuisine, our Head Chef prides himself in preparing high quality dishes prepared with seasonal and local products.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2009

We stayed for 3 nights at the harbour heights hotel. We took advantage of the 3 nights for the price of 2 offer staying in a family room. This made the cost of the stay a little more affordable. If we had payed the full price we would have felt the hotel was overpriced. Staff were friendly and room was very nice it could maybe have been a bit bigger for a family of 4. We only ate breakfast at the hotel as the evening menu was very expensive and dont cater well for children. However breakfast was very nice but could have been more choice for continental. we would recomend this hotel to others but take plenty of money with you.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rzp1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelResponsePoole, Manager at Harbour Heights Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2009
rzp1977 – Thank you for your comments. Obviously we are disappointed to hear that you consider the hotel to be overpriced as many of our guests comment on the Harbour Heights being exceptionally good value for money. Admittedly The Harbour Heights does not cater particularly well for children as it is a Boutique hotel, our sister hotels (The Chine and The Sandbanks) are the child friendly hotels within the group. We do run special offers during off peak periods so hope you will take the opportunity to visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2009

We returned yesterday from a 3 night stay at Harbour Heights Hotel. On arrival we were made to feel very welcome by the receptionist with a quick and easy check in. Our room on the second floor was lovely spotlessly cleaned with the most stunning and beautiful views I have ever seen. We ate in the restaurant one evening and the food was first class as were the breakfasts every morning served by a very pleasant waitress. We have never visited Poole or the Harbour Heights before but we certaining will be returning again. Thank you very much for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P0ppyd0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelResponsePoole, Manager at Harbour Heights Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2009
Dear P0ppyd0g – thank you for your kind comments, it is always nice to read positive reviews. We are so pleased that you felt so welcome at The Harbour Heights and enjoyed your stay. The Poole area offers so much to see and do, not to mention that the unique views from the hotel terrace can keep you occupied for hours. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2009

I have visited The Harbour Heights on many occasions for lunch, mainly during the weekend, with my partner and his family. I must say over all the experience was very pleasant. The food, especially my starter, was presented in a nouveau cuisine style which was very pleasing to the eye and tasted wonderful. The subtle flavours really complimented eachother. For my main course I went with the Leg of Duck with the red wine jus (I think) which was cooked to perfection and simply fell away from the bone...delicious! The wine menu was very diverse and I found a lovely bottle of wine that now I tend to order everytime I return.

The only disappointments I would point out was during my first visit when the obvious new waiter could not understand that we wanted a pint of lager, a half pint of lager and a gin and tonic. I had to resort to literally spelling it out for him. For a waiter to not understand that is slightly worrying?! The service is otherwise good but could be improved. For example, providing a more sturdy table, this was very annoying whilst trying to enjoy the whole experience. Creating more room on the table as we finish drinks etc. However the staff and the manager were very friendly and attentive.

The breathtaking view I was a bit disappointed with as the foliage had obviously recently sprouted up so the harbour was quite hard to see but overall a very pleasant place to enjoy a peaceful meal. We spent £120 for three of us to have three courses, drinks, wine and coffee which I thought was incredibly reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleLadyNewForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelResponsePoole, Manager at Harbour Heights Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2009
LittleLadyNewForest – thank you for your review and feedback. The foliage seems to have grown especially quickly this year, which is a shame because as you quite rightly say the view is breathtaking. Thank you also for your comments regarding the waiter, this is not acceptable and has been flagged to the team as an urgent training need. Overall though it sounds as though you enjoy visiting the hotel and dining with us, so we look forward to seeing you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2009

Travelled to the Poole area to attend a charity event and the Harbour Heights hotel was all that was available for one night, on the date we required My partner booked the hotel on the internet and paid up front, but on arrival to be requested his card details and presented with a bill. After a difficult conversation with the Eastern European receptionist about why details where required, we checked into our room. The room was an average size and there was limited view of Poole harbour. Whilst checking out the room , I discovered trousers from previous occupant left in the trouser press, no complimentary water and the mini bar empty. Raised the above with reception, who removed the offending trousers and provided water within 10 minutes. But not the minibar.. This requires for a request form to be completed before the Minibar can be filled!! So, we didnt bother. On top of that they impose a service charge of £5 on any room service!!!!!!

Didnt bother to use the restaurant or bar, as there was a wedding on and was busy. Due to an early start, missed breakfast too. (Breakfast is not served in the restaurant or room service until 0800 hrs on a Sunday).

Parking at this hotel is limited and when busy, the only option is to park in the road outside. In all had a lousy night sleep, due to the dripping noises from the blocked gutters, when it rained and couldn't check out sooner. This hotel at £150 per night, is more expensive than the Marriott, with half the facilities and trying to be something it is not!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Limehouse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelResponsePoole, Manager at Harbour Heights Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2009
Oh dear, Limehouse1, you certainly seem to have caught us on a rare bad day. It is obviously very disappointing to read your review and to realise that one of our guests felt so dissatisfied with their stay. However, we remain grateful for your comments and constructive criticism as this helps with on-going training and development. I hope that perhaps you will return sometime and give us the opportunity to show you how wonderful and memorable a visit to The Harbour Heights can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2009

I read all the reviews on the Harbour Height Hotel - and was not looking forward to the wedding i was attending last weekend.
All i can say is there must be 2 Harbour Heights - as the hotel i was at was amazing. The staff (yes alot were eastern europeen - i know that gets some peoples backs up) but they where faultless, the food lovely and nothing was too much trouble.
I would most definatly recommend this place!

Stayed May 2009
Helpful?
Thank Shawfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelResponsePoole, Manager at Harbour Heights Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2009
Well they say the things you do not look forward to, can be the best and Shawfire it certainly seems as though this is true of your experience. The Harbour Heights has a great reputation as a wedding venue, with our wedding organiser Beverley and her team giving 100% - or more – every single time. I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit so much and of course that you are recommending us. I hope you will find another ‘excuse’ to visit us soon, perhaps for a relaxing weekend break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.3 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
1,466 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#9 of 13 in Poole
1,691 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
894 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
2.9 mi away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Heights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Heights Hotel

Property: Harbour Heights Hotel
Address: 73 Haven Road, Poole BH13 7LW, England (Formerly FJB Collection - Harbour Heights)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#1 Luxury Hotel in Poole
#4 Romantic Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Heights Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're retreating for romance or overnighting on business. Harbour Heights offers boutique and stylish surroundings, paired with panoramic outlooks over Poole Harbour and beyond. Every bedroom is carefully designed for comfort with premium vi-spring beds and jacuzzi spa baths to bubble away in. Many also boast harbour views with balconies to watch the world float by. We want our guests to experience exceptional food in beautiful surroundings. To do justice to the view, Harbar Bistro offers two AA Rosette Awarded cuisine, maintained by Head Chef Loic Gratadoux. When the weather's welcoming, bask in the sunshine with a glass of champagne or light lunch on the terrace overlooking the magical harbour islands. The Harbour Heights Hotel is located just a short stroll away from the prestigious Sandbanks beach and stunning Poole Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Harbour Heights Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Heights Poole
Harbour Heights Hotel Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing