We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best wedding venue shame about the staff and management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harbour Heights Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2010

Well - how disappointing not to be able to write a glowing review after our wedding. The harbour heights is the most amazing venue for a wedding - first and foremost because of the view . It was perfect. The only problem was the management and terrible, incompetent staff who made the run up to the wedding stressful - how the hotel is still operating I do not know. We had 4 different wedding planners over a year - the last one leaving the week before our wedding and not bothering to tell us. Even the reception staff were useless - it was like fawlty towers gone wrong! However they redeemed themselves on the day - which went like clockwork - the food was amazing and the location just perfect and everyone had the best time - and what a spectacular view. I wouldn't have changed the day for the world.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozzyoscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (958)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

886 - 892 of 958 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2010

Very comfortable room - spacious, clean and with all necessary amenities. Stayed on a delegate rate - dinner was very good for the price. Staff attentive and very accommodating - service was prompt and efficient. Only downside was it did not have a gym although they offered use of a sister hotel nearby. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avidtraveller57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

Stayed for two nights at start of June, arrived just as sun was starting to set so when we saw the view from our room we were both stunned. The room was very roomy Decided we should venture down to the famous terrace for a drink to watch the sun set. We took a seat on the terrace and waited, and waited there were a few waiters buzzing around other tables, we appeared to be invisible. Ok there was a wedding party in the main part but thats no reason to ignore the rest of your guests, eventualy my partner went into the bar and brought drinks, we decided to eat out that night at a gastro pub we discovered on our last visit, we asked one of the waiters if they could order us a taxi, this was not a problem until we said where we were going, obviously not a fan of guests not eating at the hotel. We sat waiting for our taxi , eventualy asking the same waitress who had "just been informed by reception that our taxi had been outside for 5 minutes" comunication obviously a problem here, before we managed to get out we were challenged by the waitress who wanted to asscertain that we had paid our bill, even though everything had already been charged to the room. Breakfast was adequate , tosting your own toast seemed like an adventure, eventualy after 8 trips through the toaster I managed to get toast, we noted that this troublesome machine had been removed the next day. Overall the hotel is very good, well decorated small gripe that flat screens have been instaled in the room but the old "TV Unit" furniture remained. Minibar in the room remains empty unless you ask for it to be stocked, slightly unusual.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasondoes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelResponsePoole, Owner at Harbour Heights Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2010

jasondoes1 – Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write and post this report. We appreciate guests have certain levels of expectations, and it is regrettable, to read, that we seemed to have fallen short of yours on this occasion.
I can assure you that the Management Team are not content to allow our stunning views, contemporary style and unique location to be the hotel’s only advantage. We have an extensive programme of training and development of all staff and if key areas are not meeting our high standards, then it is always useful to gain your feedback.
Please be assured that your review has been acknowledged and will be actioned accordingly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2010

We read the reviews on Trip Advisor and were slightly attracted to the potentially negative comment made by another reviewer as "a place for old people". We are not old, middle aged in fact, but we wanted somewhere quiet, peaceful and a place to recharge our batteries.
.
On arrival at the hotel and prefering to unload our own bags from the car, suddenly a member of staff appeared and insisted on taking our bags and proceeded to carry them up the 2 flights of stairs allowing us to use the lift. He did this with a smile and an obvious desire to please.He didnt stop for a tip and this didnt appear to be his motivation to assist us. And am very sorry but have forgotten your name
The reception staff were cheerful, helpful and always acknowledged you when you went through the foyer. We have stayed at some hotels, where this was not the case.
Breakfast was truly exceptional where my specific order was made to perfection.The quality, standard of presentation of the buffet was superb. We have stayed at many hotels around the world and would really recommend Harbour Heights.
Overall we found excellent staff which is a reflection on good management practice

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sueb03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelResponsePoole, Management Representative at Harbour Heights Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2010

sueb03 – Thank you for taking the time and trouble to prepare this review.

I am very pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay and found the staff so helpful and pleasant.

It is interesting to read that a potentially negative comment in one review has actually had a positive effect and encouraged you to visit. I trust that you found the hotel relaxing and returned home fully charged.

Please do continue to recommend us, and we hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2010

Have spent a wonderful time at this hotel . I booked our stay DB&B and had superb food in the restaurant with attentive and friendly staff . My Artichoke Risotto was beautifully cooked and presented.
We had a table with fantastic views of the sea . I must mention also the wonderful outside terrace with again terrific sea views. Why not try a lovely cream tea with warm scones , it was delicious.
Our room was again faultless .
I would like to say Thankyou for a wonderful stay and wish the Hotel and Staff a great Summer .

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelResponsePoole, Management Representative at Harbour Heights Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2010

Sophs2 – Thank you for your review. I am pleased to learn that you had such a wonderful time at The Harbour Heights.

Thank you also for your good wishes regarding the summer period, it is certainly both nice, and encouraging, to think about the opportunities for sitting outside on the terrace once again.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2010

Unfortunately we only stayed here for one night as a birthday treat, but it was almost completely faultless. Although we had eaten at this Hotel before & are local to the area, as a member of Trip Advisor I still like to look at other peoples comments. Sometimes it is wise to take negative comments with a pinch of salt & question what people are actually looking for, and perhaps they are travelling with extra luggage (mentally, not physically!). Our only VERY small complaints were the type of flooring in the bathroom & that there was no shelf in the bathroom to put our toiletries or wash bag - barely worth mentioning!! The view we had was worth everypenny! We ate in the restaurant, and again no complaints - the food was delicious. Unfortunately, we arrived to breakfast quite late & by the time we had eaten a very nice cooked breakfast, the croissants & danishes had all gone!! However, the view in the restaurant made up for no croissants. We also paid to have chocolates in our room, and again, they were devine. Sandbanks is a beautiful area of the Country & this Hotel has embraced its surroundings.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pceskew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelResponsePoole, Management Representative at Harbour Heights Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2010

Pceskew - What a wonderful location at which to enjoy your birthday!

I am pleased that you had such a wonderful stay with us, especially as your visit was for a special occasion. Sadly, we can take no credit for the amazing view, but are honoured to own (and work at) the hotel, we are fortunate to have all 4 of our hotels situated in such beautiful locations.

Thank you for your comments on the bathroom, these have been referred to the management team for their consideration.

I am pleased to learn that the food was “delicious” and that you enjoyed the chocolates so much. I hope everything combined provided a very memorable birthday.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2010

Six of us dined here for a special occasion and throughly enjoyed the meal. The wine list is always interesting and well chosen. The head waiter always greets us warmly.
This is the only place where I will eat lobster because it comes fresh from Portland and is cooked from the tank in the restaurant. Either the thermidor or salad are quite superb.
Hot native oyster starter with spinach and cheese was also delicious! Others enjoyed tasty fillet and rib eye steaks. The mussels are also the best in Poole, offered two different ways.
It is relatively expensive but the views are so beautiful.
Sometimes, I feel that the staff could be a little more present and attentive, but I rate the new chef an improvement on an already good menu.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deskjet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelResponsePoole, Management Representative at Harbour Heights Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2010

deskjet2 – Thank you for your review and positive comments, all of which will be passed onto both the Chefs and the restaurant team.

I am sure that our Head Chef, Norman, will be very pleased with your comments on both the Lobster and the Mussels, especially as they come with such high recommendations from yourself.

We have noted your thoughts regarding the restaurant staff and will address this with both the Restaurant Manager and his team.

Charles, the Sommelier takes a great deal of time and effort to select the wine list, and indeed our Managing Director occasionally adds a favourite or two of his own, so I am pleased that you found it so interesting.

It appears that you are probably local to the hotel, and the harbar Bistro itself, so we hope to see you back again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
0.3 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,808 reviews
1.3 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,558 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
966 reviews
2.9 mi away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
854 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Heights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Heights Hotel

Address: 73 Haven Road | Sandbanks, Poole BH13 7LW, England (Formerly FJB Collection - Harbour Heights)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#2 Luxury Hotel in Poole
#4 Romantic Hotel in Poole
Price Range: £95 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Heights Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're retreating for romance or overnighting on business. Harbour Heights offers boutique and stylish surroundings, paired with panoramic outlooks over Poole Harbour and beyond. Every bedroom is carefully designed for comfort with premium vi-spring beds and jacuzzi spa baths to bubble away in. Many also boast harbour views with balconies to watch the world float by. We want our guests to experience exceptional food in beautiful surroundings. To do justice to the view, Harbar Bistro offers two AA Rosette Awarded cuisine, maintained by Head Chef Loic Gratadoux. When the weather's welcoming, bask in the sunshine with a glass of champagne or light lunch on the terrace overlooking the magical harbour islands. The Harbour Heights Hotel is located just a short stroll away from the prestigious Sandbanks beach and stunning Poole Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Harbour Heights Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Heights Poole
Harbour Heights Hotel Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing