We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location”
Review of The Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Haven Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Poole
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed 30 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed in an amazing room
With panoramic views of harbour and had a wonderful time our only complaint was with the restaurant it was nouveau cuisine and the portions very small my husband had fish with a tiny bit of veg ( not a balanced meal ) he was hungry after the meal, and I had meat in my meal which was not mentioned on menu and
I am a vegetarian! when we mentioned to waitress she did absolutely nothing, so we both went hungry rather than make a big fuss ( they were very busy with a big party but not really acceptable for prices we were paying ) we ate out after that but without a car this is difficult (cabs or buses)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dozadavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    517
    279
    152
    83
See reviews for
273
762
39
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We have stayed at the Haven before and the location never fails to put a smile on my face, sitting with a G&T watching the activity on the sea is fab! but i feel i must point out how disappointed i was that the lift, corridors (carpet held together with tape) and paintwork still need a serious overhaul...We also prepaid over £600 for our 3 night stay and when it came to paying for the extras on leaving, we were charged for a glass of champagne that we didn’t have along with an extra night stay!

Always check your bill as this isn’t the first time it’s happened! Hummm

I must say the staff in the main our really pleasant especially the Manager at breakfast, he was always very professional and happy, we did feel that there were a lot of staff this time who did not want to be there!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Treacle7895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

The missing v on the hotel sign made fawlty towers come to mind. However the reception entrance is very nice and the staff are very polite and helpful. We were checked in very quickly even though we arrived a little early. The hotel is in a very good position right in the middle of Sandbanks with beautiful views. Our room had a balcony with a bit of a sea view. The door to the balcony had no key for the lock but instead a makeshift bolt at the top. The shower was pretty limp but the bathroom was in good order. The bed was reasonable but not great. There was a good size tv on the wall which worked very well. We ate in the restaurant mainly due to the bad weather and not wanting to go far. The food was expensive for what it was but well cooked. I think this hotel could be fantastic with a little bit of updating of the rooms without wrecking it's character. You do get quite a lot of posh people staying here but generally it's not pretentious due to the friendly staff who are an asset to the hotel. There is a nice outdoor pool which would be great in the summer season as well as a small indoor pool which is not really for swimming in.

Room Tip: A sea view room would be worth the extra money. Book direct with hotel as we got this £20 cheaper th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mummybobYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Just returned from a weeks stay at the Haven. Was pleased with the location of the hotel which overlooks the beach and Poole Harbour. Enjoyable time, lovely room on the third floor with twin aspects. Good facilities and service. Would definately stay there again. However, in late season, not many places to eat in the evenings within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cassie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

This is a nice Hotel with good facilities however avoid room 118 for the bathroom is terrible. You cannot swing a cat around in it. For this class of hotel we found it quite disgusting and very uncomfortable The management were unconcerned, I suppose it was because it was for one night only. We also found the breakfast to be cold. Very poor value for money.
.

Room Tip: Avoid room 118
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1embassy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We booked ths hotel for a short 2 day mid week break without any research as we wanted to get away for a couple of day's rest. What a break it was, so good that we extended our stay by a further night.. not cheap but well worth the money. The rooms are grand, the location is absolutely sensational- right on the sea shore next to a little ferry t4o get you across from Sandbanks to Studland then Corfe Castle is 5 miles and Swanage is 3 miles rather than a 50 minute drive round Poole. Now to the food .. we were on dinner bed and breakfast, the cuisine is international the brigade of chefs absolutely great!! They were the reason for the extended stay. Breakfasts from Full English to Eggs Royale ( with florentine and benedictine in between). Having just read the reviews of benyemin and yummiUk we disagree entirely regarding the restaurant. No waiting to be seated for breakfast, the only small criticism is that the restaurant gets busy due to its popularity in the evening with the locals and clients so you may have to wait a ittle while, butr the hotel has to make a profit. Wake up and smell the coffee otherwise it waon't be there. Absolutely great break!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: We had a room inland view which is good enough you only sleep there a sea view isn't worth anot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucks
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We have long wanted to spend time at the Haven Hotel and last week-end, we had the opportunity to celebrate my wife's birthday there. The combination of the great weather and location was just a dream. Our room had a great balcony and the outdoor / indoor leisure facilities were first class. Although all the staff were welcoming and friendly, the service could have been better at times and the food is not as good as you would expect at a hotel of this quality. Having said all that, the whole experience was thoroughly enjoyable and we look forward to another visit.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank happycoupleBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poole
1.1 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,692 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
895 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
4.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haven Hotel

Property: The Haven Hotel
Address: 161 Banks Road | Sandbanks, Poole BH13 7QL, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Haven)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#3 Luxury Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Haven Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Haven Hotel is a luxurious four-star spa hideaway. Perched at the tip of the exclusive Sandbanks peninsula in Poole and surrounded by sea and sand. With direct access to seven miles of beaches and just a couple of steps away from Purbeck over the Shell Bay chain ferry. It’s your gateway to South Coast adventure. Featuring elegant and spaciously designed bedrooms with modern creature comforts. Many of which offer ocean view balconies, so that you can embrace the sea air in your pyjamas. We believe that these naturally beautiful surroundings deserve food that’s a little special. La Roche at the Haven Hotel offers an ambient place to dine. Highly acclaimed by locals and recognised for first-class service and exceptional quality with two prestigious AA-Rosettes. Maintained by the talent and skill of Head Chef Jason Hornbuckle. When the Sandbanks sun shines, our terrace is an enviable spot for alfresco dining. You can literally hear the waves crashing as you recline with a glass of wine. Relaxation is often thought of as a luxury; at the Haven Spa we think it’s a necessity. Haven Spa is a sanctuary to unwind your mind and come to your senses. Stroll from the indoor hydrotherapy pools to the chic outdoor heated pool, complete with sea view Jacuzzi and sun lounger area. Allow yourself the luxury of a spa pampering, performed by our highly experienced and friendly therapists. We’ve chosen VOYA seaweed products to relax, beautify and rejuvenate our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Poole
Haven Hotel Poole
The Haven Hotel Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing