We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short break”
Review of The Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Haven Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Poole
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“short break”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

a pleasant stay in a harbour view room.
the room was decorated well and was clean at an average level.
the heating was not warm enough and the bathroom had a heated towel rail and no further heating could do with further radiator.
the views are stunning this makes up for any shortfall.
the spa was great and warm the staff were helpful outside hot tub not working! shame.
breakfast was good and choice was plenty.
the staff were very good and helpful.
we stayed on a voucher and i would not be to happy if we had paid full price having said that
we still paid £25 per night for a room with a view..........that was the highlight

Room Tip: choose a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FJBHotels, Online Team at The Haven Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Thanks for your comments Kevin G. Sorry about the problems you had with the heating. If you'd like to let us know what room you were in we'll be able to look into it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    518
    279
    153
    84
See reviews for
274
764
39
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Visited this week for lunch to celebrate my wife's birthday.

As other reveiwers have said the views of the sea and the mouth of the harbour are really nice. When you sit at your table it just as if you are at sea, on a cruise. The service was very good too, adding to the illusion. The restaurant has 2 AA rosettes for 2013 and many years before, so you feel that you are in good hands, as indeed you are. The maitre d is attentive at all times and our waitress was first class. At lunch time you can eat in the bar or in the restaurant. In the restaurant they have a table d hote menu priced at either £29.50 for 3 courses or £22.50 for 2 courses. With the benefit of hindsight we would probably been ok with 2 but we couldn't resist the desserts. I think the food was all of a very good standard as were the pre lunch drinks in the bar. It was good to see the barmaid cool the inside of my glass before she presented me with my drink, a small touch perhaps but it makes all the difference.

So would I recommend The Haven for lunch? Yes I most certainly would!

We had decided to take the open top bus from Bournemouth (No. 50). Thus we were able to see our bus back, as it travelled across the harbour on the chain-link ferry, giving us plenty of time to catch it from just over the road.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ericBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FJBHotels, Online Team at The Haven Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Thanks for your comments ericBournemouth. Really pleased you and your wife enjoyed your lunch with us (and a belated happy birthday to her!). You must pop back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We stayed at this hotel in early January just after the New Year rush had ended and all revellers had left the premises a few days earlier. The hotel was therefore uncrowded - probably about ten couples, two families and a handful of singles on business.

The hotel is at a magnificent location on the Sandbanks peninsula, at the tip, just by the ferry to Studland.

The view from our sea view room was also really great - across Poole Bay to Studland and Old Harry Rocks. The sea was about ten yards from our balcony.

The room was large and well appointed (though operation of the TV provided an amusing but baffling ten minutes). The bathroom was minute but modern.

Breakfast was good with a range of fruits/cereals and cold plates or cooked if wanted.

The hotel does not have a lot of character but was comfortable and the staff were friendly and professional.

We also ate at the restaurant one evening. The food was presented and cooked well, though not an adventurous menu and not cheap.

We went there on a deal. This made the two nights stay very good value.

We would go again.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are fantastic - but at a premium
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EverhopefulLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FJBHotels, Online Team at The Haven Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Thanks for your comments EverhopefulLondon. As you say, it really is worth upgrading to take in the sea views towards the Isle of Purbeck. Hope you'll come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

This is the 2nd time I’ve stayed at The Haven Hotel and the reason I came back…. One of the best locations of any hotel in the world. Stunning views of Old Harry Rock, easy walk to Café Shore where I always have a good steak and access to the ferry from your door step so I can get out on the bike over into Corfe etc. I must add the staff are great, helpful, attentive and make a difference.
The problem with having a hotel and good staff in this location is they don’t need to renovate their tired rooms to attract more bookings. The bedrooms I stayed in (2nd floor) both needed serious renovation… plastic floor in bathroom and gale-force wind coming through 1950s windows, along with v. old TV and bed/bedding. Pipes for heating banged all night and the doors to the rooms are so thin every wedding party member crawling back to bed sounds like they’re coming in! Breakfast isn’t great either, poor produce kept warm meant I stuck with the January detox!
However, I’ll go back again, as in my view, it’s the best hotel due to its location in the area. Just don’t plan on a good room, unless you want to go back in time!

Room Tip: I think some of the rooms have been renovated.... must have!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brown911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FJBHotels, Online Team at The Haven Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Thanks for your comments brown911. I'm sorry you were affected by the wedding taking place in the hotel. I'll pass your comments about the bedrooms onto our management team. We've had a lot of rooms refurbished on the second floor - let us know when you're staying next and we'll see if we can allocate you one of those.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Stayed a night after xmas dinner dance. Mixed feelings about the evening, some good, some not so good. I arrived mid afternoon, friendly reception, lovely room, stunning view and room very clean. Bed very comfortable, room a good temperature, no complaints there at all.

In the evening, some 70-odd guests arrived in one end of the evening reception room, with the bucks fizz located on the other end of the room, so everyone had to fight their way through to get a drink. The drinks reception area was far too small for the numbers being catered for. Then we went through to the meal and there was 1 member of staff with a list of names telling everyone where they were seated, one by one, you can imagine how long the queue was! why not just put up a board with the table plan on like every other hotel so people can look for themselves and move on through?

Anyway the starters and main courses were really really good, very well presented and very tasty, the desserts not so well presented and they were not as poplular (except xmas pud that went down very well, lots of empty plates).

We then had the speeches, took ages to find someone to turn down piped music and to get a microphone, depite telling them well in advance that this would be required. There were just no staff to be found.

On to the disco, brilliant disc jockey, very good music, almost everyone dancing, excellent fun.
But it got very very hot in the room and it wasn't until the duty manager was told that the air-con was turned on, we asked 4 members of staff prior to that. We had ordered 2 extra bottles of wine per table (as the staff were getting through it a bit) and there was a significant delay in getting this bought out.

Whilst we were dancing, the staff milled around clearing empty glasses and empty water jugs so we had to keep going to the bar to get wine/water glasses and water jugs, only to have them removed as soon as they were empty and you weren't sitting at the table - infuriating!! We spoke to 3 members of staff at around 23.30 to ask them to stop clearing all the glasses as there were full bottles of wine on the table and no glasses with one and a half hours to go. The response - you can always go to the bar and get more glasses, we are only clearing the empty ones!

However, lovely nights sleep and very tasty breakfast in the morning.

Breakfast was lovely

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kayleigh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

My friend and I stayed here in December 2012, the weekend before Christmas. The hotel is immaculate with spacious rooms. We made full use of the spa which is stunning and has indoor and outdoor pools and hot tubs. We had breakfast and lunch in the restaurant and thought the food was of a very high standard. We would like to return to this hotel in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlyollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We have stayed at The Haven many times over the past years, we've enjoyed its shabby charm and its fantastic location, and, having had a great Christmas there in 2011 we decided to rebook for Christmas 2012. What a mistake.

We stayed in a good sized room with balcony and lovely views. But:-

The room had a tiny radiator and was cold. There was no thermostatic control.

There was no hotel information folder in the room.

The television was not user friendly. We asked at reception for assistance, no action was taken.


There was no mineral water in the room - yes I do expect this in a 4 star hotel, and at Christmas.

On the other hand the room was immaculately clean and the chambermaid was extremely efficient.

Christmas meals were taken in the main restaurant. This room was
overcrowded, with tables crammed up against pillars. The only table decorations were Christmas crackers, on Christmas day, at lunch. Otherwise - nothing. The waiting staff, delightful Spanish students, were overworked and inexperienced, with little notion how to set or clear a table. A main amusement at meal times was watching these poor souls negotiate the dining room, desperately seeking the correct tables for the food they were carrying. On at least two occasions we were served the wrong food and wine. We were not alone. There is some really good cooking going on in this kitchen, it's one of the reasons we returned this year, difficult to appreciate, though, if you're never sure if and when it was going to arrive. I don't blame the staff, I blame the management.

Throughout the Christmas period there was no escape from the raucous Christmas Muzak that permeated all the public rooms. There really was nowhere, other than the cold bedroom, to just sit and be quiet.

On talking to other disgruntled guests we were told that the hotel had lost several of its management staff a few weeks before. (One wonders why staff had decided to walk just before Christmas). This might explain some of its problems but does not excuse the inconvenience to its guests. This was Christmas in a 4 star, so called luxury hotel.

Of course The Haven has good points. The location, and proximity to wonderful beaches is unsurpassed. The spa, with its amiable and helpful staff, is a definite doubleplus. And on our last night we dined in La Roche restaurant. Lovely food and excellent service from the same young waiters that had been so stressed in the main restaurant. This was the standard I'd envisaged for my stay at The Haven. But this is a beautifully managed restaurant.

The Haven has so much going for it, but there's something self satisfied about the way it's run at the moment. Please will somebody take hold of this hotel and give it a good shake!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank sheila g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.1 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,694 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
898 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haven Hotel

Property: The Haven Hotel
Address: 161 Banks Road | Sandbanks, Poole BH13 7QL, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Haven)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#3 Luxury Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Haven Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Haven Hotel is a luxurious four-star spa hideaway. Perched at the tip of the exclusive Sandbanks peninsula in Poole and surrounded by sea and sand. With direct access to seven miles of beaches and just a couple of steps away from Purbeck over the Shell Bay chain ferry. It’s your gateway to South Coast adventure. Featuring elegant and spaciously designed bedrooms with modern creature comforts. Many of which offer ocean view balconies, so that you can embrace the sea air in your pyjamas. We believe that these naturally beautiful surroundings deserve food that’s a little special. La Roche at the Haven Hotel offers an ambient place to dine. Highly acclaimed by locals and recognised for first-class service and exceptional quality with two prestigious AA-Rosettes. Maintained by the talent and skill of Head Chef Jason Hornbuckle. When the Sandbanks sun shines, our terrace is an enviable spot for alfresco dining. You can literally hear the waves crashing as you recline with a glass of wine. Relaxation is often thought of as a luxury; at the Haven Spa we think it’s a necessity. Haven Spa is a sanctuary to unwind your mind and come to your senses. Stroll from the indoor hydrotherapy pools to the chic outdoor heated pool, complete with sea view Jacuzzi and sun lounger area. Allow yourself the luxury of a spa pampering, performed by our highly experienced and friendly therapists. We’ve chosen VOYA seaweed products to relax, beautify and rejuvenate our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Poole
Haven Hotel Poole
The Haven Hotel Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing