We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It lives up to its name!”
Review of Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Haven Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Just back from a 3 night break & have to say the location is superb. We had a fabulous large bedroom on the corner of the hotel (room 111) that had huge french windows opening onto a balcony that went all round to the 2nd bedroom & bathroom further back. Extra bedroom was not requested but it was useful extra space for coats/suitcases etc. It also had another tv if needed. Lovely spacious hallway, & bedroom was large enough for a seating area with 2 easy chairs.
Bathroom was good but only had shower over the bath (they do not do shower cubicles in that type of suite??) Breakfasts were great, buffet style + options to order, eggs florentine, kippers, smoked haddock/poached egg etc. All delicious, with a beautiful sea view as well. We ate in the dining room each night & found the food very good, although some of the options were rather strange, such as sea bream a la grecque, which was a beautiful piece of fish, rather spoiled by being in a soup bowl with vegetables & broth?? Staff were all excellent, hotel was spotless, some bar prices a little over the top, however all in all very good. Would have liked a robe in the bathroom, complimentary water in the room, & would prefer the "10% discretionary tip" not automatically added to the bar bill, wine bill etc.

Room Tip: Always pay extra for sea view, well worth it. Room 111 had huge bedroom/sitting room, 2nd smaller be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FJBHotels, Online Team at Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2013

Thank you for your comments Cathy R. Glad you liked the room. 118 is actually one of our deluxe executive rooms. We have two suites in the hotel which both have spa baths and walk in showers. We'll be happy to show you the suites when you're down next.

I'll pass your comments about the room facilities and the tips to our management team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,331 - 1,337 of 1,557 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2013

Booked a getaway for myself and hubbie on their special Jan/Feb deal - paid up front to get the better rate and somehow ended up in a suite!

We arrived in the evening so managed to completely miss the sign on the side of the building showing us where the entrance was. Initial thoughts were that the hotel had closed because it was all so dark around what we thought was the entrance. Once we'd sorted ourselves out and got in to the building we checked in with a very friendly receptionist - I don't think he missed out any thing in telling us info on the hotel.

Our room was lovely and the living room area overlooked the tennis courts and out towards the chain ferry (didn't hear any noise from it). The bedroom was large and bed was very comfortable. We had 2 bathrooms, 1 with jacuzzi bath. I was a bit chilly on first arrival and turned the radiators up, went off for a swim and when we got back the rooms were boiling. The 1st morning the cleaner really whacked the heating up as well, still at least you know it works!!

We really enjoyed the swimming pool and spa area. The steam room is hot (quite a few places we've stayed in have had tepid at most steam rooms), the spa pool very relaxing and the swimming pool great, even in February weather. It was a bit of a bun fight getting anytime in the outdoor hot tub but this was lovely (and nice and warm) when we did manage it.

We didn't eat in the restaurant (although did find someone else's bill on our room on check out - swiftly amended by reception) so can't comment on food other than breakfast which although a breakfast buffet, was still very good and watched over by staff rather than being left to dry out under the heating lamps. Both mornings we asked to sit by the windows to look out to sea which was fantastic.

All in all, a lovely, relaxing time away. Not really sure you absolutely need to get a sea view when the restaurants and swimming pool both have stunning views - depends how much time you spend in the room I suppose.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FJBHotels, Online Team at Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Thanks for your comments Fiona. It's an interesting point you've made about the arrival at the hotel and something we'll definately look into. That aside (and the heating!) we're really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and made use of the spa. Hopefully next time you visit you'll be able to try out our restaurant too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Will be back in the summer. Great one night stay while visiting the cafe shore, just 10 minutes walk. The room was nice and would upgrade to a sea view next time. The facilities are good and the breakfast was first rate. The pool is more suitable for a warmer time of year as it is outside, they have a splash pool and a good spa.

Room Tip: Choose a/sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FJBHotels, Online Team at Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Thanks for your comments David, and pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully the sun will be out and the weather much hotter when you visit us next!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We had a lovely stay for one night. Paid extra for sea view and say that this is a MUST! The view is the most fabulous, I have seen for ages. We were in room 304 which is in fact one of the rooms shown in a previous reviewers photograph. The only downside to the room is that we were too warm up there, even in February with the radiator off and the windows fully open. It wasn't till the next day that we discovered the portable fan in the cupboard. I'm not sure why this room gets so hot. Maybe it's because it is on the third floor, in the eaves. The room was comfortably furnished and well appointed.
I must mention Alan on reception. He is fairly new to the hotel, I believe. He was helpful and efficient. He answered all our queries and also got the bedside light bulb replaced almost immediately after he was told.
I think the major draw of this hotel is its location. It is literally a stone's throw from the sea and small beach.( just lean out of the window, aim carefully and throw!) If you like to hear the crash of the sea against the rocks/shore , then you won't be disappointed. Some people have mentioned the regular clunking noises of the chain ferry and this is true. However, it stops at 11.10pm during low season and in the morning I was too taken aback by the beauty of the morning sunrise over the sea, to notice the noise. Maybe I was getting used to it! I think it adds to the charm of the place actually.
Leisure facilities were great. Relaxing. We even did a few lengths of the outside pool!
Breakfast buffet excellent.
All staff friendly and extremely polite.
Would I return? MOST DEFINITELY.

Room Tip: Room away from chain ferry and regular clunking noise, if possible. Don't bother going if you wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JewelHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FJBHotels, Online Team at Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Thanks for your comments JewelHB. Have to admit, we never get tired of the view! I'll pass your comments onto Alan as well. Look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Having passed by this hotel for about 45 years while crossing on the Sandbanks Ferry, my curiosity got the better of me when I saw a short-break offer. I'm glad I made the effort.

It'sa little old-fashioned, but quite cosy for a large establishment. The decor might look a little tired in places, and a bit of redecoration wouldn't go amiss, but nothing serious. I'd upgraded to a sea-view room, and it was worth it for the view. I guess in summer it would be even more interesting when there's a lot of pleasure craft going in and out of the harbour. The south-westerly gale and blizzard on the second night did provide a bit of a challenge for the window-frames!

Room was a decent size, well-furnished and bed comfortable. Floor was bit creaky, which didn't bother me but must have irritated any guests downstairs! Wifi (free!) worked ok, considering we were on the top floor, and TV was a good quality model. Bathroom was fine as well.

We didn't eat meals in the restaurant as I thought it looked a bit pricey, but breakfasts were excellent. We were so taken with the choice that we never noticed the menu on the table for food that could be cooked to order. Hard to think of anything that wasn't on offer. Restaurant has a great view over the sea. There are eating places within 15 mins walk, but being Sandbanks, the only place we know of that's reasonably-priced is the New Beehive at Canford Cliffs, and you'd probably want to drive there.

The health/spa facilities are also good. The gym is well equipped with a good range of the latest machines. The indoor pool is more for chilling out than swimming, but the outdoor pool was big and warm enough even with air temperatures of zero! (it gets uncovered for a couple of hours morning and evening). Good sauna and steam room. Helpful staff. Also, although there are memberships for non-residents, it never seemed busy.

One very minor point to note - if you're a light sleeper and don't like waking early, the chain ferry does provide a bit of a background rattle from about 7am. (But it's a very friendly sort of rattle!)

I'd happily repeat the experience (but probably only on an offer, as I'm a bit tight!)

Room Tip: The sea view rooms probably have a better view than the rooms with a balcony (and those are nearer t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewForestTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FJBHotels, Online Team at Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Thank you for your comments NewForesttraveller. Really pleased your curiosity got the better of you! We hope to see you soon (keep an eye on our special offers page on our website!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Arrived at hotel, lovely big car park. Went to reception and everything 100%. Had a fantastic room, great bar and views.

And what a fantastic restaurant and wonderful food, all 5 star!!!!! and a great price, £22.50 for 2 course, £29.50 for 3 course. The decor makes you think your on a high class liner, very nice!!

No complaints whatsoever so highly recommended.

Dennis Gull

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dennis15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FJBHotels, Online Team at Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Thanks for your comments dennis15. We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Only stayed here for 1 night and it was perfect, upgraded to a seaview room with balcony that was well worth it. Stunning views across the sea to Studland etc.. Room was lovely too. the spa area was fantastic with usual steam room, sauna etc the indoor pool was warm and had 3 jacuzzui areas there is also a seperate indoor jacuzzi, outdoors is a hottub and a good size swimming pool with plenty of beds around. The restaurant and bar are very modern and the food is really good.
Hotel is a great location for visiting all the area.
Overall a great night stay and would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: go for a seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FJBHotels, Online Team at Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Thanks for your comments PaulDay, Hope you come back and see us very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.1 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,808 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
966 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
3 mi away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haven Hotel

Address: 161 Banks Road | Sandbanks, Poole BH13 7QL, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Haven)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#3 Luxury Hotel in Poole
Price Range: £60 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Haven Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haven Hotel is a luxurious four-star spa hideaway. Perched at the tip of the exclusive Sandbanks peninsula in Poole and surrounded by sea and sand. With direct access to seven miles of Blue Flag beaches and just a couple of steps away from Purbeck over the Shell Bay chain ferry. It’s your gateway to South Coast adventure. Featuring elegant and well-appointed bedrooms with many of which offering ocean view balconies. We believe that these naturally beautiful surroundings deserve food that’s a little special. Highly acclaimed by locals, The Point Restaurant serves a two AA-Rosette awarded cuisine helmed by Head Chef Jason Hornbuckle. When the sun shines, our terrace is an enviable spot for alfresco dining. Why not indulge yourself at the Haven Spa and prepare to be pampered and spoilt? Whether working up a sweat in the gym or relaxing in the outdoor heated swimming pool, the Haven Spa is the perfect place to unwind your mind and reinvigorate your body in complete luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Poole
Haven Hotel Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing