We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service”
Review of Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Haven Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Reviewed 27 April 2013

No tea or coffee facilities in room. Had to walk down to reception at 11.00pm at night (evidently the night staff don't like to answer the phone) I don't expect to have to physically ggo to a reception desk in a four star hotel at 11.00pm at night

I could not find the TV switch (I was told a lot of people have trouble :Sign on the wall?) No mini bar in the room.
Over priced pretentious hotel, how did this place get an AA four star rating? This place is resting on its laurels!

Room Tip: Better value at other less expensive hotels!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,258 - 1,264 of 1,525 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2013

Have not stayed here but eat here quite often with family and friends, the service is always excellent as is the food, ask for a table on the terrace or in the conservatory area overlooking Poole Bay & Harbour, enjoy the food and the boats going by........

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Our group, four adults and two children spent a three night weekend at this hotel. It has a lovely location on the beach at Sandbanks right at the entrance to the bay leading to Poole Harbour. Unfortunately the weather was bitterly cold so we were unable to reap the full benefit of its situation.

Our initial experience was inauspicious, to put it mildly. We arrived in the early afternoon and ordered lunch from the snack menu. My choice was a “rare roast beef sandwich with horseradish sauce”. It came with a price tag of £7.50 and was a huge disappointment, consisting of a single slice of well cooked beef with a light smearing of horseradish between two slices of bread, accompanied by a few crisps and some leaves. Total unit cost, about 50p! My wife’s choice of a ham sandwich at the same price was little better. Frankly it was a total rip off.

It was with some foreboding, therefore that a few hours later we sat down to dinner. I need not have worried. I ordered a set price 2 course dinner for £22.50. My starter was salmon mouse with a sweet and sour drizzle, my wife had the pâté. We both had confit of duck for our main course . Both courses were perfectly cooked and presented and at the price, the same as 3 beef sandwiches, excellent value, The food for the rest of the stay was of the same standard and thoroughly enjoyed by all of us.

The staff, mostly foreign, were friendly and efficient throughout and particularly good with the children. The facilities were adequate rather than luxurious. An indoor pool and a play room would have for young children would have added a lot to the enjoyment of the weekend. All in all therefore, apart from the initial complaint, a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JFCIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FJBHotels, Public Relations Manager at Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Thank you for your review JFCIreland. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the dinner in our La Roche restaurant. Thank you for the positive reference to our staff, they take great pride in what they do. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Stayed Sunday evening in April so the hotel was very quiet, we were allocated a room overlooking the car park which was spacious with an equally large bathroom. I do not think The Haven warrants 4 star rating; the decor is tired and the fittings not particularly good quality in places (plastic bath), two tv's in the room? only one of which functional (strange). Housekeeping standards leave a little to be desired; carpet badly stained in places, basin and bath not very clean, mattress badly stained and a distinct lack of any information in the room (with exception of info on Spa & Water sports) a little disconcerting in the event of a fire or other emergency.
Breakfast was good with an excellent choice of fresh fruit and coffee very drinkable, the dining room alas was in dire need of re-decoration (ceiling very badly water damaged), tables badly chipped and the wooden floor needed cleaning and polishing.
Lovely location however, I would imagine it is very noisy in the summer, I think this hotel trades on its postition and it is probably aimed at the under 50's with children.

Room Tip: We were allocated a room on the back and could not really fault it, rooms overlooking the sea are pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladiesthatlunch3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We have mixed feelings about this hotel, the views are outstanding but is that enough?!

The room we stayed in was in need of work - paintwork was chipped, the bathroom door did not meet the floor, baloncy was dirty and very tired - a plus point the bed was very comfortable. The TV in the room was a nightmare - 3 calls to reception (a very nice man came to sort it straight away each time), after the 3rd time we just gave up with it!

The spa was ok but the steam room was closed and the jacuzzi was not working.

Evening meal was nice but felt over priced. Breakfast was very good.

The staff at reception were not very helpful when we checked in, they gave us no times for breakfast, we were not asked if we would like to reserve a table for an evening meal and no information about the spa - yes we could of asked but surely in a 4* hotel they should provide this? No information folder in the rooms either.

I dont think we would stay here again.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank SALAFI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

This hotel was fully booked so we had a standard rear room overlooking the car park. It was a lovely big room with a nice bathroom and was better than expected. The hotel had a lovely spa and in particular a decent sized outdoor heated swimming pool and a tennis court. The weather was not good, but our stay was very pleasing.

Room Tip: All rooms were good - obviously see view is great but more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FJBHotels, Public Relations Manager at Haven Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Thank you Jennifer F for this great comment, we are happy that you found the room to exceed your expectations and were wowed by our spa and pool facilities. Hopefully the weather will be warmer in time for your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

After 8 months still awaiting a reply from the management of this hotel to a complaint made in August 2012. All we wanted was a refund of the poor meals served (sea bass) .We have taken the company to the small claims court because its so unprofessional to ignore complaints.The case after much wriggling by the Managaging Director is now to be defended by the Company Brownsea Haven Properties Ltd.This is definitely NOT the way to treat customers and they should be ashamed of themselves

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
6  Thank MIKCHARVEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poole
1.1 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,774 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
2.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
946 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haven Hotel

Address: 161 Banks Road | Sandbanks, Poole BH13 7QL, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Haven)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#3 Luxury Hotel in Poole
Price Range: £61 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Haven Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haven Hotel is a luxurious four-star spa hideaway. Perched at the tip of the exclusive Sandbanks peninsula in Poole and surrounded by sea and sand. With direct access to seven miles of Blue Flag beaches and just a couple of steps away from Purbeck over the Shell Bay chain ferry. It’s your gateway to South Coast adventure. Featuring elegant and well-appointed bedrooms with many of which offering ocean view balconies. We believe that these naturally beautiful surroundings deserve food that’s a little special. Highly acclaimed by locals, The Point Restaurant serves a two AA-Rosette awarded cuisine helmed by Head Chef Jason Hornbuckle. When the sun shines, our terrace is an enviable spot for alfresco dining. Why not indulge yourself at the Haven Spa and prepare to be pampered and spoilt? Whether working up a sweat in the gym or relaxing in the outdoor heated swimming pool, the Haven Spa is the perfect place to unwind your mind and reinvigorate your body in complete luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Poole
Haven Hotel Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing