We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of The Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Haven Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This hotel is in a stunning location, excellent sea views from the bar/dining area. A great base for visiting local attractions (Studland, Swanage, Poole). Fascinating to watch the fishing boats and ferries coming and going. Very comfortable outdoor seating area to relax in. Our room was large, comfortable and clean but overlooked the car park (we booked a last minute special offer via another website and I wonder if we were allocated such a room because of what we paid or maybe the hotel was just full). Reception staff were very helpful and welcoming. Breakfast was a buffet, hot food was not hot enough (maybe cold plates to blame) tasted OK though. Dinner was average, my husband said his steak was tasteless, lots of salt and pepper helped. The restaurant Manager and our waitress were very pleasant and service good. We chose not to eat in the restaurant on our second night. Overall we enjoyed our stay but were a little disappointed with the food.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    518
    279
    153
    84
See reviews for
274
764
39
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crowborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Great location, good facilities but very poor management.

Stayed for one night ( thank god it wasn't more) with my wife and sons. Car park was full but managed to squeeze in a corner. Reception chaotic and not very helpful. Lounges and bars are quite spacious and the pool and health club well equipped but small. Access to the sandy beach good and the best part of the hotel! Our room with sea view was OK but quite tired and very small it even had a CRT TV! My sons room was better but overlooked the car park.

Can't say anything about the restaurant, asked for a table for dinner but was informed by a 'couldn't care less' manager that they were fully booked. Reception never told us this when we checked in and strangely a few of the tables were never occupied that evening. We ate in the bar which had a very bizarre menu. Waitress was lovely but the kitchen very chaotic and the food uninspiring.

Breakfast was better than expected but just run of the mill mid range hotel type buffet.

Would have liked to complain to the management but never saw them and probably the hotel doesn't have any!

Can't think of any reason to go back to be honest. Not worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lawrence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAMWORTH
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed there one night with a Dinner/Bed and Breakfast experience. I was sick at night but there was no problem to rebook for lunchtime. The food was average though, and pretty bland and the staff not particularly friendly.
The lobby,bar and restaurants have been refurbished but the bedrooms are very tired and very dusty!!!
I would love to go back there after the refurbishment and see if the new management makes a difference

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LAETICOSTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The bar staff Diana and Benny were exceptional.They greeted us on arrival and helped my wife and i sort out several problems related to our travel including providing local details.They went far beyond the normal bar staff service and it was much appreciated when we were tired after a long journey.I have told my business associates that this hotel is well worth visiting because of this great service.Please thank both for their exceptional service and kindness.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElvaWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Recently decided to go for dinner here, with visiting family, to take advantage of the view from the dining area. The food turned out to be delicious - the problem is the lack of management of the serving staff!
We sat at our table and a 'wine waiter' appeared and took our drinks order. The wine came, but was poured without the usual inspection of the label and tasting. The water never came.
Food was ordered from the same waiter and we asked for a couple of simple changes to one of the main courses - waiter said he would ask the chef? Well he may have asked, but we never saw him again and the main duly arrived with one change, but not the other!
A second round of drinks was ordered, but these didn't arrive, although they found their way onto the bill. Desert menus came but it was 40 minutes before a different waitress came and asked us 'if we had made our minds up'.
Well we had made our mind up that we wanted to leave, but she kindly persuaded us to have a complimentary tea and coffee whilst the bill came.
I then took the bill to the desk to save time, only to be completely ignored by the restaurant manageress who was standing there with two staff doing something else. When they did get round to me, I was then sent to the front hotel desk - without explanation. Trying to pay, but without the drinks that we hadn't had, entailed another trip back to the restaurant for adjustment and then back to the hotel front desk because the credit card machine in the restaurant wasn't working.
So it was over an hour from the desert menus arriving to being able to leave - and just miss the 10pm fireworks that we had wanted to see!!!
The waiting staff are very nice, but they lack leadership and direction. Its a free for all.
The food was excellent - they obviously have a chef - but you can't add a service charge of 12.5% to a set menu price for this sort of fiasco.
The location is excellent, but that is not enough to atone for the sitting around.
Needs to get its act together!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deskjet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Poole hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
London
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Perfect location by the chain ferry at Sandbanks with a great view of the boats passing through the harbour entrance and across to Studland Bay. The staff were very attentive and keen to help although there is an element of confusion about ordering drinks on the wonderful terrace. The common areas upstairs and the bedrooms are a little tired compared to the sister hotel - Harbour Heights but the Haven's location is far superior. The area around the outdoor swimming pool is very comfortable. We were pleased with our bedroom, a large room overlooking the car park with a large TV, plenty of storage and a kettle. However, some of the rooms are small and face inward so take care when booking. The walls are a little thin and certainly the bedroom doors would benefit from closers to stop them slamming. At busy times it could be difficult to find a space in the car park. Breakfast was excellent with a comprehensive selection and some items cooked to order. The buses have priority on the ferry and at busy times it is better to use the buses to cross to Studland rather than queue in your own car. Apart from the hotel there are not too many places to eat in the area. Shell Bay restaurant (the other side of the harbour entrance via the ferry as a foot passenger) has a nice view as does Cafe Shore (a five minute walk away). A short drive away is Branksome Beach restaurant which is very good and has a view over the beach. Our overall impression was that the Haven was good value primarily because of the location and the friendly staff. We intend to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hawtrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We booked to stay at The Haven early in 2013 and a few weeks before our stay received a telephone call to say they couldn't fulfil our second nights' stay as the hotel would be closed during the day so we could either check out and check in again, be moved to a different hotel or have a refund. We opted for a refund and when we arrived on the Saturday were told we would have to check out earlier on the Sunday at 10am. The reason the hotel was being closed: Real Madrid were coming for lunch. All the customers who had placed bookings were quite literally thrown out. It was handled terribly. Staff rude and treated everyone very badly. Would never stay here again since they seem to care more about a group of footballers coming for lunch than any 'normal' paying guest.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tulipfromholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.1 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,692 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
898 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Poole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haven Hotel

Property: The Haven Hotel
Address: 161 Banks Road | Sandbanks, Poole BH13 7QL, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Haven)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#3 Luxury Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Haven Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Haven Hotel is a luxurious four-star spa hideaway. Perched at the tip of the exclusive Sandbanks peninsula in Poole and surrounded by sea and sand. With direct access to seven miles of beaches and just a couple of steps away from Purbeck over the Shell Bay chain ferry. It’s your gateway to South Coast adventure. Featuring elegant and spaciously designed bedrooms with modern creature comforts. Many of which offer ocean view balconies, so that you can embrace the sea air in your pyjamas. We believe that these naturally beautiful surroundings deserve food that’s a little special. La Roche at the Haven Hotel offers an ambient place to dine. Highly acclaimed by locals and recognised for first-class service and exceptional quality with two prestigious AA-Rosettes. Maintained by the talent and skill of Head Chef Jason Hornbuckle. When the Sandbanks sun shines, our terrace is an enviable spot for alfresco dining. You can literally hear the waves crashing as you recline with a glass of wine. Relaxation is often thought of as a luxury; at the Haven Spa we think it’s a necessity. Haven Spa is a sanctuary to unwind your mind and come to your senses. Stroll from the indoor hydrotherapy pools to the chic outdoor heated pool, complete with sea view Jacuzzi and sun lounger area. Allow yourself the luxury of a spa pampering, performed by our highly experienced and friendly therapists. We’ve chosen VOYA seaweed products to relax, beautify and rejuvenate our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Poole
Haven Hotel Poole
The Haven Hotel Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing