We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room”
Review of Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Haven Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

We booked a 3 night break with an Internet deal. On arrival we were offered an upgrade by very friendly receptionist who showed us the original basic room and two upgraded rooms so we could choose. As he expected we chose the most expensive, a sea view room with balcony overlooking the ferry and entrance to the harbour. A lovely big room and bathroom. Service was excellent, polite and helpful. Breakfast was good with wide choice. Dinner was good too with the most fantastic starter of crab cannelloni. Two gripes for dinner - 3 courses were £7 more than 2, and then cheese and biscuits £5.50 more so £12.50 for cheese and biscuits -too much. Then they add 10% 'discretionary' service charge to the meal bill which leaves rather a nasty taste. But a wonderful few days, and a real treat. Go for a sea view room with balcony!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CathyS51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,167 - 1,173 of 1,558 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

A wonderful and pleasant stay. Been meaning to post this for some time. Staff were friendly and helpful. Meals were really lovely indeed. Overall a fantastic stay. Will definitely recommend to others and come back again in the next couple of years.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Margie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Booked to stay with my 8 year old daughter as a birthday treat for myself, booking process great, very helpful, on arrival a male member of staff stood & watched as my 8 yr old daughter & I struggled in with our bags!!!
Our suite was amazing, large spacious bedroom, large lounge, large balcony with sea view, & 2 bathrooms.
Cream tea on the terrace lovely.
Spa staff - some REALLY NEEDED to remember they work in a spa to help people enjoy & relax, AND NOT BE AS AWKWARD AS POSSIBLE - we couldn't have a robe as we were Hotel guests not day Spa guests, so we had to go back to reception to get housekeeping to provide robes to our rooms!! PATHETIC JOBS WORTH!!!
Spa nice & treatment for me & my daughter fantastic.
Dinner - I am not a fussy eater, but there was nothing on the menu I liked so we ended up going out trying to find somewhere to eat!! Very limited menu.
Receptionist very helpful to us.
Room comfy - slept well.
Breakfast - lovely
A beautiful old Hotel full of character, a lovely spa, just ruined by a few staff with poor attitude.

Room Tip: Go for a suite - amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We went for one night to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. We were a bit disappointed as we got married at the haven hotel and think it would have been nice if they had put a card in our room. The attention to detail is nowhere near what it used to be. We live local so have been back for various reasons and normally everything is perfect. The marconi lounge was closed up which was a real shame as I was looking forward to reading in there in the evening before dinner. We will not return, as it was an expensive visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haze W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I took my mum hear for a belated Xmas present. We had planned to be at a murder mystery event but it was cancelled due to a lack of numbers. So this was a last minute option.

We have been hear as a family years ago and used to take a house on the beach when Sandbanks wasn't the millionaires playground it is today.

So... the room? Sea View but smallish windows. Also only a double bed. But the staff quickly solved that.

We sat in the bar and relaxed and never felt rushed played cards and watched the waves. Fantastic.

Had dinner in the restaurant, which was superb.

Beds were very comfy.

We used the Spa the next day which is like a rabbit warren. P.S. if you have mobility issues the spa would be a nightmare!.

I did love it, and I would go back. But it is a bit tired looking... so not quite full marks!

Room Tip: Pay for See View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bigpoppapump82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We have visited The Haven on many occasions since holding our wedding reception there many years ago, and have always been very impressed. However our latest visit which was for an event wasn't up to their usual standard.

The staff are very helpful and welcoming, and the reception area is lovely. We had a standard room which is comfortable and clean, but starting to show signs of wear. The instructions for the television didn't work. We were also just by an internal fire door which was continually banging as people went through it.

Dinner was OK - usually the food at the Haven is excellent, but on this occasion it failed to meet our expectations. There were a lot of us which could be the reason why but equally we would have expected better for the money that was charged.

We were also woken early on a Sunday morning by a delivery lorry (reversing noises, boxes being thrown about) and while I understand that deliveries cannot always be planned around sociable hours, it was annoying to say the least.

Other FJB hotels such as Harbour Heights are fantastic, but they have had investment in them recently to maintain the high standard you'd expect from the chain. I think its about time the Haven received this treatment too.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

A lovely hotel with views to die for. Visited with party of friends for weekend. Service,food, accommodation five star. Staff very polite and helpful. Nothing too much trouble. Room includes private safe. Really enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: Choose balcony room with a view of the sea. Love to buy the view for home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenneth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Poole hotels
1.1 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,809 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
2.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
966 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
3 mi away
RNLI College
RNLI College
#1 of 13 in Poole
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haven Hotel

Address: 161 Banks Road | Sandbanks, Poole BH13 7QL, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Haven)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#3 Luxury Hotel in Poole
Price Range: £63 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Haven Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haven Hotel is a luxurious four-star spa hideaway. Perched at the tip of the exclusive Sandbanks peninsula in Poole and surrounded by sea and sand. With direct access to seven miles of Blue Flag beaches and just a couple of steps away from Purbeck over the Shell Bay chain ferry. It’s your gateway to South Coast adventure. Featuring elegant and well-appointed bedrooms with many of which offering ocean view balconies. We believe that these naturally beautiful surroundings deserve food that’s a little special. Highly acclaimed by locals, The Point Restaurant serves a two AA-Rosette awarded cuisine helmed by Head Chef Jason Hornbuckle. When the sun shines, our terrace is an enviable spot for alfresco dining. Why not indulge yourself at the Haven Spa and prepare to be pampered and spoilt? Whether working up a sweat in the gym or relaxing in the outdoor heated swimming pool, the Haven Spa is the perfect place to unwind your mind and reinvigorate your body in complete luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Poole
Haven Hotel Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing