We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel and Spa I have ever stayed at”
Review of The Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Haven Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Poole
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Hotel and Spa I have ever stayed at”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I stayed with my Husband in September And we really enjoyed our stay here at the hotel, The room is basic but everything that you need as you only really need to sleep!. the view was great and you can't knock the view its amazing. Food was great just a little annoying the breakfast does not start until half 7 which is a tad late. the spa is absolutely amazing the whole set up is brilliant, one there staff members James was superb I have never met such a friendly,polite young man in a leisure club he was so helpful showing us round the spa, fetching us drinks from the bar without us even asking. who ever hired him in the hotel have unearthed an absolute gem and I hope they utilise his qualties in the long term.

the best relaxing long weekend I have ever had and we shall definitely be coming back to stay very soon !!

Room Tip: Spa Is an absolute must !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    511
    274
    150
    81
See reviews for
271
749
39
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Claverdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We were in Poole, in another hotel. We went in the Haven to have a look, with an excellent reception, nice speaking and kind attention, we decided to change and come in this Hotel. Nice room sea view, excellent service, excellent food, even the tortellini (and I am Italian).
A very good place to stay. Will come back for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Massimo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
157 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Went here on a Secret Escapes deal and because we wanted to visit a friend in Dorset the following day. Room was perfectly fine but disappointingly there were no tea/coffee making facilities (and when coffee was ordered later from the bar it took over 45 min to get to the room!) and the TV volume was capped at such a low level that it was impossible to hear all the dialogue. Anyone hard of hearing would have trouble hearing at all. The pool and spa facilities were great - the highlight of the stay. Hot tub, heated outdoor pool and steam room were all made good use of. But the worst aspect of the stay by far was the evening meal in the restaurant. My partner and I had different things and in all cases, starters and mains there were weird attempts to combine flavours with no subtlety at all, and that just did not work. This hotel badly needs to get a new chef if it is to attract repeat business!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crustyoxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

We booked a 3 night break with an Internet deal. On arrival we were offered an upgrade by very friendly receptionist who showed us the original basic room and two upgraded rooms so we could choose. As he expected we chose the most expensive, a sea view room with balcony overlooking the ferry and entrance to the harbour. A lovely big room and bathroom. Service was excellent, polite and helpful. Breakfast was good with wide choice. Dinner was good too with the most fantastic starter of crab cannelloni. Two gripes for dinner - 3 courses were £7 more than 2, and then cheese and biscuits £5.50 more so £12.50 for cheese and biscuits -too much. Then they add 10% 'discretionary' service charge to the meal bill which leaves rather a nasty taste. But a wonderful few days, and a real treat. Go for a sea view room with balcony!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CathyS51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

A wonderful and pleasant stay. Been meaning to post this for some time. Staff were friendly and helpful. Meals were really lovely indeed. Overall a fantastic stay. Will definitely recommend to others and come back again in the next couple of years.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Margie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Booked to stay with my 8 year old daughter as a birthday treat for myself, booking process great, very helpful, on arrival a male member of staff stood & watched as my 8 yr old daughter & I struggled in with our bags!!!
Our suite was amazing, large spacious bedroom, large lounge, large balcony with sea view, & 2 bathrooms.
Cream tea on the terrace lovely.
Spa staff - some REALLY NEEDED to remember they work in a spa to help people enjoy & relax, AND NOT BE AS AWKWARD AS POSSIBLE - we couldn't have a robe as we were Hotel guests not day Spa guests, so we had to go back to reception to get housekeeping to provide robes to our rooms!! PATHETIC JOBS WORTH!!!
Spa nice & treatment for me & my daughter fantastic.
Dinner - I am not a fussy eater, but there was nothing on the menu I liked so we ended up going out trying to find somewhere to eat!! Very limited menu.
Receptionist very helpful to us.
Room comfy - slept well.
Breakfast - lovely
A beautiful old Hotel full of character, a lovely spa, just ruined by a few staff with poor attitude.

Room Tip: Go for a suite - amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We went for one night to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. We were a bit disappointed as we got married at the haven hotel and think it would have been nice if they had put a card in our room. The attention to detail is nowhere near what it used to be. We live local so have been back for various reasons and normally everything is perfect. The marconi lounge was closed up which was a real shame as I was looking forward to reading in there in the evening before dinner. We will not return, as it was an expensive visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haze W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poole
1.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
1.1 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,664 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#6 of 13 in Poole
877 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poole
4.5 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haven Hotel

Property: The Haven Hotel
Address: 161 Banks Road | Sandbanks, Poole BH13 7QL, England (Formerly FJB Collection - The Haven)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Poole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Poole
#3 Luxury Hotel in Poole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Haven Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Haven Hotel is a luxurious four-star spa hideaway. Perched at the tip of the exclusive Sandbanks peninsula in Poole and surrounded by sea and sand. With direct access to seven miles of beaches and just a couple of steps away from Purbeck over the Shell Bay chain ferry. It’s your gateway to South Coast adventure. Featuring elegant and spaciously designed bedrooms with modern creature comforts. Many of which offer ocean view balconies, so that you can embrace the sea air in your pyjamas. We believe that these naturally beautiful surroundings deserve food that’s a little special. La Roche at the Haven Hotel offers an ambient place to dine. Highly acclaimed by locals and recognised for first-class service and exceptional quality with two prestigious AA-Rosettes. Maintained by the talent and skill of Head Chef Jason Hornbuckle. When the Sandbanks sun shines, our terrace is an enviable spot for alfresco dining. You can literally hear the waves crashing as you recline with a glass of wine. Relaxation is often thought of as a luxury; at the Haven Spa we think it’s a necessity. Haven Spa is a sanctuary to unwind your mind and come to your senses. Stroll from the indoor hydrotherapy pools to the chic outdoor heated pool, complete with sea view Jacuzzi and sun lounger area. Allow yourself the luxury of a spa pampering, performed by our highly experienced and friendly therapists. We’ve chosen VOYA seaweed products to relax, beautify and rejuvenate our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Poole
Haven Hotel Poole
The Haven Hotel Poole, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing